We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Talwood Manor B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talwood Manor B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We decided to just pick Port Colborne as an interesting spot, near Niagara Falls and Lake Erie... and stayed two nights at Talwood Manor. It was perfect: lovely taste without being ostentatious, wonderful breakfasts, the most congenial hostess you could imagine. It's too bad Showboat Theatre wasn't playing the nights we were there, because this is right across the street and they have a great reputation. Loved some of the little shops in Port Colborne, and Niagara Falls was just the drive for our rainy days. Will return!

Room Tip: Our tropical room didn't have an ensuite, but the large bath was not shared. Her other rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We biked the Greater Niagara Circle Trail, starting and ending in Port Colborne so had the privilege of staying 2 nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Judith was an excellent hostess and the breakfast on both mornings was awesome. She paid attention to all the details, even calling to make dinner reservations. I can't say enough about this B&B, but if you are ever near, this is a must place to stay.

Room Tip: Highlander en suite washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at Talwood Manor for a week while I was working at Showboat Festival Theatre, and could not have been happier with the experience. The house is gorgeously decorated and very comfortable, and Judith is an extremely warm and thoughtful hostess. I looked forward ti breakfasts each morning as there was always a delightful, filling and unique dish to be had. Do make sure to try Judith's savoury waffles and eggs Benedict! I can't wait until I am in the area and can stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erikadmorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is one of the best value B&Bs we have every encountered, anywhere in the world. Judith has done a fantastic job converting this beautiful old house. And, the amenities provided in the rooms are without equal - all for an exceptional price! Port Colborne is a secret gem of a town on the shore of Lake Erie and pretty much everything is in walking or cycling distance. We especially enjoyed the magnificent frittata breakfast and sharing some recipes and travel stories with Judith over breakfast. We will definitely be back and have already set up friends to come and enjoy this great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about this B & B. We even had epsom salts to use in our lovely bath. Judith is a very caring and warm hostess that really has thought of everything. All the little things are here for your comfort, even bath robes!

Room Tip: Don't have any tips for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Talwood Manor. We were competing in the Welland Half Iron race. Port Colborne is a very short drive to Welland, so stay here if you have an event in Welland. It is centrally located and a short walk to fine dining. Judith accommodated our early rise time with a sumptuous breakfast, tailored to our nutritional needs for race day. Her home is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Our room was comfortable, with air conditioning. The bathroom was spacious, and thoughtfully stocked with and assortment of fragrant bath salts. The guest fridge had an assortment of beverages as well as coffee and tea near the rooms in the guest lounge. We felt like royaly, or at least high society a la Downton Abbey. May never stay in a chain hotel again. B and B is the way to travel if they could all be like this. All at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 526KatieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a gem, we stumbled upon, when cycling into this small and receptive community of Port Colborne! A feast for the eyes, upon walking into Talwood Manor and a "Just like home" feeling, especially when greeted by Judith, its gracious host. A healthy homemade breakfast, served with style, was exquisite, and fit for royalty. As was the sumptuous decor and surroundings. Bed and bath are squeaky clean and most comfortable, from the specially formulated bath salts for a hot bath after cycling, to the tea and cookies, before bedtime. This is the prime stop when cycling the Niagara-Welland loop, and most especially when you pull the lateral ligament in your left knee! Unable to continue our cycling trip, Judith immediately offered to drive us back to Niagara Falls where we had left our vehicle, to return to P. Colborne and load up the bikes into the car! Her generosity knows no bounds. She is kind at heart and a true Samaritan. Judith's energy and passion for all that Port Colborne has to offer in arts and culture, with its Art Crawl, music concerts and theatre, are contagious. We definitely plan to return to P. Colborne and unwind at Talwood Manor. Many thanks, Judith, for a memorable stay. Au revoir, et à bientôt! Sandra and Ugo xx

Room Tip: Excellent quality/price ratio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrat4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Colborne hotels
0.4 mi away
Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store
0.8 mi away
Good Night Motel
Good Night Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Colborne
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#3 of 4 in Port Colborne
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sherkston Inn
Sherkston Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherkston
15 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sherkston Shores
Sherkston Shores
#1 of 3 in Sherkston
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talwood Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talwood Manor B&B

Address: 303 Fielden Ave | On, Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 4T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Colborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Colborne
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talwood Manor B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talwood Manor Luxury B&B is nestled in the heart of Port Colborne and directly across from Showboat Festival Theatre. Built by one of Port Colborne's prominent family in 1915,Talwood Manor retains much of it former grandeur along with spacious guest areas. We are open year round, complimentary beverages offered. Enjoy while relaxing in the Garden Gazebo, Screened Verandah or by the fire in the winter. Piano in-house for guest use or special events. Rooms are professionally decorated and updated to ensure your stay is memorable. Guest rooms are temperature controlled, contain flat screened TV's and all those little extras you come to expect at a Luxury B&B. Come and enjoy a Gourmet Breakfast prepared fresh for you. Dietary concerns? Please let us know. All restriction are accommodated. We are walking distances to trendy boutique stores and delectable restaurants some along the waters edge. Close to Nickel Beach or the shores of Lake Erie sit and relax beside the water. Welland Canal is the longest lock system in the world where you can view the massive ships on their voyage from lake to lake. Come enjoy the ambiance of our community and our many summer festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Talwood Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talwood Manor B&B Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing