We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding quality, exceptional service, prime location at an affordable cost!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talwood Manor B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talwood Manor B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding quality, exceptional service, prime location at an affordable cost!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a gem, we stumbled upon, when cycling into this small and receptive community of Port Colborne! A feast for the eyes, upon walking into Talwood Manor and a "Just like home" feeling, especially when greeted by Judith, its gracious host. A healthy homemade breakfast, served with style, was exquisite, and fit for royalty. As was the sumptuous decor and surroundings. Bed and bath are squeaky clean and most comfortable, from the specially formulated bath salts for a hot bath after cycling, to the tea and cookies, before bedtime. This is the prime stop when cycling the Niagara-Welland loop, and most especially when you pull the lateral ligament in your left knee! Unable to continue our cycling trip, Judith immediately offered to drive us back to Niagara Falls where we had left our vehicle, to return to P. Colborne and load up the bikes into the car! Her generosity knows no bounds. She is kind at heart and a true Samaritan. Judith's energy and passion for all that Port Colborne has to offer in arts and culture, with its Art Crawl, music concerts and theatre, are contagious. We definitely plan to return to P. Colborne and unwind at Talwood Manor. Many thanks, Judith, for a memorable stay. Au revoir, et à bientôt! Sandra and Ugo xx

Room Tip: Excellent quality/price ratio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrat4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
105
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Talwood Manor after an event at the Roselawn Centre. Judith is a warm and gracious host, who took excellent care of my fellow guests and I. I stayed in the Tudor Room, which lives up to its name, as it has a king-sized canopy bed. The Tudor bathroom across the hall was large and luxurious. My fellow guests stayed in the Highlander Room which had its own bathroom. Smaller in size, it was slightly more intimate, with a large window. Coffee and tea supplies along with snacks were easily accessible in the upper hallway. In the main living area, the Victorian decor sets a wonderful stage with floral decor and lights. I had a lovely time reading English gardening magazines in the morning, drinking tea while waiting for my fellow guests to come down to breakfast. Judith had coconut quinoa porridge and fresh asparagus omelettes for us, along with a wide variety of teas and coffee, and a killer jam collection! I would highly recommend Talwood Manor. Judith made us feel like we were visiting friends.

Room Tip: While I enjoyed staying in the Tudor Room, if I were to go back, I'd want to stay in the Highlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at Talwood Manor! Judith made the BEST breakfast ever, so good i tried to make my own at home! The Manor is beautiful, and full of history and antiques. Also any question i had about the area, Judith knew exactly what to say! I would recommend to stay here and i know if i am ever in the area, it will be the place i stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EclypseBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Details Details Details. What a beautiful greeting the gardens are, the Parlour and Dining Room are impeccabily decorated (I especially enjoyed that candles glowing, even at breakfast) The rooms are beautifully themed and "equipped", fabulous baths and the refreshment table is a treat, right down to the china mugs adn cookies. No detail is missed...including you Judith, you are warm and welcoming. I will definetely stay with you when I am working in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd_12, Owner at Talwood Manor B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Sharon for your comments... Do hope to have you book again when in the area on business... I will certainly have another yummy breakfast chosen just for you! Warm Regards, Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

If quiet elegance and pampered details were king and queen then Talwood Manor would be their castle ! From the moment you walk through the unpretentious front door, you are surrounded by Judy's beautiful spirit of warmth and caring. Talwood Manor is not just a business to this dynamic woman, it is her life long dream and it is obvious in every effort to please and impress her customer. I left this B & B feeling like I had made a new friend and look forward to my next visit !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd_12, Owner at Talwood Manor B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Terri,
It was such a pleasure meeting you... Thank you sharing your thoughts on Talwood Manor B&B. Thrilled to know you enjoyed "The Manor" hope to hear from you soon do drop a line... Warm Regards, Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Back from a bike trip in the Niagara Peninsula, we can now confirm that Talwood Manor is truly the best B & B of the region. Judith is an attentionate, warm host, very accommodating. The whole house is exquisitely decorated; we appreciated the comfortable room and the spacious bathroom. The snack table near our room was a great idea. Loved the cookie jar. Breakfast was an experience in itself in a perfect decor. Well located, easily accessible by bike, this is THE place to stay when you travel in Port Colborne.

Room Tip: Truly appreciated the comfortable bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsdale, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Talwood Manor in March. I always stay here when I am in Port Colborne. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the owner is very accommodating. I especially liked the tea and snacks table just outside our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmwaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd_12, Owner at Talwood Manor B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you folks for your kind words... It was a pleasure have you stay once again! Warm Regards, Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Colborne
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
16.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Good Night Motel
Good Night Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Colborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
17.8 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 67 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
7.1 mi away
At Home Bed & Breakfast - Rose Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talwood Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talwood Manor B&B

Property: Talwood Manor B&B
Address: 303 Fielden Ave | ON, Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 4T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Colborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Colborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talwood Manor B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talwood Manor Luxury B&B is nestled in the heart of Port Colborne and directly across from Showboat Festival Theatre. Built by one of Port Colborne's prominent family in 1915,Talwood Manor retains much of it former grandeur along with spacious guest areas. We are open year round, complimentary beverages offered. Enjoy while relaxing in the Garden Gazebo, Screened Verandah or by the fire in the winter. Piano in-house for guest use or special events. Rooms are professionally decorated and updated to ensure your stay is memorable. Guest rooms are temperature controlled, contain flat screened TV's and all those little extras you come to expect at a Luxury B&B. Come and enjoy a Gourmet Breakfast prepared fresh for you. Dietary concerns? Please let us know. All restriction are accommodated. We are walking distances to trendy boutique stores and delectable restaurants some along the waters edge. Close to Nickel Beach or the shores of Lake Erie sit and relax beside the water. Welland Canal is the longest lock system in the world where you can view the massive ships on their voyage from lake to lake. Come enjoy the ambiance of our community and our many summer festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Talwood Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talwood Manor B&B Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing