We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were totally impressed with the attention to detail in the Shangri La cottage. My 3 teenagers all said they want to go back in the summer; this was our first trip to Blue Moon but I'm sure not our last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a week at The Maples, our 7th visit. Believe all the positive reviews of Blue Moon Retreat, it's as perfect as it sounds. Beautiful area, privacy, quiet, comfortable and all the amenities. The indoor hot tub and sauna always make our trip extra relaxing. Got to walk across the frozen lake this year, as well as snowshoe on the trails. We return every winter and for the first time this summer we look forward to a week at High Noon as well. And the best part for us is being able to bring our dogs, who love romping through the snow and snoozing in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 163MichelleB163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Believe every positive review you read about Blue Moon Retreat. We just got back from an amazing weekend in the Sunset. Spacious, clean and cozy with every amenity you could possible need. Our favourite part was the hot tub and sauna! What a luxury! I can't wait to go back in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in 'sunset cottage' for the second time in two years and loved every moment. Great view, everything you might possibly need is included, the bed is incredibly comfortable and we loved the quiet surroundings and hiking trail. It's a home away from home. Will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came back to Blue Moon this year after having visited it for a weekend last year. We had yet another fantastic weekend. Again not a single thing was out of place and it had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. We stayed in the same cottage as last year, The Maples. We are hoping that Blue Moon Retreat will be an annual visit for us and will most likely try and stay the whole week next year. The only bad part of our experience at Blue Moon is having to leave. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We rented Shangri-la this year and brought up some friends after our amazing weekend at Sunset last year. We were amazed by the value, comfort and amenities last year and this trip was more of the same! We loved the wood fireplace because it rained so we could have a fire inside!

The decor is total cottage and the design of the cabin gives you enough privacy when you need it. The bathroom is beautifully and recently renovated. The deck looks awesome but we were a lol late in the season to use it. The kitchen is so well stocked that literally all you need to bring is food!

The TV in Shangri-la is HUGE football Sunday with a fire overlooking the lake watching the huge TV pretty much can't be beat!

We still have a day left on this trip but will absolutely be booking for next year very soon!

The only thing about Blue Moon we don't love is going home!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffinsinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Love the privacy of this cabin! We chose Maples Lodge. This resort was awesome! I have a 4 year old and he loved it too. They literally have everything you need here. The cabins are BEAUTIFUL! Plus the lake isn't busy and you can explore. So much to do and the view is absolutely breath taking! This is indeed the North Ontario vacation my family and I have been searching for!

Room Tip: Tip: Don't use Google Maps to get here. At least not for the last portion of traveling. It is wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purdy
23.4 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
30 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
10.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
14.6 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
75 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 8 in Barry's Bay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Property: Blue Moon Retreat
Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing