We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family vacation Summer 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Port Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Port Elgin
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family vacation Summer 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My parents have been going to Port Elgin for 30 years now and they have only stayed at this Super 8. They always talk about how much they love it there and the great service the Super 8 provides. This year they decided to organize a family vacation. My parents, cousins there small children and myslef spent three days there and we had a blast! The location is great, service is amazing and overall experience there has been great! The hotel is close to many restaurants and is a 5 minute drive to the beach. We had a wonderful time and I would recommend you stay at this Super 8. You will not be disappointed! Can't wait for next years family trip!

Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KINGB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
On behalf of all the staff, I would like to thank you for your recent review of our property on Tripadvisor. It has been really enjoyable to see family's return to our property year after year. I myself have been the General Manager here for 15 years and now see many of the kids that used to stay with us bringing their own families back for holidays as well. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we also look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family next summer as well.
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    213
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
312
157
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just stayed here for the second time, having come last summer as well. While we prefer to be in Southampton, it is worth the 10 minute drive just to stay at this hotel. each night we were there the hotel was sold-out, and it was surprisingly quiet, given that it's a great place for young families like our's. We used the pool each day, which was clean and warm (along with the hot tub, also clean), and the breakfasts were convenient, fresh food was plentiful, and the coffee was surprisingly good too. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless.

Prices were higher than what we would have liked ($170), but it's the nicest place - By Far - in Southampton/Port Elgin, and we'll definitely be staying there again next summer. we also found the front desk staff to be very friendly as well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the parking lot side (twice now) and never had a problem with noise. A/C is also crisp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to see familiar faces coming back year after year. We are glad that you keep trusting us with your summer vacation needs in Port Elgin. Our full hot breakfast has received many compliments this summer, and we appricate yours as well. Our indoor and outdoor pool areas have seen a lot of swimmers during the hot dry summer we have been having. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next summer if not sooner.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have family in Clinton, 1 1/2 drive from Port Elgin who are aging and have many medical issues and we wanted to see them but also we needed a break away from our home. We enjoy Southampton and Port Elgin very much and visit as much as we can. We choose Super 8 hotel because it was away from the main drag but not far enough that you were always in the car. The hotel's is great in offering a swim in or outside, hot tub and gym. We enjoyed the patio outside our room to unwind from our busy day. The breakfast was good and plenty of it with a good variety of breakfast food. Room was great and the employees go out of there way to make you stay a good experience. I highly recommend the Super 8 in Port Elgin.

Room Tip: Room off the outdoor pool have bigger patios, picnic tables with umbrellas - good for family meals p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property on Tripadvisor. Our staff appreciate your kind feedback regarding their efforts. We are always trying to do our best to make sure each and every person is well looked after. Our faciity has 46 of 55 rooms that do have a patio door access from your room. We have different options of drive up rooms or poolside rooms with patio doors.
We hope to see you again soon.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here the Civic holiday (August 2012) for a 3 nights. On booking, I found the hotel to be a bit on the expensive side but we later discovered the value. The room had been recently rennovated and was super clean. The room was a bit smallish with two queen beds. Super 8 provided free wifi and full breakfast. The breakfast was excellent...(get there early). The breakfast was worth at least $40 for my family of four which made the room rate of $152/night a very good deal. The place was fully booked for this long weekend. They had both an indoor and outdoor pool which was great. Lots of ammenties close by: Walmart, Canadian Tire, gas bar, LCBO, KFC, crabby joes and many more.

Super 8 staff were truly SUPER. Very friendly and accommodating. Minor complaints we had were: cleaning staff did not vacuum regularly and did not refill some of the personal amenities like soap and shampoo. Minor but watch for that. Front desk was able to rectify.

Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bytecrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback on the cost of our rooms. It's nice that you have put a value on our hot breakfast. We do our best to make sure you are offered a wide selection of items. I would agree with your assesment on the cost of breakfast. Our rooms are a little more expensive, but if you factor in your breakfast cost, our prices are very reasonable.
We hope to see you again soon in Port Elgin.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I made a last minute decision to go to Port Elgin on Friday morning and needed a place to stay for the long weekend, but only required one night (Friday). The person who answered was extremely efficient and took my reservation right away (they only had 2 rooms left) and I received the confirmation a few minutes later, which is pretty good. This motel is perfect as it's very close to the beach we go to which is 5 minutes down the road. They offer a hot breakfast the following morning, so it was a good deal. Mind you, they are a bit more expensive than the other motels in the area, but worth it if you want something clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneV095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
On behalf of all our staff at our Pride of Super 8 we would like to thank you for trusting us with your accommodation needs while in Port Elgin. We are glad that you found our front desk staff to be efficient. We do our best to make sure each guest to looked after. Our home cooked hot buffet breakfast has been very popular with all guest. We hope to see you again soon at our Super 8.
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avg1973
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great motel, great breakfast, 2 pools are great, great location. Love this place - we stay here every summer. Kids love it here. Close to the beach and downtown. Sunsets are beautiful in Port Elgin - love Lake Huron.

Room Tip: poolside rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Our Sunsets in Port Elgin are worth the drive alone. As locals, we are lucky to have so many beautiful places to visit. We are glad you enjoyed our facility and our home cooked breakfast. Thank you for choosing our Super 8 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We are regulars every summer and are never disappointed. Very clean rooms and surrounding and friendly staff. The price is a bit high but the great complimentary breakfast more than makes up for it. The motel is continuously being upgraded in all facettes and nothing ever looks run down. This time we noticed that the room furniture had been changed including a new tv's (flat screens)

Room Tip: Pool side costs a bit more but is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for you recent review of our Hotel. It is rewarding when guests notice all of our renovations. We have replaced furniture in all 12 traditional rooms in our front hall this June. We hope to continue with the finishing touches to these rooms in the fall.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kincardine
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Elgin

Property: Super 8 Port Elgin
Address: Highway 21 South, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pride of Super 8 is located close to the beautiful, sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Visit us in Port Elgin each year for our world-renowned Pumpkinfest. This special events weekend occurs the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. Our property is only a short drive to Bruce Power, excellent fishing, challenging golf courses, great snowmobile & cross-country ski trails, and the Bruce County Museum and Archives. From all of our local activities and highlights to our super staff and facilities, there are so many reasons to make the trip to Port Elgin, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Port Elgin Hotel Port Elgin
Super Eight Port Elgin
Port Elgin Super Eight
Port Elgin Super 8
Super 8 Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing