We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay on the way to Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the way to Toronto”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We prefer to be rested before arriving to the Greater Toronto Area.
This is our second stay at this hotel: despite being close to the Highway 401 it is quiet. After arriving if you don't want to drive you are walking distance to two places to have a casual meal. (Harvey's & Tim Horton). Also for a nature walk it is close to a conservation area also a short drive away to downtown Port Hope.
We were very happy with our room and believe we got excellent value for our money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviavanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    40
    21
    9
See reviews for
41
45
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Several of us had a wedding to attend and was told this hotel was giving a decent rate. We had two rooms on the 3 rd. Floor. Rooms 331 & 333. When we got off the elevator the halls were very hot. We entered our room and immediately turned on the AC. after 2 hours it was still hot, I called the front desk and the person came up and said the AC was working that it would take more time to cool off. After another hour I called down again and asked for another room. I was told I could have another room but that it would take even longer to cool down ,the desk clerk then offered me a fan.I guess two fans blowing the hot air around the room is better than one.The jacuzzi had black mold growing around the air adjustment port. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone! It is dirty and hot, and the staff was not helpful.Over priced even with the wedding discount.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willbaillargeon1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Hope hotels

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I recently checked into this hotel not really by choice but by reasons for work. when I am travelling for work I am usually on the road for a week, so at night I like to watch tv shows on my laptop, I stream tv shows not movies and I do not download any movies etc, when I went on to sites like project free tv etc the internet from the hotel blocked the websites. I have stayed at pretty much every choice hotel in Ontario and this is the first time I have ever encountered this kind of control. whats next I don't know but I don't like it. as for the room nothing special as other reviews dated dirty carpet and older furniture. not like the pictures, I guess if they can Photoshop models they can Photoshop hotel rooms too. I don't think I would stay here again. I have looked at the ratings on Choicehotels.com and this hotel is rated 4 stars what has happened to real ratings this hotel is in no way 4 stars. the front desk staff were very nice so no complaint there.
my advice is when you see no response from the owners or managers of the hotel in any of the complaints you can see they don't care. I have made complaints before and had managers get in touch with me to try to resolve or apologize for problems with my stay.

Room Tip: not the first floor, smoking rooms and the smell is strong. not sure about upper floors I know at mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over for a night. Seemed decent enough very clean taken care of. The Building is old the beds are hard the pillows are small and not compfy almost like airplane pillows lol! Forget ordering food after 11 am small town, ..breakfast was pretty good lots of choice clean and replenished often. This place is ok for a one/two nights stay while in the road not for a long term stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDeviatingBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is right off the highway and easy to locate. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and will try to do whatever they can assist you.

The room was comfortable with the usual basic furniture that you would expect in a Comfort Inn. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had to stop on my way home from Montreal as I was tired so figured I would get a hotel for the night and this hotel was at the exit I got off. Keira was great and so helpful, I really appreciate her help in swiftly and efficiently checking me in. Great service at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jendar1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our arrival made us almost want to turn around and leave, Upon opening the front door we encountered a wall of smoke in the reception that left us grave doubts if we were going to even be able to eat breakfast there the next morning. There smoking section is on the first floor right by the breakfast room. However we checked in and our third floor room was fresh smelling and clean, if a little over perfumed. The third floor hallway smells like new, so I assume that they are doing some upgrades. We spent a good night and were presently surprised to not find a cloud of smoke in the reception the next morning. It seems that the afternoon clerk in the office may have been adding her own smoke to the mix the previous night. Still, although it is a nice place, if you are sensitive to smoke, you may wish to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hope
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
1.3 mi away
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Waddell
The Waddell
#5 of 10 in Port Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Port Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Port Hope

Property: Comfort Inn Port Hope
Address: Route 2211 County Road 28, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 3V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Port Hope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Port Hope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Hope Hotel Port Hope
Port Hope Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Port Hope Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing