We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service attitude overcame mistakes”

Railside Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Port Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Southport, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent service attitude overcame mistakes”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our party of 6 ordered three steak dishes and three other entrees. Two of the steak dishes were supposedly filets and ordered medium-rare. What we got was very chewy and at best, cooked medium, if not medium well.
My wife wasted no time summoning the waitress who was very apologetic and immediately offered to cook a new steak for both of us. The second time around was very good and to the waitress' credit, she waited until we had taken our first bite to ensure our satisfaction.
That was the worst we could say about the Railside. Overall, a variety of appetizers all were served hot and tasted good. Others in our party raved about the spare-ribs; I think I'll order those next time because they did look good.
Nice selection of local craft ales and pretty good (and affordable) wine list to accompany the meal.
Finally, the desserts were large and definitely share-able. I think something called the Tiger Cake was a big hit, so big that some of it came home!
All in all, a nice place for a family or place to celebrate and event. A little more care in the kitchen to complement the service and this place would be one of the top 5 restaurants in the Cobourg/Port Hope area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainmodeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
“So delicious!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I look forward to coming here every time! Great drinks and food, superb atmosphere and staff!! I will come back time and time again. Plus if you register with them, they send you a card with money off for your anniversary/birthday dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and a very helpful waitress”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

So we were looking for a restaurant in Cobourg but couldn't find a decent one so we tried railside IN Port Hope. Nice selection of food. However the steaks were over cooked and had to be sent back - the waitress was VERY accomodating and made sure we were happy with the outcome. The sirloin once cooked to order was excellent - the filet was not particularly tender. The filet medallions were very tender. Spinach stuffed chicken was very good though the serving size neccesitated a 'doggy bag' and was still delicious the next day when microwaved at home! Bread sticks were hot and tasty. Desserts were amazing and a good sze too! Some of the orders got mixed up but the there was only one waitress and she was doing her best in a crowded restaurant. A liittle noisy at 730pm but got quieter obviously as folks left LOL.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelawareChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madoc, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice decor, staff are great, a little noisy, food terrific”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went there with friends on a Saturday evening and the restaurant was full. Reservations are required for weekends. Our guests had Applewood Salmon, and Asparagus stuffed chicken breast it was very good. Others had the prime rib which was terrific. All sides were fresh. vegetables. A really good place for a consistent meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from the outside”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am new to Port Hope and had not gone here because of the look on the outside. There is a rickety old sign they never change and a ripped awning but a friend recommended it. The inside is great, looks much nicer than outside. Food is pretty good although the second time we went back my dad ordered the liver and hated it and he eats anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railside Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Hope, Ontario
Port Hope, Ontario
 

Been to Railside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing