We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We had a wonderful time with our kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shamrock Lodge to your Saves list
Shamrock Lodge
1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a wonderful time with our kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I usually never write reviews, but in this case I have to. We enjoyed our week at Shamrock Lodge. I would especially recommend it for anyone travelling with kids. The kids club kept our older daughter busy all day, she enjoyed a lot and made new friends. The staff as well as the other guests were very helpful and nice. I personally enjoyed trying out new things in this encouraging environment. I went for water skiing for the first time and sailing and enjoyed both of it. Last not least the food was excellent. This was the first but most probably not our last trip to Shamrock Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad you got to experience what Shamrock is really about - spending time as a family, feeling at home in the lodge, experiencing new things and making new friends.

We hope to see you back next summer to do it all over again!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    27
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
147
16
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I chose this place for our son and daughter who are in their preteens. They had an absolutely wonderful time and would love to go again. The staff are all wonderful and the food is amazing! Unfortunately, we found it to be overpriced. I wish other people who reviewed Shamrock also told you the following things:
1. You can tube or water ski once per day at selected times and $10 to do both
2. The pop is not free, it costs $1.75
3. There is a fridge in every room and 2 fans. You have to pay extra for a/c
4. If your kids want to go somewhere, its extra $ (Santas village, pottery)
5. All inclusive eating means you eat at 830, 12:30 and 6:30 (bring snacks cause you cant get anything to eat until the scheduled meal times)

Hope other people find the review helpful and we are giving information that we wished we had before booking this expensive getaway for 5 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad that your family had a great time and want to come back, but we're sorry you feel we are over-priced. Our rates are quite competitive with the few resorts in the area that still offer all meals and all of the amenities that are included in our packages. Meal times are set up at specific times to work around our kids club hours and the activities we have during the day. Evening entertainment is provided most nights at no cost to our guests but there are a few off-property events that do cost extra and that is always indicated on the sign up sheets so there are no surprises.

We hope you still found great value in your stay and hope you fondly remember the fun memories of your family vacation. We hope we get to see you next summer.

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent 10 (11) glorious days at the Shamrock with my husband and teenage daughters, plus a friend. This marks our 9th year traveling to the rustic family-owned lodge, that is a master at pampering the guests. Nestled in the woods with its own private beach, the “Shammy” has become a tradition for my family. Traveling from Buffalo is a breeze when attention is paid to time of departure (at dawn or dusk) to avoid heavy traffic often found on the 400. Strong friendships have been made over the years, such that we all attempt to re-book the same week for the following year and count the days until we can resume our bonfire chats, paddle-boarding on the lake, kayaking, water-skiing, moonlight cruises, and those competitive evening games of “Password!” Owners' Tim Bryant and his brother Gary, each bring something different to the lodge. Gary his attention to detail, and Tim the social director, work together to make the vacation experience relaxed, fun, and comfortable for everyone. Teens, tots, adults, grandparents; all are made to feel like they have come “home” to their summer cottage. With guests coming from all over the world to experience the Muskoka lifestyle, you will find yourself fitting in just perfectly, whether you want peace and quiet, or an exciting day in the water. And the best part for me_someone else does the cooking; three squares a day, delicious options for everyone. The kitchen works hard to prepare foods for those with any allergies, while offering gourmet dinner selections each night and “kid-friendly” foods as well. And probably my fondest memories: watching Tim teach first-timers how to water-ski and then, sometimes after multiple attempts, the look of sheer joy and pride after mastering the task. I could probably write a book about my wonderful adventures at The Shamrock Lodge, but better for you to call now and make a reservation for your next vacation. But beware, you will be hooked for life!

Room Tip: We stay in the Kelly house which is fabulous for a family and very private, right on the water. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review. We love that our guests feel like they are coming home to the cottage and are part of the family. That is what the Shammy is all about. We love connecting with our guests to help make lasting memories and, more importantly, lasting friendships.

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Shamrock first week of Aug. and cannot say enough good things about the people, place, food and staff. The Bryant family go out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. There is nightly entertainment for adults and kids. Daytime there is waterskiing, tubing, paddleboats ,canoes, kayaks and that is all included. The beach is beautiful with shallow water and a trampoline. The food is homemade comfort that we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is exceptional from the dining room to housekeeping. To show you how great this place is my husband and I asked our 18 year old son if maybe this is his last year because your getting too old and he replied "no way I'll never stop going to Shamrock" So see you next year which by the way will be our 10th year. Stayed in Pinewood 6. Beautiful view. Larry and Paula Klochko

Room Tip: You wake up to a beautiful view in Pinewood 6 every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klochkoklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It's nice to know that Shamrock is a tradition your son will never outgrow! We love that we have such a great group of guests that are excited to come back year after year and we always look forward to seeing you each summer. It's just too bad we have to wait so long between visits!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfhausen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed the first time in the Lodge. Especially our children had a wonderfull time. They did waterskiing for their first time and now they would like to do it in Switzerland too. Also the tubing was a real success.
What we missed is the possibility to dry the swimming cloths. There is nearly no place where you can dry them in your room. We also would prefer duvets for sleeping.
If we once will return to Canada the Lodge will be one of our visiting points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It was nice to have your family as our guests and glad the water-skiing was successful!! If you ever travel back to Canada we would be happy to have you back at Shamrock.

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to Shamrock for the past 10 years, and always had a great time. We have taken our overseas guests and their young chiidren from England and Switzerland. The trip to Shamrock has been the highlight of the holiday.The beach is safe and the water is shallow enough for younger kids to play in safely. Lots of fun with water skiing, tubing, and boating. The kids loved the nightly entertainment, especially the birds of prey and the fireworks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We're so glad your extended family enjoyed the lodge and got to see what a Muskoka holiday is truly about. We'll be excited to meet more of your family next year!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Shamrock Lodge, this was our ninth year in a row! The owners are friendly, accommodating and take extra care to ensure that their guests have everything they need. We stayed in one of the Driftwood cabins, which is spacious and easily accommodates our family of four. The activities for the kids certainly kept them busy, beginning with a terrific magician, a birds of prey show, trips into Port Sandfield on a pontoon boat for ice cream, a day outing to Santa's Village and Sportsland, an afternoon trip to a water park and to top it all off a fireworks show near the end of our stay. The location is perfect, with a sandy beach and a beautiful view of Lake Rosseau. It is also a few kilometres from Port Carling, which makes for a nice bike ride, run or walk. This family run lodge is a classic with caring and passionate owners, top-notch service and continues to be our favourite family holiday year over year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We're glad the personal touches and caring service keep you coming back year after year. That really is what we are all about. Being a smaller family run business really allows us to put our hearts into our jobs.

See you next year!
The Bryant family and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
18.4 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
16.8 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#2 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
23.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#1 of 2 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shamrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing