We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Atlantic”
Review of Atlantic - CLOSED

Atlantic
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
London, ON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Atlantic”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Atlantic is a buffet-style Chinese restaurant. The décor is dated, but the food is very good.

The buffet variety is not as big as some of the chain-type Chinese buffet restaurants. The food is freshly made and brought out in smaller batches so it always tastes great. There is a good balance between fried foods and stir fried foods. Everyone at the table always finds something they like.

The service is very good and the waitress has always been very accommodating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cantraveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Atlantic for years and years. The buffet is always hot a fresh and the food tastes great. The wait staff are friendly and prompt. I never hesitate to travel 40 minutes to eat here than to eat Chinese in my home town. Best foods on buffet include chicken wings, butterfly twists and won ton soup.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyseyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOL..Some Reviewers Need to get out more!..One Word...HORRIBLE!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you think this place was good, fellow reviewers...please eat out more. We visited Atlantic over the Xmas holidays and had the dinner buffet, with other family members. Sad..Where do i start? Ok..Parking was great and it went down from there. We asked the waitress about possible vegetarian dishes as there was a lack of them and she just said, "Well, we've GOT RICE!" . I don't think she was kidding. My father ordered a beer and it was flat. When he asked for a replacement the waitress said she would have to charge him for the beer he opened! LOL...I said.."certainly not", and after consulation with the manager, they back-peddled. The environment- old, sticky and dusty. The Xmas presents under the tree looked like they had been wrapped in 1978 and had the dust to prove it. When I pulled my chair out by the seat back my fingers came away sticky..ugg!..The tablecloths were the same...just nasty..
The food...cold on the buffet...where is the health inspector ensuring that the food is kept at a constant hot temperature...wake up Ontario Dept of Health!...Bland..and completely tasteless. There was no hot and sour soup. The best thing was the ice cream which was just that...Ice cream. Luckily that was cold like the rest of the fayre.
The owner/manager never smiled once, nor said hello or welcome, at any time. This is our second buffet at an Asian restaurant in Port Elgin..I would recommend NEITHER! Stay away from Atlantic..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lionheart61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BEST CHINESE IN SAUGEEN SHORES!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very good buffet selection, food is awesome from here. I try to eat here at least once a week, and I've never had a complaint towards any of the food or staff. At par with prices from the other 2 chinese restaurants in this town(definately the best bang-for-your-buck of the 3 chinese restaurants in Port Elgin). Owners are really nice, and they DO speak english. Chef makes his rounds at least once a night(end of night usually). EAT HERE, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!
Only complaint is it needs a little updating on the inside. There's a party room that fits about 40 or so people which you probably should book in advance, but it usually sits empty so you probably could book it on short notice(depending on the occasion).
Closed on Mondays(like most chinese restaurants) Brunch is on Sundays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PE_foodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“not so great”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Chinese food here leaves a lot to be desired. Although the selection is adequate, the quality and taste of the food is very bland. The atmosphere is also lacking, and the entire place could use a facelift.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripper045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing