We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McClung suite charming.”
Review of Silken Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silken Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Port Elgin B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“McClung suite charming.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our room was great, jetted tub, double sinks, everything you could need was there. Breakfast was perfect and the coffee always available. Keurig available on our floor for anytime use. Near to the beach and all the shops and restaurants of Port Elgin. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the renovations to this beautiful home were most tastefully done. Thanks Priscilla for a great experience. Peter and Diane.

Room Tip: We were in the McClung room but viewed the other suites which were equally charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterbregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
41
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The house: renovated old charm with new amenities. The bed (we were in the King) was the most comfortable ever! Our hostess, Priscilla; charming, helpful, friendly and a great cook, the location; perfect, near the main street but quiet, close to the beach, breakfast was not only delicious but the presentation (fruit with chocolate sauce for breakfast? Mmm) was 5 star. Would we go again? In a heartbeat. You will love it!

Room Tip: We slept in the big bed but saw the other rooms, they're all gorgeous. You won't be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Such a stunning building. After 5 years of renovations, they did absolute wonders with this house! Priscilla was telling us all about the various work they did, and how detailed the work was!
But enough about the architecture.
The rooms were amazing, the bed - one of the most comfortable I've slept on, and the bathrooms made me feel like I had my own private spa!
Priscilla made us amazing french toast for breakfast on the first day, with her own home-made raspberry sauce.
I really could gush for another page...but I think you get my drift.

Room Tip: They're all amazing...you won't be let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghanIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were amazed at all the details in the house and it is very charming too. Breakfast was excellent.The hosts were very personable and was able to tell us so much about the house and its history as well as some of the attractions in Port Elgin.
I am sure we will be back again!

Room Tip: all rooms have a buffer between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at Silken Retreat and enjoyed every minute of it. The property and home have been lovingly restored and decorated. Priscilla and Ken have thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts are delicious and well presented in the lovely dining room. Our bed and bath were impeccably clean and bright. The queen size bed was comfortable and the private bath modern and well appointed. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front corner of the home and it was bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place is very polished an spotlessly clean. The house has been beautifully restored and is quiet and comfortable. It is the perfect blend of antique and contemporary including all the amenities you might expect. Our bathroom was huge and really well appointed.

Hosts Priscilla and Ken were gracious and engaging creating a warm, relaxing atmosphere for us to enjoy. Priscilla's breakfast was awesome. She provided good recommendations for shopping and dining and the house is close to the centre of town so it is a short walk to the best restaurants.

We enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the summer evening with a glass of wine and some good conversation. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent an overnight in this beautifully redecorated home. Our room was comfortable and lacked nothing. Capturing brief glimpses of the other rooms showed that they too were beautiful and well supplied. The hosts were warm and a real pleasure to spend time with. Breakfast was a culinary delight and exceeded all expectations.
Thank you to Ken and Priscilla for a wonderful time. I look forward to visiting again and will surely recommend your retreat to friends and colleagues!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
0.5 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
33 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windspire Inn
Windspire Inn
#3 of 7 in Port Elgin
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Port Elgin
Super 8 Port Elgin
#1 of 6 in Port Elgin
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Port Elgin
Travelodge Port Elgin
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sand Castle Suites Motel
Sand Castle Suites Motel
#5 of 6 in Port Elgin
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Retreat

Property: Silken Retreat
Address: 570 Johnston Ave, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elgin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Silken Retreat Port Elgin, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing