We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minor Fisheries Ltd.

Minor Fisheries Ltd.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Minor Fisheries Ltd. Family owned and operating in Port Colborne since 1979! The Freshest Catch in Port! Local fresh caught fish, French fries and seafood. Dine on our outdoor patio overlooking the picturesque canal with view of the lift bridge, ships, sail boats and historical West Street. Located in beautiful down town Port Colborne Ontario. Take out also available. Visit our website to download our menu today!
Wainfleet, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We love to go and take out fish from here. My husband can't go by without checking out the fish at Minor's!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunandcday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped in for a quick lunch by the canal and were very pleasantly surprised by the food. We had the 2 pc fish special with fries for $5.00 and it was delicious. The pickerel pieces were lightly breaded and so tasty. They were accompanied by hot, crispy French fries. There a few small tables inside and outside on the patio; but it seems most of the business is local take out. If you are in the area and crave fresh fish run to Minor's.....you will not be disappointed by the food and you will be thrilled by the prices.

Helpful?
Thank goldseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fresh, local, inexpensive, and did I mention fresh?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We've lived in Port for 8 years now, and eat perch and pickerel from Minor Fisheries probably about once every two weeks. We usually buy a few pounds of fresh perch and cook it at home, and I'm here to tell you I've never had fresher fish than from Minor's - sweet and firm and perfectly cleaned, no smell of 'fish' at all. And if I haven't bought them all already, they sometimes have pickerel cheeks - if you've never had them, you're missing a real treat.
But take-out is what Minor's is famous for, and Minor's is our go-to place for fried fish, too. The perch and pickerel are crisply breaded, not battered, and not at all greasy or oily. The fresh-cut fries are pretty good, and the vinegar-based coleslaw is very nice. Minor's also has smelt, clam strips, shrimp, scallops, and calamari, as well as chicken wings, burgers, and dogs, and they prepare them very well, but if you're right here on Lake Erie you should be ordering the perch and the pickerel, both locally fished by Minor Fisheries since 1974.
The restaurant is bare-bones - there are some indoor tables, and a nice seating area outside, but most of the business is take-out. You can peruse the cases of smoked fish and fresh fish while you're waiting for your order, but you won't have to wait long - they're very efficient. People often take their fish dinners and eat on a bench or at a table beside the canal, enjoying the breeze and watching ships lock through. Service is knowledgeable and fast, and the prices are very good; less than ten bucks for five pieces of fish, fries, coleslaw, and bread, with tartar and/or seafood sauce. Check it out, there's a reason this place is so popular with the locals!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Robinson Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a great fish take out restaurant. Would definitely recommend. Perch dinner is excellent. Service is very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terryn408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I am not a big Pike and pickeral fan but this place was excellent. No air conditioning so beware on hot days. The most efficient waitress I have seen in years!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joem5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minor Fisheries Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Minor Fisheries Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing