We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience”
Review of Super 8 Port Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Port Elgin
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
BEDFORD
1
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Only complaint was the room walls must have been like paper, because the volume from other rooms was very noticeable. Other then that all was fine!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We do have some rooms in our facility that that connecting doors. These rooms do have good sound proofing, but aren't as quiet as our non adjoining rooms. With anything, if you do experience any issues during your stay, we appreciate you calling the front desk so we can resolve your concerns. We hope to see you again soon
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 763 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked. Room king bed heated floor, garden view.
Got. Room king bed no heated floor no garden view.
Room next door to fitness room very noisy until 10pm
Great pool etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DAVE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

thank you for your recent review of our property. We are always doing our best to make sure each and every stay is enjoyable and relaxing. I'm sorry that your room didnt have the infloor tile heat. Most of our executive King rooms do have this feature but not all rooms. Please note that I have followed this up with our Super 8 website and expect this to be adjusted. We hope that you will consider using our facility again in the near future.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here with work for 4 nights - this review is based on what I would have paid for it if I had booked it personally. This is a very clean hotel and 'upscale' compared to other Super 8's that I've stayed at. The room was average size, very clean - the bathroom was very bright, reasonably roomy and clean. The water pressure was fine. The complimentary breakfast was very good. They have free newspapers (Globe and Mail & Owen Sound paper). I didn't get a chance to try the pool/hot tub. I did use the exercise room - the stationary bike's tension wasn't working very well, but I managed to get in my workout. One minor complaint: the parking lot has minimal space on the north side between the two rows of parking, so when you move out of your space, there's not a lot of room to maneuver (but I consider this a minor issue). This would have cost me $125.00 if I had booked it personally. Overall, a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMadmanThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. It was nice for you to break down our property from the business travellers perspective. We do have compliemtary papers in our lobby everyday and serve our full hot breakfast daily in our coffee shop. We are always doing our best to make sure your experience is excellent. We are just about to start renovations on our last 10 traditional Queen rooms. This extensive project will change the entire room. Everything from furniture, to wallpaper, carpet etc will be replaced during this renovation. Thank you for chosing our facility for your business travel, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very clean inside and out. Beds are very comfortable and staff is very willing to please. We were in town for a wedding and found the prices a bit pricey for the wedding rooms being blocked. Pool was clean and very functional for all ages. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna89Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We would like to thank you for your recent review of our property. Here at the Super 8 in Port Elgin we take great pride in offering you a clean facility. We know how important a clean room and updated amenities are, and we do our best to make sure everything is up to your standard. We hope to see you again soon.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This looks like a fairly new motel of the usual style. staff at checkin great, our room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom literally shone with white white tiles.
The pool, sauna, hot tub area was extra clean. Breakfast far superior to other chain hotel/motels. Two chairs provided to sit on grass outside door.
I asked at front desk how old the place was, it seemed like new. To my surprise the motel has been in operation since 1975. Family operated.
A simply first class operation, convenient location, I can not think of any negative comment. This place is a must if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I would like to thank you for your excellent review of our facility. Our facility has been around since the mid 70's and has gone through many renovations. (and we have lots of renovation plans for this winter as well). Our facility has had the same family ownership since 1976, and we are also proud to report that we have 6 staff members with over 10 years of service and 4 staff members with over 15 years of service. You always know you are going to see a familiar smiling face when you stay at the Super 8 Hotel in Port Elgin.
We can't wait to see you again.
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Professional, clean, close to shops and water, quiet, lots of swimming options. Staff is helpful but unobtrusive. We wanted a beach vacation last year and tried Port Elgin and this hotel, and were so happy with our stay that we went again this year and have every intention of staying again next year.

Room Tip: Best advice if you're confused about room types or location details within the motel is to simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We appreciate that you have given us the chance as your destination while travelling to Port Elgin the past two summers. Please note that we do offer great getaways during the off season and would love to see you back sooner rather than later. Our indoor pool area is open year round for your relaxation and enjoyment. We hope to see you soon
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the time we arrived we were treated very well. We enjoyed how close the shops were. we enjoyed how close the water was... Our kids loved it... our 22 year old son also had a great time... he loved having free W5.
We loved the kitchen - it had everything we needed. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We would like to thank you for your recent review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your entire family was able to relax and enjoy your time while at our facility. We do have two great options for complimentary internet, hard wired and wireless.
We hope to see you again soon.
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
23.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
559 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
367 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Walkerton Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Elgin

Address: Highway 21 South, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pride of Super 8 is located close to the beautiful, sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Visit us in Port Elgin each year for our world-renowned Pumpkinfest. This special events weekend occurs the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. Our property is only a short drive to Bruce Power, excellent fishing, challenging golf courses, great snowmobile & cross-country ski trails, and the Bruce County Museum and Archives. From all of our local activities and highlights to our super staff and facilities, there are so many reasons to make the trip to Port Elgin, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Port Elgin Hotel Port Elgin
Super Eight Port Elgin
Port Elgin Super Eight
Port Elgin Super 8
Super 8 Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing