We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosina Not What It Was: New Ownership”
Review of Rosina

Rosina
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rosina Not What It Was: New Ownership”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I have been frequenting and loving Rosina since it first opened. Everything was consistently excellent: food, service, and atmosphere. This past weekend, we went in for the first time this year, to find it had been sold last October. Steve, the new owner, greeted us in a checkered short sleeved short and jeans........a bit picky, but a sign of things to come. We both noticed the wine bottle in the shelves next to our booth, and the countertop, had a little dust layer. Again, not a show stopper, but a sign. Our antipasto platter was pretty good, but the pizzas we rated a 3 and an 8: the arugula, blue cheese and caramelized onion pizza tasted great, but points were lost due to the hard crust edge, which we left behind. The other pizza, chicken pesto was as tasy as a freezer pizza: the pesto was not punchy, and the whole thing was bland. When asked by Steve how our meals were, I told him the truth. He said he'd mention it to the chef. That's the last we hear: no deduction on the bill either.

The previous owner and founder was an experienced toronto restaurant owner who cared about all the details and was a true professional. While we're likely to give it another go, it was sad to see the decline.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrys111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This Italian restaurant makes its own pasta and dough.The menu is on the small side for entrees ,but has a variety of appetisers and specials of the day. The fish of the day is caught locally {whitefish} The salads are crisp and tasty.Michael is a friendly experienced server so trust his suggestions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was all good .”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

went for dinner on June 21 . we were greeted promptly by staff who could not do enough to please us . Thoroughly enjoyed our appitizer , main course and dessert .The chef custom made one main course due to food allergies that we have . . You will not get a plate heaped with food , you will pay top dollar for your dinner and do not go to Rosinis if you are in a hurry . We left the Rosinis satisfied but not stuffed . Excellent . We will definitely go again .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The food was very disappointing. The romaine lettuce was soggy, the croqueitte app cold as was the crème brule. Serving staff were overworked and service was slow. Not one to write negative reviews but this was a bad dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPWalkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just got home from our first dining experience at Rosina's and it was fantastic! We were warmly greeted at the door by the owner and within a few minutes had placed our drink order and been delivered a basket of bread. It was such a refreshing change to not be rushed through dinner - we relaxed between courses enjoying our evening out, but never once felt like we were 'waiting' for our meal to come. It really brought back alot of wonderful memories of our travels through Italy. We started with the Minestrone soup and Scallops appetizers - I really didn't want to share the scallops they were so delicious! I had the Homemade spinach fettuccine and my husband had the Fuscilli with shrimp - we both devoured our meals (not out of hunger, but because they were so good!)! We decided as it was my husband's birthday to go all out and order dessert (I was full at this point so I'm not sure why there is a complaint below about portion sizes??) - our dessert was delivered by the owner and 2 staff members singing "Happy Birthday" - which was the icing on the cake of a wonderful meal! Thank you Rosina's for a great evening and we look forward to many more in the future!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyP139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosina also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Rosina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing