We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heard Good Things, But Disappointed...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zest Bistro - CLOSED

Zest Bistro
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heard Good Things, But Disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had heard really good things about Zest from friends, but our experience wasn't a positive one at all. We went for dinner. The service was really slow, with about two servers taking orders for a relatively full restaurant. The ambiance was fine, as you could tell there had been an effort to fix up an old building. We were twice brought things that we didn't order by the waitresses. The black bean soup was very mediocre; full of hard shells and nothing special at all. The tandoori sandwich was clearly prepared long ahead of time and kept in a fridge, as the whole thing was freezing cold, yet it took for ever to have it served. The mussel dish was pretty good, with nice mussels. However, the Cesar Salad was extremely normal, yet expensive. The prices were over the top for what you got in most cases. The restaurant might be a lovely restaurant if you came at a different time on a different day, but this review is meant to review our experience at the restaurant, and our experience was mediocre. We wouldn't recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank No O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toornto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BAR CROWD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stopped in for dinner on a Friday, and the place was packed with locals drinking at the bar. We had to push our way by and waited forever to get the attention of a server to ask to be seated. She showed us to table and then forgot about us. We found her amongst the now drunken crowd of locals and asked to order some food. (She was obviously more interested in the drinking crowd, one of which was the owner!) Our food eventually arrived lukewarm and was disappointing, devoid of flavour. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and expected it to be better, but they must all be written by the locals who frequent the bar to drink. Won't go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunset S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trendy Bar with Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Zest is located on John Street and is a little gem that if you don't know its there you'd miss it. That is too bad as you would be missing great appetizers. Try the polenta fries with sun-dried tomato aioli and chipotle ketchup. Also the hummus with chorizio is also very good. A little more expensive than your average bar/bistro but it is more than worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ParisSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We dine at Zest regularly for lunch or dinner and it is always a great experience. The menu is quite varied and now there is a special burger menu and mussels menu as well - fabulous! Executive chef Ray offers daily specials and numerous brunch specials on Sundays. The Pulla Pasta and Bolognese are incredible. Last week I had the most wonderful caprese salad with organic heirloom tomatoes and six different kinds of basil from Chef Jen's garden - wow! We love the staff and the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pastaqueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great food. Interesting Dishes. Local Ingredients. Good Summer Patio.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were in Port Hope for the day and looking for a place to eat. There are definitely more interesting shops in the area than there are interesting restaurants. We were walking down a side street connected to the main strip and noticed Zest. While it's kind of non-descript, yet colorful, from the outside, the information posted at the door promises interesting dishes using local ingredients.

It didn't disappoint! The food was excellent. We were there on a Sunday so they had their brunch menu as well as many of the items from their regular menu (except the main courses). We ordered the omelette with salmon and chives from the brunch menu, along with a number of items from the tapas section of the regular menu (polenta fries, fried lotus root, arancini, bruschetta topped with crushed white beans).

The restaurant wasn't busy at all, so we didn't experience the delays and long waits that some of the other reviewers mentioned. We found the staff to be courteous and attentive.

The pricing was pretty fair, although some might consider it a bit high for Port Hope. The food listed above, with water to drink, was about $50.

We'll definitely go back the next time we're in Port Hope.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveller314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing