We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant family stay”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant family stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at Shamrock. A big thank you to Lynda and Tim for the warm welcoming and attention to detail all along the time we spent at their place. We really bonded as a family and it was in part thanks to their dedication. The place is very nice, rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Food was delicious! Thank you, chef. We definitely recommend this place as a winter getaway. Once again, thank you.

Room Tip: If you are on the lower floor, you can hear the steps upstairs from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGRMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are glad to hear you all bonded here as a family. This is what we are all about. Shamrock is a perfect place for family reunions,weddings and even corporate events. Being small and cozy gives each guest a feel of being at home. We also appreciate the comment on the stairs going up to the upper floor, we have coverd them with a thicker indoor outdoor carpet which has made them alot quieter for those staying near them. Thanks again for the nice comments you made. Hopefully more family's who need to connect more will come thanks to you.... Sincerly, Tim Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    32
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
177
20
1
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callander, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The staff at Shamrock Lodge are committed to making their customers happy. They are friendly and accommodating. I was especially impressed by the fresh fruit and warm muffins set at our table prior to our arrival for breakfast. They even gave us a discount because they felt that their amenities were not up to their standards??? My gf's and I had a great girls getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
This is what we need to hear, it is the little things that make a BIG difference. The staff are a huge part of our Lodge and without them we wouldn't have all these nice reviews our guests are sending to Trip Advisor. I was away when you and your group of Ladies came, and it was very nice to hear our staff did an Excellent job.... And as far as the meals goes here, we try very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their dinning experience. IAnd here at Shamrock Lodge the personal touch is a big part of our program. Say thanks to all the ladies and i hope to meet you all the next time you viisit... Sincerely, Tim Bryant......PS- The discount was given because i felt our X-country trails and ice rink was not up to the standards they usually are. Due to the snow storms back to back the days before your group arrived..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Last weekend Myself and 5 other friends..visited Shamrock Lodge for first time. The Staff were amazing and quite a accommodating, the food was fabulous, the accommodations were great...It was the best way for 6 mothers/wives to unwind and feel that we could relax. I HIGHLY recommend this lodge for those who are looking to getaway with their families or you just want to have your own Girls Getaway.... Thank you to the Bryant family and their hospitality you will be definitely seeing us again.

From the Crazy Ladies of Callander Ontario.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are very happy to hear your Girls Weekend Getaway was a success. We have a few other groups of Ladies that come each year for the same reasons. The Tree House cabin is perfect for a small number of people. Hopefully we can host you Ladies again. I will pass on the nice comments you made to our staff. On behalf of my family and staff we thank you for taking the time to write a reiview so nice on the Trip Advisor web site. This will hopefully help us attract more groups who are looking for that special time and place to get away..... Tim Bryant..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibadan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Mid-winter escape from southern Ontario, warm room, great food and service and on top of that fresh snow that made everything white, still and beautiful. Port Carling Winterfest was fun, bought a painting at a local gallery supporting Grandmothers for Africa and enjoyed x-country right from the lodge.

Many thanks to all the staff who made for a perfect winter get away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
A very nice and warm review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your winter getaway. Port Carling is a pretty little town any time of year. Hopefully more people will come to Muskoka to enjoy what it has to offer in the winter. It is a winter wonderland. Thanks again for your nice comments about our rooms and food we appreciate it very much. On behalf of our staff and family have a great rest of the winter and hope to see you again in the future... The Bryant family..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent Thanksgiving long weekend at the Shamrock Lodge. The property and serene setting are even more beautiful in person. The grounds are immaculate, the buildings are well maintained and the food divine. The lake was clean and clear ( you could see the bottom easily) and the surroundings quiet. This lakefront Lodge is charming and luxurious equally. The Bryant family and their staff are warm and friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay memorable. Lots to do and see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanksgiving is a very special time of the year. Quality family time is always a great time. It was nice to meet you and we love your pictures and the rainbow shot is going to go on our web site for sure. Thanks for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, The Bryant family...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and came across The Shamrock Lodge on Trip Advisor. Although it was off season, we went ahead and booked it.

What a great choice it was!! We loved every minute of our mini get-away. The lodge has a wonderful, warm, cozy feel to it and the cabin we stayed in (Kelly House) was amazing. The Bryant family are wonderful people that truly want you to enjoy your stay. They care very deeply about their guests and bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable during your stay. You really feel like a part of their family. Tim even took us on a private boat ride to show us around the beautiful lake.

The meals were excellent and the staff are just as wonderful. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked another stay with our whole family for next summer so our kids can enjoy The Shamrock Lodge as much as we did.

Even though we read that the Shamrock Lodge is an amazing place to come to in the summer....if you are looking for a Lodge up north in the off season to enjoy a quiet get-away, we highly recommend The Shamrock Lodge. The Bryants make sure that you get just as much enjoyment out of staying at their Lodge in the off season as you do in the summer.

Thank you very much to the Bryants and the staff for making our 10 year wedding anniversary a wonderful experience. We will recommend your beautiful lodge to everyone we know. We can't wait to come back with our kids next summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much Colleen for your nice review. Sometimes when people go away they like to have more people around. Since you came during the week and things were very quiet we were glad to hear you enjoyed you selves so much. And it was my pleasure to take you two on a tour of beautiful Lake Rosseau, I try to make sure who ever stays here gets a tour of the Lake. Their are some beautiful things to see and the cottages are amazing.......We look forward to your stay with the kids and again thanks for using Trip Advisor. Alot of people use Trip Advisor as a reference for their vacations. Sincerely, Tim Bryant....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited Shamrock Lodge for the first time this summer, and had a wonderful time. My husband and I loved the cozy, caring atmosphere (the owners actually care, and go out of their way to make sure you are having fun and are comfortable), the cottage (Kelly House), and the food. Our kids loved the water, the Kids Klub (including the ice cream boat cruise), and the magic show on our final night. We were especially impressed with how well the chef, sous-chef, and all the kitchen staff handled our son's food allergies (four anaphylactic allergies). We highly recommend Shamrock Lodge!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourBumblebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are so happy we were able to accommodate your son's food allergies and it was great that you felt comfortable enough for him to enjoy our Kids Klub too! Thank you very much visiting Shamrock and taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you back next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
322 reviews
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
249 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
10.3 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 55 in Muskoka District
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing