We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercury makes my soul sing”
Review of Mercury Chocolates

Mercury Chocolates
Ranked #4 of 4 Dessert in Port Hope
Price range: $8 - $36
Description: Artisan Chocolates, Fudge, and Gelato located in historic downtown Port Hope. Come try us out!
Restaurant details
Description: Artisan Chocolates, Fudge, and Gelato located in historic downtown Port Hope. Come try us out!
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
“Mercury makes my soul sing”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I adore Mercury Chocolates not only because they have exquisite chocolate and coffee but because they make us feel welcome. You can feel the passion and love that goes into the handcrafted wares and the customers are treated as honoured guests. Wonderful, non-assuming little shop/café in charming Port Hope. As a mother, I consider it an essential part of my children's education to learn how to enjoy the finer things in life. My litmus test: when I walk into Mercury my souls sings. Love you guys! Keep up the great work and thanks for being there for us. XOXOXO

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryChocolates, Owner at Mercury Chocolates, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Well thank you very much. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a chocoholic to love good chocolate!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We aren't big consumers of chocolate but when we do indulge, *good*, handmade chocolate is our preference. That's exactly what you'll get at Mercury Chocolates. Not only is it handmade, Darren's creations are also works of art. Every morsel is unique.

Mercury Chocolates make great gifts. A box of six or box of four hung on a bottle of wine make wonderful hostess gifts. Darren will also help you match the right wine and chocolate. Oh, and try one of their cheesecakes!

Port Hope has a lot going for it and Mercury Chocolates is definitely one of the treats... in more ways than one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yourvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryChocolates, Owner at Mercury Chocolates, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Well thank you very much. We appreciate your feedback and opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
“A Must See, Must Eat, Choco-wonderland!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A visit to 24 John Street in Port Hope is an absolute must if you are at all interested in quality barista-made speciality coffees AND hand-made, artisan chocolates....edible art at its finest!

There's a small table for sitting and enjoying your treats outside in the warmer months and Mercury Chocolates is a gourmet "grab and go" otherwise.

Not to be missed - your senses will thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This gem is in the right place!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Chocolate and gelato are each a food group aren't they? This gem of a take-out most certainly belongs here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasonhill1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryChocolates, Owner at Mercury Chocolates, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Well thank you kindly. Your feedback is of the utmost value to us. See you again sometime.

D J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Chocolate works of art!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I missed this gem of a place when I visited Port Hope on the Theatre Package mid June
so dropped by this time as it was close to the Carlyle Bistro where we ate lunch (review to follow).

The chocolates looked so tempting in their beautiful colours & being reasonably priced at 6 for $10.00 I bought some. They were delish!

Helpful?
Thank luv2cruise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryChocolates, Owner at Mercury Chocolates, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Grazie! We strive to ensure our chocolate / coffee / gelato is kept at the high standard for which it's known. We appreciate your feedback. ~ D. J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercury Chocolates also viewed

 
Port Hope, Ontario
 

Been to Mercury Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing