We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the experience...”
Review of Lost Channel Inn

Lost Channel Inn
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Description: Phone: (705) 757-3104 Fax: (705) 757-0174
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Come for the experience...”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Right off the bat I want to say that I love this place. Location and surroundings are beautiful, staff is friendly and very welcoming and accommodating.

As another reviewer stated, it's like stepping back in time: bait and groceries, T-shirts and gasoline, you can get it all in one spot. You can also visit the restaurant... Decor is dated (70's-80's), menu is limited, prices are high, and the food is average at best. They did their best to to accommodate some food sensitivities which is tough for a small northern restaurant.

Some great quotable quotes from our server: "The steak is grilled right here in house." And the obviously fresh perch and pickerel, was "Not local." She was great!

Really enjoyed our experience, just wish some of the food was better.


Helpful?
1 Thank WyevaleWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Loring, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wing night”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If your looking for fantastic wings Wednesday nights this is the place. The fish and chips on Friday night are excellent also. Thirsty? You have got to try their Long Island tea. amazingly good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilsonlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellence is in the eye of the beholder!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can see why other reviewers have declared the Inn's restaurant "average" and I suppose it is in a lot of ways. If you plunked it into my hometown, I guess it would be "average" -- maybe even "below average". But it's not in my hometown -- it's near Grundy Lake Provincial Park where we have camped every second year since we've been married. And every second year, we can't go to Grundy without hitting the Lost Channel Inn. Most of the time my husband votes for going on "all you can eat pasta" night, though I usually opt for whatever fresh fish has been brought in (generally, a great pickeral -- walleye to you Americans -- dinner). Yup. It's casual. And yup, the servers (usually daughters or neices or freinds of daughters and neices) wear their own, casual summer clothes. And yup, there's conversations about whatever flinging over your head and at you depending on who's in for dinner. But the thing is, no one's got a problem with your being casual, no one's got an issue with the fact that you smell like you just spent a week without a shower (actually, you really HAVE spent a week without a shower) and no one's going to hassle you and your family for your own, somewhat kooky, family fun over dinner. It looks like rural Northern Ontario, it feels like rural Northern Ontario and it smells of Northern Ontario lake-water and frying fish. The food is home-made and consistently good. The bar's got everything you need (even some pretty decent wine choices if you're tired of your camp-site beers...). The prices are reasonable and the staff -- every single one of them -- are welcoming and friendly. Step out on to the deck with your beer before or after dinner and you'll find friendly conversation with pretty much anyone who's hanging out there. We wouldn't miss hitting The Lost Channel for anything in the world when we're anywhere near the 522. In our eyes, it's as "excellent" as anywhere we've ever been!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dewey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I understand the laid back feel of the north, but when attending a restaurant atmosphere I'd expect the waitresses to be properly dressed. Let's just say that there needed to be more fabric. Despite what she was wearing, she was very helpful and did her job well. The menu was standard but the food was good. Served nice and hot. Prices are reasonable and the view is great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stepping back into another era....”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place has been around for years and it's never changed. We had lunch, a hamburger, fries and chilli. It feels like you have stepped back in time to another era. Its clean, simple, the food is decent, the people are nice and it's pretty well priced. They do have seasonal accommodations as well. Watch out for "baby rattlers"...

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Channel Inn also viewed

Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
 
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Lost Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing