We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE ON A GREAT NIGHT”

Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unique Dining experience along the Welland Canal with adjoining kitchen store. Two spacious hotel suites located above the restaurant. Daily Lunch & Dinner features, Featuring Local craft beers & Ontario Wines. Outside Patio overlooking the canal
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE ON A GREAT NIGHT”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My lady and I stopped in there before Downchild and April Wine hoping we could get a seat at this busy time. I had been there once with the boys a couple of years back, I'm from St Kitts so I don't wander into Port that often. She had heard about it on the radio a while back to I complied to her wishes. As luck had it there was an outside table for two and with the sun just going down it provided a beautiful setting along the canal. Our waitress was prompt, friendly and down to earth, just my kind of server. The drinks came quick, the order was taken and food delivered hot and both of us enjoyed our dinner. Would we go back? Yes? $5.00 draft someone said was too high? Well maybe, but in the big city that is still a deal. For ones that don't want to pay that much get a six pack at the LCBO and sit in your car..Leave room for us to sit down,,,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DKW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    77
    22
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Successful Canal Days”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Port Colborne's Canal Days and it was worth the four hour drive to get there! Although the restaurant was extremely busy, we were greeted right away and seated within five minutes. The staff was polite and worked very hard to be attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and served within a very reasonable time. We were very happy with the service, the staff and the atmosphere. We will definitely come back to Canalside again and again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great unique variety and fabulous view”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

we have been here several times, and we have never being disappointed with unique variety of daily special. The food is always served quickly and always fresh. The value is great for what you get. If you are looking for a nice place with a beautiful view of the canal, look no further.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishleigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TOURIST HICKS”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

So, there is a group of us that travelled over 4 hours to come to Canal Days. Our very first time coming to visit. So, are walking along and see Canalside, we go to have drink and then notice they have a cover charge. No band but a cover charge. We asked if we could just come in and have a drink and we asked why the cover charge. The man indicated (I believe he was the owner) because it was "going to be busy later". (In a nutshell we have lots of tourists here so we are going to get more money out of them). We asked how much a beer was and he said $5 for a draft. We said $5 for a draft? We said wow. He then rudely proceeded to say, "Are you American's (and this was as an insult) and we said no and then he proceeded to say "well they serve hicks at the bar down the street". Needless to say, our jaws dropped and of course they lost our business and us "hicks" when down the road to another bar and have a beer (no cover and $4 a draft). The funny part is us "hicks" just travelled as I said over 4 hours to visit Port Colborne and did I mention us "hicks" are also business owners ourselves. The other couple with us are in tourism as well. If any of my employee's ever said that to a customer, they would be fired so. Unfortunately, this gentleman has done a disservice to a community that likely survives a lot on the tourism industry. We will never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George17Canada, Owner at Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I have no problem with a negative review from a customer, as long as the customer is been totally honest with the public. This customer came to our establishment just as a band was getting ready to play. We always have a cover charge on canal days as we have to pay for extra staff, a band and security for the event. We also have a small restaurant therefore a cover controls the amount of people that come into the restaurant. I personally spoke to this customer when they asked about the price of a beer. The customer then proceeded to tell us that we are over charging as they pay $5 for a pitcher of beer, at that point I ask them if they were American as that is the only place were one would get a pitcher of beer for $5.00 during happy hour. They then informed me that they were not and took it as an insult. I am sorry to our American friends as I would of been insulting the Americans to lump them with these incredible rude and dishonest non-customers. We try our best to give a great experience to all customers but sometimes you can't please them all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Will return for beer, not food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Was at Canalside last year and it was ok. Returned this year when Canal Days festival was on and it was awful.
Service- poor. Waitress was on her first day, knew zero about the menu
Food- had to return fish and chips twice, as the fish was mushy and not done. My friend got the Angus burger and the outer was fine but the inside was pink.

We both ended up with a GI issue that Friday night.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondsandIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store also viewed

 
Port Colborne, Ontario
 
Port Colborne, Ontario
 

Been to Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing