We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Gusto

Trattoria Gusto
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Gusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Port Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the historic Waddell Hotel, Gusto is the perfect location for a romantic evening, intimate family gathering or business event. First rate service combined with exquisite cuisine in a beautiful historic setting.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“What a fantastic place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went last night 2.23.13, Amazing Brussels sprouts and incredible beet salad appetizers.
Had the salmon ~ beautiful combination with the cabbage and kale. I had the homemade fettuccine with Alfredo and mushrooms, can't tell you how mouthwatering, enjoyed every single bite. Desert: Cannoli heaven! Highly recommend, definitely the very best restaurant in the area and a very talented chef. Thanks for the fantastic service and a superb night! Isabelle ~ Batlimore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were celebrating my husband's birthday with dinner and a concert and chose Trattoria Gusto because of its location to the theatre. We were so very impressed. First thing to notice was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. It was a very cold evening and the coziness of the restaurant was so welcome. The meal was absolutely superb. We shared the seared scallops as an appetizer. They were done perfectly. It was very difficult to choose a main. I think we will be going back quite regularly to try the different menu items.
We are new to this area and are thrilled to find such an amazing restaurant!
Thank you for such a perfect evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeymooninour50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Gusto's has certainly matured and the dishes deliver. Piping hot service, attentive wait staff and the flavours (re the season) were a resounding joy. Thank you Gustos - we'll be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Limelight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseneath, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Trattoria Gusto is in a great location. Watch the Salmon and Trout climbing and decending in the various seasons. All dishes are well prepared. My favourite when not having fish, Chicken Parmesan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Place to Eat Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fantastic food, great service and atmosphere. It is such a treat to have access to wonderful food without having to go towards Toronto. Chef Mathew puts together an excellent and creative menu that changes with the seasons. We eat there on a very regular basis and are welcomed with warmth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing