We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Family Trip!!”
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited the Blue Moon Retreat last summer (2010) and stayed at Maples with my sister's family (5 of us total).... the stay was beyond our expectations and was so good, before we had left, we booked the next summer.

Since then, my wife has been up and stayed at Maples during the winter with some friends and again had an awesome experience. This past summer we stayed at the Shangri La and let me tell you, it was luxury at it's best.

The cottages are very clean upon arrival. The staff work very hard to make sure that everything is spotless. Each cottage is equipped up to the nines and you really don't need to bring anything outside of your personal belongings and food. This cottage even had a wine fridge (although who keeps a bottle around long enough to chill it!). There is lots to and the cottage has it's own paddle boats, canoes, kayaks to play with in addition to the water toys that are shared by all cottages. The site is equipped with a gas BBQ (propane included) and fire pit (wood included) as well as bocce, badminton, horseshoes.... basically it's pretty hard to get bored!

There is even a bunkee near the water that has additional sleeping and shower facilities and provides a nice place out from the sun for a quick break before heading back into the water!

This past year it rained on two days, but never fear, the 52 in LCD TV along with Playstation 3 and some great family games (including a Karaoke game) allowed us to include the whole family, grandparents included!!!

This is truly a family oriented location and the service is second to none. Pat and Fran should be commended for their excellent resort, support and services. We love coming up every year and have again booked for next summer. It was so relaxing and peaceful.

My only complaint is one that is beyond the Blue Moon's control. The neighbour on the one side of the cottage (not the Blue Moon side) is a little rough around the edges, quite loud, brash and clearly jealous of all the amenities that we enjoy - kept making comments about the "rich cottage". Since their cottage is close to the Shangri La, don't be surprised if you hear this really loud screeching sound throughout the day.... it's the neighbours "talking" to each other at full volume. Our advice, don't try to engage her as there is no hope... she prides herself on "28 years of cottage party life... whooooo" (trust me that's 28 years of party life after a full life). Thankfully she was only around on the weekend, so we only had to deal with two days of "noisy neighbours".

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeFam154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Spent a 4 day weekend at HIGH NOON at Blue Moon Retreat.
LOVE... LOVE... LOVE the NEW REMODEL! All the windows and doors for natural light and air. New open concept sitting area with private hot tub in the cottage. One gets to watch television or enjoy the view of the great outdoors from the hot tub! (Honey bring me a drink...) Beautiful fire place that we did not try out this weekend maybe next time. Ohhh there will be a next time ;) Beautifully decorated and comfortable furniture! The two recliners were being fought over between both the 30 year olds and the 5 year old. Great space for our young family. Cottage was accomidating to our 4 month old also - play pen was on hand ready for us to use! Open concept and spacious deck. My 5 year old really loved the water toys along with his father :) The challenge was "the log roll" How many times can one get across!? You'll have to check it out and see for yourself :)

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms with queen beds and 2 pull out couches. 1 full bathroom, kitchen with modern day applian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Tucked away on a beautiful small lake is a slice of
heaven. Fran and Pat have thought of everything
you could possibly need for a perfect vacation.
Shangri La is outfitted like a home. There is nothing to bring, it is all there right down to the wine cooler. Great comfortable beds...We so enjoyed sitting on the front patio watching the sunset every night. We are looking forward to our next vacation this September.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
5  Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had another magical holiday at Blue Moon Resort. Our annual stay here allows each of us to relax, revitalize ourselves, and reconnect with what is important in life - each other and nature! During the year our children try to guess what surprises will be waiting for us and they are never disappointed. The log roll was a huge hit as were the other additions. While we are here at the cottages (we rent 2 of the 6 available) we love the peaceful atmosphere of Purdy Lake and BMR. The cottages have everything (and more) that you could ever need or want. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed the last week of June 2011 at High Noon Cottage and it was absolutely stunning. The view of the lake, and watching the sunset from our own personal hot tub was a lasting memory we'll never forget. The cottage was newly renovated and amazingly spotless. Staff was very accomodating in providing everything you could possibly need during your stay. Everything was provided (and I mean everything) firewood, boats, water toys, bbq, sauna. It was the perfect vacation to get away from city life. Best of all it was pet friendly : )

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twomojitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

my wife and i enjoyed our stay , tried the snowshoeing,
we brought our skidoo the trails were close .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was our second stay at Blue Moon Retreat.
We stayed at Shangri-La the fist year and at the Maples the year. As we walked in, there was music playing for us, and the cottage was spotless. It provided everything we could possibly need. When booking our trip, Pat and Fran were awesome in responding to my questions promptly. The indoor sauna and hottub were a luxury. My kids loved it. I look forward every year to this trip and will definately be back next year..The kids went back after 2 nights, and my husband and I were able to enjoy it ourselves as Pat and Fran offer 1 free night....I highly recommend Blus Moon Retreat...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylor_sable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing