We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting menu”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Southampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very interesting menu”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on their patio recently. A lovely oasis out the back door of an ordinary restaurant in a small strip mall. Was shocked when we walked through the door. Ordered the Falafel Wrap which was supposed to come with a tossed salad but salad was actually a chick pea salad. Well presented & tasty. Menu stated 3 crispy falafels but they were on soggy side & it seemed like one large patty. I personally like crispness in a falafel. Lots of other interesting things on menu. Not for the person who likes a burger & fries. I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annonymous46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Proof that Tripadvisor works -Great little spot”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Chose this restaurant soley based on its TA rating, and wasn't disappointed. Excellent food (we choose the daily appetizer and entree special), freshly prepared. The place was busy, but the staff really worked hard and our service was spot on. Outside seating needs a reservation, and it is nicer out there. Inside seating is a bit sparse, but the hostess discussed the photos (hers) on the wall and how her travels inspired the restaurant.

Prices are as good as it gets, and many were taking some dinner home, as portions are generous.

Overall a unique find and well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a gem of a recently new addition to the restaurants in Saugeen Shores and in this case, Port Elgin. I'd read Trip Advisor positive reviews, and they were right on! My wife and I went for a late breakfast last Sunday and both chose the mexican black bean omelette and homefries: excellent! The best homefries I've ever had, an excellent omelette, and generous portions. We'll be going back this week for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrys111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We don't get to Port Elgin often, and had no idea this restaurant was there - it could easily be missed. We were pleasantly surprised by the diverse menu - Thai, East Indian, Moroccan, and other ethnic dishes represented. Our food was very tasty, and reasonably priced. I highly recommend checking this restaurant out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eat your way around the world...”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!! Great food from around the world. Love the spices.
You can see in the kitchen where everything is made from scratch!!!
Would definitely eat here again.
Not licensed but we didn't miss having a drink with such great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing