We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycle”

The Friendship Trail
Orillia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cycle”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found the friendship trail rather boring. Riding through farmers fields for the most part. Thought we would be riding along the Lake Erie shoreline. We were quite disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
363 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Fantastic trail!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a fantastic trail that I bike on frequently. The entire trail is paved and in great condition. It's quite scenic and works its way through much of rural Niagara. Watch out for the safety posts at road crossings that sometimes require a dismount and walk around.

This year's goal is to ride the north half from Welland, south to Port Colborne, west to Fort Erie and north to Niagara Falls!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheumais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Close to our house”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Friendship trail is only a section of the entire trail across Canada. Each community added their own section(s). So, if there are any maps available(?) you would probably be able to map a route across the country. I love our section that mainly runs from Ft. Erie, ON. (on the border of the USA across from Buffalo, NY) into Port Colborne. You can walk, ride bicycles & it is wheelchair friendly. I love it in all seasons, including winter! I use it almost daily all year round. You can go for long walks/rides or short ones. There are many main roads it crosses (approx. a mile apart) where you can get on or off at any time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaggieL357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendship Trail is Handicap/Wheelchair Accessible...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I enjoy going 4 walks. Walking on the Friendship Trail has great scenery and most people you meet are very kind & polite. Technically my wife walks & I roll my self around in my wheelchair. The trail is very smooth, & is Completely Handicapped Accessible. It's Also Wheelchair Friendly.

Helpful?
4 Thank prawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendship Trail”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Friendship Trail runs from Port Colborne to Fort Erie, and is part of the Niagara Circle Route. This section follows an old railroad right of way. It is far from the nearest parallel road and traffic is inaudible. It is well treed on both sides, giving a feeling of biking through the woods.Services are available in Port Colborne, Ridgeway and Fort Erie. There is a chip wagon right adjacent to the trail where it crosses Sherkston Road, open in the summer. One-way is about 25 km.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rollym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Friendship Trail also viewed

 
Port Colborne, Ontario
 

Been to The Friendship Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing