We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great town, great hotel:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Port Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Port Elgin
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great town, great hotel:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool, also a hot tub and sauna. All areas of the hotel were super clean and all the staff were extremely friendly. The complimentary hot breakfast includes bacon, egg, sausage, waffles, muffins, bagels, cereal and fruit. No need to buy lunch!! Only slight drawback is a tricky left turn across busy traffic towards town and beach. About 8 mins.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a nice seating area. Parking side has easy luggage drop off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiveofusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
On behalf of all the staff here at the Port Elgin Super 8, we would like to thank you for your comments regarding your experiences during your recent trip to Port Elgin. Our poolside rooms are one of our most popular options with families looking to relax and enjoy your vacation. Our outdoor pool area has sunbeds, picnic tables and patio chairs to let you unwind. We also have a public BBQ area and of course a wonder 96,000 litre heated pool. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Port Elgin.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    213
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
313
157
17
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The place was clean, comfortable and up to date. The pools, hot tub and sauna were all clean in great condition. The place is being well run and in excellent condtion. We could tell from the parking lot condition what the rest of the other place would be llike. Staff was helpful. The included breakfast was great! The only complaint I have is the pop machine did not have the prices advertised and it was a pain to operate. I informed the manager of this and he said he would look into it. Had a great stay and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkman_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We would like to thank you for your recent review of our facility. We are always doing our best to make sure all areas of our facility look the best they possibly can. We have had many, many positive comments regarding our expanding hot breakfast. Please note that we have also recently put information on our vending machines regarding prices. We look forward to the opportunity to having you stay with us again in the near future.
We truly appreciated your comments and feedback,
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The accommodations are excellent. The breakfast is not coffee and dry muffins, but it is fresh bacon & eggs, juice coffee, cealeal, toast muffins bagels and pastries. Best of all, the staff truly care and work hard none stop to please. This is my home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
On behalf of all the staff and management, it is truly our pleasure to make our facility like your second home. We are always excited to see regular guests and do our best to make your frequent trips away from home as comfortable as possible. Our staff are always happy to see you and the many other dedicated workers that travel often. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity to providing your "home away from home" for the weeks and months to come.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Have all the needed amenities and the breakfasts are great. Friendly service but with all the big place amenities. Quiet rooms modern and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank customer5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our facility on your recent stay in Port Elgin. We have been receiving many positive commments regarding our expanded hot buffet breakfast. As you may know, many places do offer hot breakfast, but we believe that cooking everything fresh and "homemade style" truly makes the difference. We will continue to do our best in offering each and every customer a great breakfast experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We recently stayed at the super 8 in port elgin for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, and the staff super friendly. We had a nice room facing the pool which was great as it was so hot. The indoor pool and whirlpool was great too, very clean, very well maintained place!

My special thank you to Trevor who called the supplier directly when I enquired about the ingredients of the sausages in the included breakfast they serve there. He called them and found out they had wheat in them. I have celiac and it is important not to eat gluten of any form. Even with my allergies, I enjoyed the eggs and bacon, yoghurt and fresh fruit they provided.

Really wonderful stay, and super people working there, Lake Huron as always was wonderful!

Thanks

Mary

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somerville_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hi Mary:

I would like to thank you for your recent reveiw of our facility in Port Elgin. I would first like to say that I wouldn't hesitate to call any supplier for any of our guests. It is extremly important to make sure that any allergy concerns are dealt with in a quick and accurate manner. We are always happy here at the Super 8 to make sure all of your needs are looked after. It is people like yourslef that take the time to say thank you that means so much to myself and the rest of the hard working employees at the Super 8 - Port Elgin. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and remember don't eat the homemade sausage, they do contain wheat crumbs.
thank you,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at the Port Elgin Super 8 in June while visiting on family business. There's not a lot to chose from in Port Elgin and I was told that the Super 8 was the best in town and after our stay I can say we definitely agree. It was a pleasant surprise to find a very clean room with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker and an obviously newly renovated bathroom that fairly sparkled. It was apparent that the owners and staff take pride in the property and their jobs. Every employee we dealt with had a smile and a can do attitude. So, I don't hesitate to recommend this Super 8 if you're looking in Port Elgin. Oh, and free wi-fi, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I would like to thank you for your review of our Pride of Super 8 in Port Elgin, Ontairo. We are proud to say all 55 rooms now have a minimum 32" LCD T.V. All of our rooms also have a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, DVD player, hairdryer, and complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet. All of the staff here take great pride in making your experience an enjoyable & relaxing visit each and every time. We hope that you will stay with us during your next visit to Port Elgin. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
yours truly,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. The rooms and hotel itself were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pools were nice and the free, hot breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We liked the hotel so much that we are hoping to go back for a weekend in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
On behalf of all of our staff and owners, we would like to thank you for choosing the Super 8 Port Elgin for your recent visit to Saugeen Shores. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest enjoys our entire facility. We have renovated a large number of rooms this year and expect to continue renovations to serve you even better for future stays. We appreciate your kind feedback on our pools and our breakfast. We have had many compliments regarding the expansion of our full hot breafast. We look forwar to the opportunity to provide you with superior accommodations in the near future.
many thanks,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Elgin

Property: Super 8 Port Elgin
Address: Highway 21 South, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pride of Super 8 is located close to the beautiful, sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Visit us in Port Elgin each year for our world-renowned Pumpkinfest. This special events weekend occurs the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. Our property is only a short drive to Bruce Power, excellent fishing, challenging golf courses, great snowmobile & cross-country ski trails, and the Bruce County Museum and Archives. From all of our local activities and highlights to our super staff and facilities, there are so many reasons to make the trip to Port Elgin, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Port Elgin Hotel Port Elgin
Super Eight Port Elgin
Port Elgin Super Eight
Port Elgin Super 8
Super 8 Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing