We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Chick Pea Doubles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the Chick Pea Doubles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The place is always busy, the greeting is always cheerful and keen. The food is awesome, the environment friendly and the price very reasonable. Try the Chick Pea Doubles or the Peanut Stew. Get a Chai just to warm you up when you come in. Do not assume that you will need three entrees just to fill a big guy up. Check out their menu online. The servings are as big as they appear in the photos. You will not be disappointed. The daily specials are often special treats that you'll never get anywhere else. This is definitely the first place in Port that is different and delicious - about time too! So glad the kids took to the task. Congratulations gang!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J0nna_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    22
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just had the pleasure of eating here & I'm not really very adventurous when it comes to trying new things but I loved it. I had the Pad Tai & it was so good & huge. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonita70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I have ate there several times and it just keeps getting better and better. Even when busy the staff handles everything well and the quality of their food never suffers. The mix of flavours and spices are incredible. I can't wait to return! (:

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent and diverse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I’ve been four times already; this place has a home in Port Elgin. The menu is diverse and the food is great. Everything is handmade and consistently excellent. The mexican wrap and the butter chicken are my favourites so far; however, the daily specials are always great. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a little spice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 242PaulS242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Love this new eatery! The decor is pleasing and the fresh food on the menu is amazing. I tried the Mexican Beef Wrap and it was delicious. Just the right amount of artful and mouthwatering spices used made this my new favorite. The staff is knowledgeable and very courteous. I will definitely be a return customer and highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose5755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Southampton, Bruce County
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing