We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CHINESE IN SAUGEEN SHORES!”
Review of Atlantic - CLOSED

Atlantic
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST CHINESE IN SAUGEEN SHORES!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very good buffet selection, food is awesome from here. I try to eat here at least once a week, and I've never had a complaint towards any of the food or staff. At par with prices from the other 2 chinese restaurants in this town(definately the best bang-for-your-buck of the 3 chinese restaurants in Port Elgin). Owners are really nice, and they DO speak english. Chef makes his rounds at least once a night(end of night usually). EAT HERE, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!
Only complaint is it needs a little updating on the inside. There's a party room that fits about 40 or so people which you probably should book in advance, but it usually sits empty so you probably could book it on short notice(depending on the occasion).
Closed on Mondays(like most chinese restaurants) Brunch is on Sundays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PE_foodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“not so great”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Chinese food here leaves a lot to be desired. Although the selection is adequate, the quality and taste of the food is very bland. The atmosphere is also lacking, and the entire place could use a facelift.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripper045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Buffet!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been eating here for years. We always go for the buffet at dinner. We don't mind travelling the 45 minutes because it is worth it. The buffet is tasty and hot. The wait staff are always great and are good at coming to pick up dirty plates so they don't build up. We usually have to make a reservation because it is so busy. I recommend this place to anyone. Chicken wings are awesome and the best I have ever had at a Chinese restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Elyse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, ON
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place is terrible. The building is so run down. The food is dry and tastes awful. It's quite expensive as well. I think you get better Chinese food at the food court in a mall. Stay away....go to Southampton to the Enchanted Fusion.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneycrkcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson fla.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not again”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

i had the pleasure of working there when it first became the atlantic,,as i did before that when it was the port house..i will not go back again,,after many tries it became mundane and the food is always cold...:(

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing