We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Very Clean Independent Hotel”

Travelodge Port Elgin
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Port Elgin
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Most of the time I stay in chain motels because, while they are rarely excellent they are also rarely terrible. The Colonial is one of the best independent hotels I have ever stayed in. You will find friendly people beginning at check-in and continuing throughout your stay. The property is meticulously maintained and scrupulously clean. I didn't try it but here you probably could eat off the floors. The indoor pool is well maintained and is a blessing if you come and the weather turns on you. The indoor pool is also good if you come in the winter. Of course the pool does tend to fill up with little kids on weekends but this should be expected, I'm not an antique expert but the stuff with prices I know in the onsite antique store were good. There is also an onsite restaurant open for breakfast and lunch and the prices are reasonable for the very good food. The service is top notch. This family owned hotel has grown and prospered over the years for all the above reasons. The one downside is that most busy summer weekends it is sold out so you need to make reservations well in advance or come weekdays or in off peak periods. You will not have a bad experience at the Colonial Motel.

Room Tip: Families with children should ask for a room in the section with the pool. The quietest rooms are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Colonial is a good bang for the buck. Very friendly staff that go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. This family owned motel is very clean and well maintained and it shows. Very nice indoor swimming pool excellent in house family restaurant for breakfast and lunch. We all love the Colonial and over the last ten years never had a bad experience. Thanks Colonial see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

While lookling for a night stay over in the area, I came upon this motel. Having had some bad experiences in independent motels previously, I firstly called a few other bigger chains, one was much more expensive and the other left me on hold, long distance for about 10 mins. When I reached the Colonial, I was firstly impressed with how friendly they sounded on the phone,then when we arrived, again impressed with their courteous manner. This family run establishment blows some of the more popular hotels/motels out of the water!! Although the rooms have an older feel to them, ours was huge (king bed) with microwave, fridge and flat screen!! they are spotlessly clean and have an abundance of towels!! Little cafe/restaurant adjoins the motel and there is also an antique shop within the motel to browse. Enjoy a dip in the salt water pool and relax in the hot tub!! Thank you staff at the Colonal Motel for a short but lovely stay... we will be back

Room Tip: The newer section has internal hallways and feels more like a hotel if this is something that might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank luckyme60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial during a hockey tournament. We hadn't stayed here before but were most pleased with the service from all the folks that served us here. Reception staff were friendly and helpful when I called to inquire about booking for the group and helpful when I needed larger rooms. Check in and check out were handled swiftly with friendly attention to detail. The motel was able to extend our checkout time on the final day of our stay, which was very much appreciated.

The Colonial property is a traditional motel set up with different buildings. We happened to be in the building with the pool, which was a bonus. The motel has two very spacious family suites with lots of room for our large families and to entertain friends. I booked one with 3 rooms, a king in the master, 2 queens in the first room + a bonus living room with a fridge, microwave, couch and chairs. There was a tv in each room, which was great since the Olympics had just started and everyone wanted to watch!!! My friend booked the other suite for his family, which had two rooms, one with a king and a sofa bed and the other with a queen. Both rooms were great and it was a bonus that they were the only two rooms in an upper hall, so we had lots of room for boots and hockey bags in the upper hall. Friends who stayed downstairs also enjoyed their rooms, which appeared to have updated decor. Both the suites and the standard rooms at the Colonial are definitely more spacious than any of the rooms at the neighbouring Super 8 where our team stayed last year. This was a definite plus when travelling with kids and hockey bags.

The cafe in the main building was excellent. Our group enjoyed a variety of breakfast items both days and everything was tasty, reasonably priced and the service was super efficient and friendly. I think both days our breakfasts, for a party of six, were served within 10 minutes of sitting down in the cafe - impressive!

If you are into antiques, particularly dishes, you will enjoy a visit to the antique shop in the main building.

We were impressed with the rooms and the service at the Colonial and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a big family, definitely book the family suite. It easily accommodates 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at this motel several times over the past dozen years while visiting Port Elgin. While it isn't luxurious, the rooms have always been clean and well-maintained, and the hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating. The food in the coffee shop is surprisingly good and reasonably priced, and the motel is well-situated on Highway 21 towards the south side of the town and not to far from the beach. The antique store that is attached to the motel is a treasure trove of products for collectors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial last year and booked a room again with the same pleasant experience. Our room was very clean, roomy, comfortable and very quiet. The bathroom was spotless but towels were not in abundance. Staff are very friendly in the motel and the attached restaurant. I would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here on the Canada Day long weekend. If it wasn't for the wait staff in the café, I'd give the Colonial Motel a higher rating. This is a nice basic motel, with a lovely little antique shop. Our room was clean and roomy, although it could have used some better lighting in the bedroom area. Breakfast in the café was awesome. Unfortunately, the wait staff could use some training on how to keep track of when customers arrive and seat themselves. The café has two entrances, is "please seat yourself" and the 3 wait staff were only watching the customers arriving through the door by the cashier counter. One of the wait staff actually looked at our table several times while serving other customers but never once came over to asked if we had been waited on. After waiting 15 minutes for someone to come to our table, my husband finally went to the counter to ask for someone to take our order. I'd stay at the motel again, but may go for breakfast elsewhere depending on who the wait staff are.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NSTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
36 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
558 reviews
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
20.6 mi away
TownePlace by Marriott Suites Kincardine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Port Elgin

Address: 235 Goderich St, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range: $60 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing