We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Vacay!!!”

Travelodge Port Elgin
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Port Elgin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Vacay!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our room was clean and tidy. A microwave and fridge were also in the room, which was fantastic. Bathroom was clean as well. TV with the bonus of a DVD player as well if you needed/wanted it.
I personally did not use the pool but others with me did. They enjoyed it as well as the hot tub right beside the pool. It was open till 10 PM which was great for late evening swims.
We did not go to the restaurant in the motel but from what was seen when I walked by, it looked nice, cosy with a warm atmosphere.
The motel front desk staff were friendly and polite. They do have an antique type store as well in the front of the motel. Mainly different types of dish ware but there other misc pieces.
Close to all stores, restaurants and beaches.
I would definitely return to this motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the new side of the building. All room doors open to an indoor corridor while the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
17
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge ,Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was ok ,the rooms are clean, loved the closeness to the beach, did not like the salt water pool, the breakfast menu is good and the staff are nice, all in all it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial because we needed to do some demolition to our cottage in Sauble Beach. We booked 3 rooms in the newer section and found them to be very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful as well. We took advantage of the pool and were the only ones taking advantage of it. Overall - it was a good place to stay in the middle of winter and looked after our needs at the time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the newly renovated rooms that were accessible only from the interior as opposed to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a clean, safe, standard motel with no frills. Price range was moderate to high for a motel (approx $150/night with 2 double beds). However, you're paying for high season in Port Elgin (beaches are beautiful) and great customer service. Overall, I felt it was worth the peace of mind. Although not really a "frill", don't forget that there is great coffee at the breakfast cafe in the morning, which was included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB_7783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great place to stay. Our family booked 4 rooms and all of enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful when we got there (but rude and confusing though when we inquired by email about room availability. If you can, better to just call and save the aggravation.) The bathrooms are newly renovated and really nice. The rooms are quiet and clean. Carpet is a bit out dated, but seemed clean. All of our rooms had a little bar fridge which was perfect for storing our sons formula, but only some of the rooms had a microwave. The pool was a bit cool, The pool and pool area could use a good cleaning, but other wise not too bad. Breakfast was delicious, hot and quick with excellent prices. Most items, including combos were under $10.00. Only issue at breakfast, was the high-chairs are sticky and need a good cleaning, Overall great location and easy to get to stores or restaurants (many within walking distance) I look forward to staying next year when we take our family trip again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I had never stayed in Port Elgin so we chose the Colonial because of past good reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the room very clean and the bed comfortable. We had a nice refreshing dip in the pool after a warm day of travelling. Staff gave us a lots of towels for the pool. The best part was we found the room very quiet even though the motel was full of guests. The restaurant attached, the Sunrise Cafe was super busy the next morning but our server was very friendly and our meal was presented quickly and our coffee cups were always full. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As far as the rooms go, this is your basic motel. The difference here is the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. With Port Elgin being a beach town you're not going to find anything too fancy but I was very impressed with how clean the rooms are. I've been to some supposed top hotels and have not found them to be as clean as the room was here. The price was great and it even has an indoor pool and hot tub. It is family owned and you can tell the difference. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. I even found the prices in the antique shop to be reasonable. My only minor complaint is that the walls are pretty thin and they allow dogs. We had a dog barking next door for the entire evening while the owners were out. I don't blame the motel for this though, I blame the owners for bringing a dog and then leaving it locked in the room for the entire day and evening.

I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sahodgson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
0.2 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
33 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
135 reviews
25.0 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Sutton Park Inn
Sutton Park Inn
#5 of 7 in Kincardine
75 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kincardine
15.8 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Port Elgin

Property: Travelodge Port Elgin
Address: 235 Goderich St, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Port Elgin Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing