We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Togetherness”
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Shangri-la ( ) n. An imaginary remote paradise on earth; utopia. A distant and secluded hideaway, usually of great beauty and peacefulness
This definition says it all!

3rd time at Bluemoon Retreat 2nd stay in Shangrila log cabin
For 362 days of the year, my family waits for the 3 days we spend at Blue Moon Retreat Shangrila....always immaculate, great fireplace, hottub and sauna...scenery is breathtaking with it being right on the water.....my son snowshoed out to the Island! We stay in our pj's all weekend and play wii!!...What they dont advertise?...Is how much it brings a family together! Looking forward to our next trip......TThanks you so much for an unbeliveable time...
Colleen and family!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor_sable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

We are 8 gals having a winter getaway. This is our 3rd year at BLue Moon - 1st year was at the Chalet and the last 2 have been at Shangi La. THey really do have everything you need. It is wonderful - even tho we got snowed in, the plow was there early SUnday morning to help us get out. The Hot tub could use some chemicals; We tested the PH and Alkalinity and both were low, but we had no access to chemicals. I can understand why they are under lock & key, but when we are there for 4 days, with 8 women in and out, it definitely needs some treatments during those times. Maybe living a small supply of chemicals, some test strips and instructions would be a reasonable suggestion. Also, the snow piled up against the cottage could cause flooding - last year we were almost flooded out and had to call maintenance. This year, we didn't get the same melt, but when it does melt, it will probably flood. The snow should be pushed away from the cottage. We also had issues regulating the heat - it was sometimes too hot, sometimes too cold! But i think that's just the nature of the system. ANyway - all and all, a wonderful time and we will definitely return for our 4th annual Blue Moon retreat! Oh and one more thing - the windows were TOO CLEAN. We honestly had to touch them to see if they were closed! Your cleaning crew is definitely awesome!

Room Tip: The only tip i would add is that if you are plugging the address into your GPS - the town is called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

If you're looking to get away this is the place to go! We have been going for the past four years during the winter months and it is always a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We've stayed at Maples and the Chalet - They are both excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just stayed at Blue Moon for the first time. We were up working in the area for the weekend and it was difficult to want to get away from the "Maples". It was so nicely appointed and very clean. The owners and crew must work hard because there wasn't a single thing out of place. As far as amenities, the cottage had everything that we needed. The pet friendly feature of Blue Moon is wonderful. Will hopefully return next year and stay longer. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here in Sunset for our anniversary. When i booked i had to check the rate 3 times because i couldn't believe how low it was for what was described so honestly i was half prepared for a let down. I was amazed when the place blew away my high standards. The cottage was as described and very nicely appointed. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and i would have loved a King bed but the space would not allow. Other than that i wish there had been a book outlining where things like firewood and general amenities were instead of the walls all having signs on them but all in all this was an amazing place and we are already looking at booking a trip next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffinsinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicter00, Owner at Blue Moon Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. I have talked with the crew, and we will replace that mattress in the coming week during our next turn-over. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again - maybe on your next anniversary.

Blue Moon Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 5 days, 4 nights in January of 2011. We had stumbled upon this place after searching for a private getaway that would allow us to bring our dog. We were pleasantly surprised to find a nice place that allowed dogs, as our experience has been that pet friendly accommodations may be “pet friendly” but are not always human friendly (yuck). This place however, was ideal. Its not 5 star luxury, as some of the woodwork is a bit wonky but overall it is very nice and for the price, nothing else in Ontario compares. We stayed in the “Sunset”. As it was the middle of winter and low occupancy, it was very secluded and quiet. Noise travels in a small area like this and I can only imagine that it would not be a suitable vacation if there were a lot of people there. But again, as it was winter, we found it lovely. We curled up and watched movies in our jammies for 5 days! Just awesome. We loved the sauna and hot tub! Brilliant features!!! We BBQ’d daily (yes, in the snow!) but it was great! We had a few minor problems such as an empty propane tank and the pipes (for the shower) froze at one point but we made a quick phone call and all was remedied immediately. They were all lovely to deal with. Not big business kind of people, just nice folk who are eager to accommodate just because they want to not because they have to! So refreshing! I would highly recommend this place and we will be back again this winter for another winter retreat!
The only note of contention I have is the bed in this cottage was (at the time) not very comfortable. I have back problems and this bed was not great! I ended up sleeping on the couch cushions on the floor for the last three days. Hopefully, they’ve replaced that bed before our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letgoletgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited the Blue Moon Retreat last summer (2010) and stayed at Maples with my sister's family (5 of us total).... the stay was beyond our expectations and was so good, before we had left, we booked the next summer.

Since then, my wife has been up and stayed at Maples during the winter with some friends and again had an awesome experience. This past summer we stayed at the Shangri La and let me tell you, it was luxury at it's best.

The cottages are very clean upon arrival. The staff work very hard to make sure that everything is spotless. Each cottage is equipped up to the nines and you really don't need to bring anything outside of your personal belongings and food. This cottage even had a wine fridge (although who keeps a bottle around long enough to chill it!). There is lots to and the cottage has it's own paddle boats, canoes, kayaks to play with in addition to the water toys that are shared by all cottages. The site is equipped with a gas BBQ (propane included) and fire pit (wood included) as well as bocce, badminton, horseshoes.... basically it's pretty hard to get bored!

There is even a bunkee near the water that has additional sleeping and shower facilities and provides a nice place out from the sun for a quick break before heading back into the water!

This past year it rained on two days, but never fear, the 52 in LCD TV along with Playstation 3 and some great family games (including a Karaoke game) allowed us to include the whole family, grandparents included!!!

This is truly a family oriented location and the service is second to none. Pat and Fran should be commended for their excellent resort, support and services. We love coming up every year and have again booked for next summer. It was so relaxing and peaceful.

My only complaint is one that is beyond the Blue Moon's control. The neighbour on the one side of the cottage (not the Blue Moon side) is a little rough around the edges, quite loud, brash and clearly jealous of all the amenities that we enjoy - kept making comments about the "rich cottage". Since their cottage is close to the Shangri La, don't be surprised if you hear this really loud screeching sound throughout the day.... it's the neighbours "talking" to each other at full volume. Our advice, don't try to engage her as there is no hope... she prides herself on "28 years of cottage party life... whooooo" (trust me that's 28 years of party life after a full life). Thankfully she was only around on the weekend, so we only had to deal with two days of "noisy neighbours".

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeFam154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing