We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ever go there! please don't ever book a wedding there!”
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't ever go there! please don't ever book a wedding there!”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My brother held his wedding at this resort, our family booked the WHOLE place ! My brother arrived on Friday to start getting ready and Pat told him " I wish I never booked this for you", nice way to start your wedding weekend. There was only about 35 of us and we were in a tent that had been set up. The noise could not be heard at the "High Noon" cottage, so I pretty sure no one else along the highway could hear us! Pat show up at 1pm threatening to evict everyone if we didn't stop the music and shut it down. That is why we booked everything in the middle of nowhere, so we wouldn't disturb anyone. I have read the other comments here about Pat and believe me they are all true! So unprofessional, so rude, don't ever give this guy your business. The cottages are nice, but you can find this somewhere else. I will let everyone I know never to go there, Pat doesn't deserve anyones business again! He knew this was a wedding, no one was out of hand, everyone was in the tent having fun! You don't get in the face of people and start yelling at them that you are going to call the police and evict everyone at 1am in the morning! Most of the guest were in their 30's and older, professionals, who were just having a good time celebrating a wedding. Pat, you should be ashamed of yourself.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank susanl_carkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have been coming to Lake Purdy since I was little, 54 years to be exact. Purdy Cottages have undergone numerous changes over the years. I can remember being brought a block of ice for our frige and lantern fuel for our lights. Hydro and indoor plumbing were non-existent. But as a boy, I always had great memories of fishing and good times with my family. As time went on, luxuries started to come...jacuzzi's, tennis courts, kayaks, lake toys, plasma tv's and more. It really has evolved into a beautiful resort. Now, my children enjoy the cottages just as much as I do. Pat Hickey, the owner, has done a fabulous job of bringing these cottages up to modern standards. He has always been friendly, curtious and helpful to us during our stay. I have always enjoyed my time at Blue Moon Retreat and I plan to make many more memories in the years ahead. I would highly recommend this get away resort to anyone. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights half way through our tour of east Canada - perfect stop!! we could have stayed for ever!!!!
A lovely cabin packed with all the modern equipment/entertainment you could ever need. However more importantly is the location - the lake!!! the lake is gorgeous and the cabin positioned perfectly, we spent hours sitting outside chilling, relaxing and taking in the peaceful setting. Our host Patrick was great, very helpful advising us of places to visit during our stay. Thanks for the local wine Patrick it went down a treat!! We definitely want to come back and stay, next time for longer! J+M

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JluvM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Shangri La cottage is part of the Blue Moon Retreat. Situated on the Western side of the domain, it overlooks Purdy Lake. Privacy from the neighbours is assured by woods on the one - and trees and bushes on the other side. The cottage comes equipped with all the amenities from home and more, such as indoor hot tub, sauna, and all the electronics required for survival in this age. A recent addition is a wine cabinet. All you have to provide are your beach towels and food and drink.


Purdy lake is a relatively small lake with very few properties bordering it. Power boats are few and of modest size so there is little disturbance from them. The cottage comes with four kayaks, a canoe, a pedal boat and a rowboat. Life jackets provided. There is a swimming float in front of the dock. A collection of floating inflatable water attractions, belonging to the domain, challenges the kids (and adults) .

Besides the main cottage there is a "boat house", with its own full bathroom, where the kids can hang out and can also use their electronics. Everyone, from 8 to 73 enjoys the swimming and boating. For the little ones there is a play house, a large sandbox and swings.


We love to go out in the canoe early in the morning and paddle around the lake. Lately the number of loons has increased, Chipmunks and squirrels are regular visitors.


We have been going to this wonderful spot since 2004 and the grandchildren consider it "their cottage"and are already booked for the next two years. Rain or shine, there is always something to do. Algonquin Park is within a short drive. Combermere is the nearest village with quite a few attractions including a well attended farmers market.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monverheyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked on the back of the great postings we read on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. We stayed in Maples Cottage and had a superb week. The cottage itself was perfect, clean and very well equipped. Kids (7&5) loved the rooms, the views over the lake & into the woods and the hot tub. The lake was the focal point of fun with loads of time spent playing on the tramp/sausage/planets etc and both kids learned to canoe / kayak. We whizzed over to the island for a picnic which they still talk about now, and on the 1 rainy day we had there were so many videos etc to choose from and games to play no-one got bored. We'll be back I'm sure. Can't reccomend it too highly; thanks Pat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiremacclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, On
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just got back from our second stay here and have booked already for next year.
We are seniors on a limited fixed income, and even if we could afford it, luxury cruises or a stay at an all-inclusive resort are not for us. If you are like us and love communing with nature but "roughing it" is no longer so much fun, then give this place a try. 4 rustic cabins in a wooded setting on a fairly small lake give you all the peace and tranquility you desire, with all the comforts of home. The cabins are equipped with every possible amenity, some even have a fireplace, jaccusi and hot tub. Free wireless internet and excellent cellphone reception are a bonus.
There are other cottages around the lake, but you're never aware of them. Only occasionally is the quiet broken by the sound of a boat motor. Canoes, kayaks and row boats are free for the use of guests and the lake is small enough that even in a sudden storm the waves never gave us trouble. We were able to explore the entire lake and its shore line by canoe.
At night it was wonderful sleeping with the patio doors wide open and the haunting sounds of loons drifting up from the lake, the moon shimmering on the water and stars twinkling through the trees.
There were families with children in the other cabins but that never interfered with our sense of utter tranquility and privacy. The sounds of the childrens' laughter as they splashed in the beautiful lake only added to our enjoyment. by the way, the lake waters are incredibly clear and soft.
For those who still like to be active there is lots to do in the area, from hiking to horse back riding and white water rafting.
We used the one rainy day to explore the village of Wilno with its rich history, and worked our way back to Purdy by taking any old dirt road we could find. We were rewarded with views of the most beautiful countryside...
We hope we will be ale to come up to Purdy Lake for many more years to come. Mike and Gisela Downey, Brighton, ON

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilla72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had spent the previous week visiting various cities in Canada and were definitely ready for a rest. We arrived at Blue Moon Retreat on the Monday and did not leave the cottage/lake area except for ice cream and beer for 4 days. It was a perfect haven after a very busy schedule.
We stayed at Shangri La. The cottage was incredibly clean, comfortable with loads of room and excellent facilities.
There are very large areas of decking (so some always in the sun and some in the shade) and so much garden furniture. We made good use of the very large gas BBQ and fire pit and really enjoyed watching the sunset over the lake as we ate our dinner.
The views from the house over the lake are stunning, so if cold outside you can cosy up and just admire the view.
The retreat is very close to the Algonquin Park but we found plenty to do at the cottage that we never made it to the park.
Everyone including the teenages found plenty to do and explore. The many Kayaks , canoe row boat and paddle boat (all free) provided many hours of entertainment and fishing was also popular (we found a rod in the garage) although we did not bag a huge fish like some of the previous cottage occupants.
The lake is very clean and practically weed free and so is ideal for swimming. We used the swimming platform a lot.
The sauna and hot tub were great after a day on the lake - a real treat. For any other spare time there was always the free WiFi (very reliable) and TV/DVD collection.
Everything except food was provided including towels, toilet roll, coffee filters etc which makes it an ideal place for anyone travelling from outside Canada.
All in all a fantastic cottage and location - we did not want to leave.

Tips : Definitely do your main shopping in Barry's Bay (there is a Metro supermarket, LCBO for beer, and a large pharmacy amongst other shops)
Combermere General store (closest to the Retreat) is only for basics BUT also the cheapest and one of the nicest ice creams we had in Canada. There is also a lady who bakes in her kitchen in Combermere (the sign for her house is near village store). We visited several times and really enjoyed her muffins, cheese scones and cakes - well worth popping in to see what she has baked that day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukgill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purdy
21.2 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
107 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
73 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
22.1 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
23.4 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Property: Blue Moon Retreat
Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing