We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory”
Review of HorsePlay Niagara

HorsePlay Niagara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback ride along the beach in Niagara, near Toronto, Hamilton and Buffalo. Discover the local beauty while horseback riding one of our well-trained horses. Horseback Ride on our one and two hour horseback rides, Sunset trail rides and Romance packages. Horseback ride along the Trans-Canada Trail viewing the wildlife on quiet paths along scenic lakes or beaches. Great for first time horseback riders or more experienced riders.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Scenery was decent, but nothing breathtaking. Ride was long but a bit more boring than ones I had been on during other trips. Customer service was average but not very friendly. There was a guy who seemed really cranky and on the rude side. Luckily, our guide was very nice. Overall, the ride was good, but it is slightly overpriced. Unfortunately I won't be returning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorsePlay1, Owner at HorsePlay Niagara, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your guide was friendly for your ride and I would suggest if you found the ride a bit boring that you next time reserve one of our advanced rides where there is the opportunity to do more such as galloping. We offer rides of many different lengths so you can choose the appropriate time that you would like to ride for. Thank you again for your review, your comments will help us to continually improve our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    29
    10
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Incredible Ride!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our visit to HorsePlay Niagara was everything we'd hoped for. Our mounts, Zorro and Oliver, were real gentlemen and our guide, Sharon, was friendly, knowledgable, and pleasant to ride with. We went on the one hour group ride; there were four other riders besides ourselves and our guide. The trail we took included an old railway bed, fields, and forrest. The technical difficulty was enough to keep experienced riders like us entertained, but wasn't too difficult for the couple who had never ridden before. The rest of the staff was friendly and outgoing. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would gladly go again the next time we're in the Niagara Region.
P.S. We recommend a round of mini golf with Bumble Bee, the cat. Too fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great ride!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Five of us rode on Saturday. We had a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back! Our guide, Toni, was knowledgeable, pleasant, and fun. The horses were ready to go when we arrived, and we were told everything we needed to know to get started - a few of us had never been on a horse before!
Toni did a visual check constantly to make sure everyone was okay. We had a really pleasant experience - thanks!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rab1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, but could be better”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Their horses and trails are nice. Having an option of booking a private ride (rather than going with a group of strangers) was also wonderful. However, they could do better with customer service. The reception wasn't the friendliest and was short with descriptions of the service. The guide was friendly, but didn't listen well and just talked a lot throughout the ride. At the end of the ride, we were hurried to leave and didn't get time to give the hard-working horses any treats or a good patting on their necks.

It was a good enough ride without major complaints, but won't go back nor recommend too highly to others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorsePlay1, Owner at HorsePlay Niagara, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our stables and for your kind comments on our horses and trails. I am sorry that you did not receive excellent customer service and your comments will help us make improvements so hopefully this will not occur in the future. We do apologize if you felt rushed at the end of your ride, this usually only happens only if a ride has departed late and there are other people waiting to ride. If we had known you had treats for the horses though, we would have made time for you to feed the horses as we enjoy seeing them get treats just as much as the horses do. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope you will once again ride with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There is more to Niagara the just the Falls”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Horse Play gives you a chance to experience the Niagara beyond the Tourist Town of the Falls. The one hour trail ride with Tony catered to inexperienced riders making them feel instantly comfortable. The trail took you passes the quarries that grew Niagara community. Tony points out wildlife and flora ask you walk and trot through nature trails north of Niagara.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlk-922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HorsePlay Niagara also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
 
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Pelham, Ontario
 

Been to HorsePlay Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing