We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back.”
Review of Super 8 Port Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Port Elgin
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. The rooms and hotel itself were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pools were nice and the free, hot breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We liked the hotel so much that we are hoping to go back for a weekend in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

On behalf of all of our staff and owners, we would like to thank you for choosing the Super 8 Port Elgin for your recent visit to Saugeen Shores. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest enjoys our entire facility. We have renovated a large number of rooms this year and expect to continue renovations to serve you even better for future stays. We appreciate your kind feedback on our pools and our breakfast. We have had many compliments regarding the expansion of our full hot breafast. We look forwar to the opportunity to provide you with superior accommodations in the near future.
many thanks,
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Port Elgin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 753 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

For the remote location and price, this motel is "very good" to stay for short visits. However, during this visit, I experienced a very noisy neighbour even during late night. People walking and talking in the corridor is also disturbing. Last visit in November of 2010, I found a number of roaches in my room (washroom and near patio door).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

On behalf of the owners and staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our facility and providing us with feedback. It is always our goal to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable, affordable and enjoyable stay. I would like to apoligize that you experienced noisy nieghbours during your most recent stay. We do have an employee that works during the night to monitor and deal with any guest concerns. We ask that anyone staying with us call the front desk and report any issues that need to be resolved immediately.
I would ask that you call me directly to make your next reservation and I will do my best to make sure your next stay is a quiet and enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Super 8 Port Elgin is one of the great hotels that I have ever stayed at in a smail community such as Port Elgin. I had booked a block of room and the General Manager could not be more accomodating making sure our needs were met. The Hot Buffet Breakfast was excellent with a great selection of waffles, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs and more. What amazed was that it was cooked fresh and was refill numerous times. The indoor pool is great, and it is salt water.....no stinky chorline. When we return to the area, we will back again. Thanks again to Trevor, Kristi, Debb and rest of the excellent staff at Super 8 Port Elgin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailerman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

The Staff and owners would like to thank you for your review of our facility on tripAdvisor. We take great pride in everything we do here at our Pride of Super 8. Our Sincere thank you to all Mocha Shriners that stayed with us this past weekend to celebrate your Spring Ceremonial in Saugeen Shores.
We appreciate your feedback on our full hot breakfast as well. We are proud to report that all muffins & croissants are baked fresh in our kitchen. We only use local Bruce county meat and our scrambled eggs are made fresh and prepared by our kitchen staff.
Our indoor Salt water pool has been a big hit with many of our guests.
We look forward to the opportunity to serving you and your fellow Mocha Shriners during your next visit to Port Elgin.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our extended family has been staying at the Port Elgin Super 8 since 1990. It is a very unique motel in the Port Elgin area. Extremely clean, rooms are continually being updated and are gorgeous, wonderful hot breakfast included, great indoor pool and hot tub and outdoor pool as well. The beautiful Port Elgin beach is very close by. We started staying at the Super 8 with our small children, in recent years have stayed with my elderly parents and our teenage children. Definitely something for everyone, and a great place for a family to spend time together. Service second to none, many employees have been there for years and are extremely welcoming and service second to none. We really recommend the Port Elgin Super 8 for families and LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeWaterlooOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

On behalf of the owners and staff, I would think to thank you for your kind comments regarding our facility in beautiful Port Elgin. We would like to thank you and your family for giving us the opportunity over the years of providing you with your accommodations. We always enjoy seeing familiar faces coming back year after year. We look forward to the opportunity of looking after any accommodation needs you might have in the future.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We have been staying at this Super 8 for the last four years. We have traveled as a family and expect all other hotels in Super 8 and from all other chains to have the standards. It just isn't true. The owners and staff of this Super 8 do a marvelous job of making us feel welcome, like family and very comfortable. Parts of this Hotel are over 30 years old. We have stayed at brand new hotels and not had all the amenities that the Port Elgin Super 8 provides. They are never satisfied and are constantly working on improving the already superb Hotel. The continental breakfast here is unlike any other continental breakfast. Port Elgin provides us with danishes, Belgium waffles, hard boiled eggs, full selection of fruits as well as the normal selection of muffins, bagels, cereals, juices and coffee. All included with your stay. An indoor and outdoor pool means you can swim whatever time of year you arrive. The hot tub is among the best operational I have encountered at any hotels. I strongly recommend a pleasurable stay at the Port Elgin Super 8, not matter what time of year it is.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuckinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

On behalf of our staff and ownership, I would like to thank you for your review of our property. It is always our goal to exceed expectations of our guests during every visit. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Hotel is priced very high for what you get especially in the off season for this location. Rooms have paper thin walls and the cleaning staff began vacuming the halls at 830 in the morning.
Despite having a fridge and microwave really not set up for business travelers. Bathroom is beyond small.
Super disappointed with quality of room and amenities for the price paid... Front desk clerk was super nice & did make check-in/out seamless.
Will not be staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missbhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynsy, General Manager at Super 8 Port Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

We would like to thank you for writing your review. At our Pride of Super 8 we are always striving to provide you with an extremely clean, comfortable, facility with our superior customer service. It is always our goal to have each and every guest enjoy their stay. We apologize that you didn’t find your room modern or price conscious. We would firstly like to mention that we are a “Pride of Super 8” which is only awarded to the top 10 percent of our chain. We are also very proud to report that we have been graded as the 25th best hotel in our 2100 plus chain, and 10th overall for cleanliness. We would also like you to know that we are in the process of upgrading our traditional rooms and have just added flat screen T.V.’s to a large number of our rooms. Now over 60 % of all guest rooms have a minimum 32” L.C.D. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will consider our facility in the future.
Trevor Raynsford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

stayed for 1 night, receptionist very welcoming. Large room very clean as was the bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The free breakfast was really good also

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
147 reviews
23.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
541 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
36 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Walkerton Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Port Elgin

Address: Highway 21 South, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range: $106 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Pride of Super 8 is located close to the beautiful, sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Visit us in Port Elgin each year for our world-renowned Pumpkinfest. This special events weekend occurs the weekend prior to Thanksgiving. Our property is only a short drive to Bruce Power, excellent fishing, challenging golf courses, great snowmobile & cross-country ski trails, and the Bruce County Museum and Archives. From all of our local activities and highlights to our super staff and facilities, there are so many reasons to make the trip to Port Elgin, Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Port Elgin Hotel Port Elgin
Super Eight Port Elgin
Port Elgin Super Eight
Port Elgin Super 8
Super 8 Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing