We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower curtain not included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shower curtain not included”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times. Yes, it's older and needs some updating, but you can often get the room at a reasonable rate. Unfortunately, this time we were without a shower curtain for 2 days and the hotel staff was unable to provide one -- and I'm assuming the hotel was at capacity and there was no way to give us another room. I have a hard time believing that someone in house keeping felt this room was ready for someone to occupy.

Some of the furniture was newer/upgraded, but the bathroom still needed some caulking replaced, the room was quite dirty, and one of the beds was broken (it felt like you were laying on a hill).

Most nights were quite, but when the other rooms were occupied, you could really hear doors slamming.

Don't expect a lot... it's a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGM-Ottawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    43
    21
    11
See reviews for
44
49
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Don't know what I expected but this hotel exceeded my expectations. Check in went smooth (after a tough day of traveling) with a very pleasant young lady working the desk. Room was spacious, clean and had a nice Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was above the normal fare for this type of hotel. Good employee serving breakfast, too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very dated. Carpeting, drapes, furniture, and dingy bed spreads (with stains I might add) all have to go. Looks like they just added flat panel televisions to the rooms because you can see the holes on top of the dresser where the swivel stand for the old tube tv was screwed in. The light in the lobby restroom was burned out so I had to use the flashlight on my phone.

On the plus side, you can crack the window in your room for fresh air (although our screen had been punched through.) Breakfast selection was also very good. The hotel seemed very quiet and the bed was reasonably comfortable. My husband liked that the TV had plenty of stations.

All in all, an ok place to spend one night, but I would look elsewhere for a longer trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank flexibleflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Hope hotels

Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on a busy weekend. The hotel was completely booked due to the Canadian Tire car racing and the All Canadian Jazz festival, both in this little town at the same time. We had tried to get an extra room for someone 3 days prior, but they were sold out as were all the hotels and inns in town!
Given that the place was full, the Comfort Inn was surprisingly quiet. We had a room at the back away from the highway and even with a window slightly open we had a restful sleep. Our room was clean and everything functioned in the room.
The breakfast room is much too small, the area where the food is laid out is crazy cramped, and the woman who was attending the area was not able to even get in between people to make more coffee and replenish empty food containers. There were not enough tables and chairs for people to sit down, so many were taking trays of food back to their rooms to eat.
On the bright side, we had our little dog with us, and were not charged extra. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds and there were no dog deposits left on the lawns, something that we have found gross around some places that take pets. We never have understood how some pet owners are thoughtless that way. Either this hotel enforces the "pick up after your dog" rule, or just the general tidiness shames people into cleaning up after their pets. Either way, it was very pleasant to walk our dog around the grounds.

Room Tip: Room 206 is very quiet. On the second floor towards the back and away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. Our room was very musty smelling, carpet was stained and the room needed to be upgraded. The first floor smelt like stale smoke. I was not impressed. I found the staff during the day to be helpful and the night staff to be rude. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We very pleased with the accommodation, its location and the friendly service by staff. We did not use the amenities outside of the room, but the breakfast area was conveniently placed, very clean, and had a good atmosphere.
The only thing we found to be a small bother, was the inability to turn Left from the driveway onto the Freeway - the only way was to turn left an make a U-Turn when safe to do so. My wife and I also enjoyed our "browse" of Port Hope.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN113, General Manager at Comfort Inn Port Hope, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Lee-Ann Beauchamp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Port Hope
905-885-7000 ext 501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a stoppover on our way to Montreal and we were happy with it for one night. Friendly helpful staff and rooms clean. At a truck stop but this is not a problem. A couple of fast food eateries nearby. Overall this was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hope
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bowmanville
5.6 mi away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Port Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Port Hope

Property: Comfort Inn Port Hope
Address: Route 2211 County Road 28, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 3V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Port Hope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Port Hope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Hope Hotel Port Hope
Port Hope Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Port Hope Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing