We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter in Port Elgin”
Review of Super 8 Port Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Port Elgin
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Port Elgin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 753 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time, enjoying the joining rooms. The breakfast far exceeded our expectation. We can't wait for May 24 to visit again. The kids would of spent their whole vacation in the pool it was a pleasure to swim in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

The staff and management at the Super 8 Port Elgin would like to thank you for your recent review of our facility on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your kids enjoyed our indoor salt water pool area. Lets hope when you come back in May all of our snow will be gone. Thank you for staying at our facility and we look forward to seeing you again in May.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great service. Close to trails and walking distance to evening dining. Love the hot breakfast and relaxing at night in the pool / hot tub after an all day ride. Beds very comfortable. Well lit parking lot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for staying at our Pride of Super 8 during your recent snowmobile trip to Port Elgin. Mother nature finally cooperated this year and provided our snowmobile friends with lots of fresh powder to play in. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our pool area. We hope to see you again.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Cj K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family, along with several other families from our hockey organization, stayed at the Super 8 in Port Elgin during the girls' Silver Stick hockey tournament. Don't let the brand name scare you off. This recently renovated property is equivalent to a Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express or a nice Best Western. The decor of the rooms was modern, neutral and pleasing. All the rooms my friends and I had were equipped with a fridge and microwave, as well as a LCD TV and DVD player. Though the rooms were a little on the small side, there was sufficent room to move a cot into the rooms with 2 queen beds. Friends of ours managed to get a suite with a living area (sofa bed) and a separate bedroom with king bed and a kitchenette with stovetop, dishes, microwave, etc. Very nice set up!

The rooms and common areas were immaculately clean. Speaking of the common areas, the staff were kind enough to open up the breakfast area for our use when we ordered in pizza in the evening, and were even okay with letting us use their china and cutlery provided we washed the dishes and put them in the sterilizer. We really appreciated being able to eat as a large group at tables, rather than having to use paper plates in our guest rooms.

Breakfast is included in the price and served from 7-10 a.m. The hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, make-your-own-waffles, sausage and bacon) was plentiful and delicious. The servery was also stocked with yogurt, a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, juices, milk, coffee & tea. The breakfast staff were very obliging and prompt at re-filling items on the buffet.

The one negative experience during our stay was not the hotel's fault, but involved the thoughtless actions of young hockey playing guests from another town. These teenagers were not being supervised by their adults and decided to empty the soap dispenser from the washroom by the pool into the hot tub to make bubbles. Their actions were recorded on the hotel's video surveillance, and reported to the adults who hadn't adequately supervised them to begin with. Unfortunately, the soap bubbles generated in the hot tub, that also spilled over into the pool, necessitated the shut down of the pool area for the evening, while the hot tub was drained and cleaned, and the pool was dealt with. This, of course, ruined our children's chance to enjoy the pool area for the evening, which was a fairly big deal to kids and also to parents who were paying at $150-200/night for a hotel with a pool for the kids to enjoy. I think it also impacted on their enjoyment of the pool the next day, as several of the children came away from the pool with a rash. We assume the rash was probably caused by excessive chemicals used to deal with the soap issue.

This is a great property with hospitable staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your family, go for one of the suites. It's just a bit more $ per nig...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent detailed review of our property. We are glad that you and the rest of your team had an enjoyable weekend at our facility. We are glad that you found our rooms to meet all of your requirements and more. We try to make sure that our larger groups do have a space they can use for gatherings and light social time. We are sorry that we did have an incident in our pool that evening that did require us to close early and we appreciate you understanding why we had to close early. We hope to see you back soon or maybe next winter for the same tournament.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
147 reviews
23.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
541 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
36 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Walkerton Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Elgin

Address: Highway 21 South, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range: $106 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pride of Super 8 is located close to the beautiful, sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Visit us in Port Elgin each year for our world-renowned Pumpkinfest. This special events weekend occurs the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. Our property is only a short drive to Bruce Power, excellent fishing, challenging golf courses, great snowmobile & cross-country ski trails, and the Bruce County Museum and Archives. From all of our local activities and highlights to our super staff and facilities, there are so many reasons to make the trip to Port Elgin, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Port Elgin Hotel Port Elgin
Super Eight Port Elgin
Port Elgin Super Eight
Port Elgin Super 8
Super 8 Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing