We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Else Compares!”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have never had a more enjoyable and relaxing holiday as we did at Shamrock Lodge, we all can't wait to return including our 2 boys, aged 9 and 12. There was so much to do or so little to do - it's up to you and the Byrants are so welcoming that you feel at home during your whole stay. I had thought the reviews I had read before going sounded a bit too good to be true - they're not, it really is that good and more! The food was always fabulous, the staff always brilliant, the surroundings always beautiful. Thank you to everyone at Shamrock for making this a holiday that may well mean all future holidays not taken at Shamrock will just not compare.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelsFamily186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Awww thanks for the wonderful and thoughtful review. Its great to see so many of our guests enjoy our property and better yet return year after year. Glad we were able to provide you with the perfect holiday. Hopefully we will see you and your family back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hi Everyone, I rairly write reviews, but le me tell you about this place. I have stayed everywhere, I am not the usual traveller, i dont care about cost, but rather how the experiance was. The JW Marriott, Clevlands House, private cottage rentals are all fine, but when you can sit and from 50 yards away and see the kids getting water skiing, tubing, water trampoline, paddle board, boat tours on a pontoon boat, and the most impressive is the staff know your names and the owners and brothers i believe Tim and Doug, now everyone.....extremely impressive. to boot, it all inclusive and no waiting, just ask and they will get you what you need. Awesome.
The facilty had what you need, indoor pool, nice food, clean and updated...just perfect holiday and what we needed. No schlepping, just enjoy.
When i go to the Muskoka's, I will only stay at the Shamrock from now on.

Nick

Room Tip: All rooms are good. small resort, so doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadal4k2n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our lodge, especially when you never do. Glad to see that you and your family had a great time here. It's nice to haev everything so close and be able to relax knowing your children are safe and having fun. Can't wait to have you back here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were only there for one night but the owner, Tim made us feel very welcome. The place was clean, our room (in the beechwood building) was small and a bit dated, but again clean and the bed was comfortable. We heard from other guests that staff were very good with kids - there were certainly lots of young kids there, and if we'd known that ahead of time, we might have chosen somewhere else. But all in all, we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneV095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Joanne, thanks for taking the time to write a review on my family's Lodge. Even if you only stayed the one night that says alot. We appreciate your nice words and hopefully you can stay longer on your next visit. thanks again on behalf of my family and staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just returned from a great 5 days at Shamrock Lodge. Everything from check-in to check-out was first rate. We were somewhat hesitant about travelling to a resort with our 2 year old, as we really did not want to be a burden on other guests if she was not on her best behaviour. The other guests were great and we were not the only family with young children there. The Bryants (Tim and Gary) are hands-on ambassadors that give the place that cottage feel. The daily tubing is a great touch that the young and not so young enjoy. The meals were excellent and Don and his kitchen staff prepared creative vegetarian meals for my wife that were not the usual pasta and veggies (my wife was very happy). The young staff are great and seem to really care about each guest's experience. The Kid's Klub/Tots Program is a great escape for both parents and children. Our daughter loved it (and so did we). I would just like to thank Tim, Gary and all of the Shamrock staff for a job well done, and for making us feel so welcome, see you again next summer (maybe a bit longer next year)!

The Gilroy's

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Techoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

So nice to hear the family had a great time. You have said the things people want to hear about a place like Shamrock Lodge. I let all the staff know about the nice comments families make on Trip Advisor. Some of the staff are past guests themselves. These individuals add alot of charm to our Kids klub and dinning room. We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully longer like you said. Thanks for taking the time to submit such a nice review we appreciate it very much...Tim Bryant and family and staff......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A perfect place, on Lake Rosseau, for the family. We visited in summer 2012 with 2 grandparents, 4 kids and in-law kids and 5 grandkids.

Shamrock Lodge knows exactly how to look after all three generations. So much so that the middle generation has booked already for next year 2013.

If you like the following take a trip, if not, don't:

Great food, great location, great beach for the grandkids, water sports, available boats of all powers, great entertainment, someone to look after the grandkids, nearby golf, nearby Port Carling, very friendly owners and staff, and a reasonable all in room rate.

Room Tip: Any one will work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clyde90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first visit to Shamrock and we will will return. Two grand sons - 5 and 8 had a wonderful time just "messing around in boats". Tim and the staff are so great with kids....patient and encouraging them to try different experiences and positive with any effort they show.
The waterfront is safe and can be easily observed so children can safely explore with a feeling of independence.
A relaxing time for all.Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our first time in Canada with 3 children (age 7, 9 and 12). Tim and Gary, the staff as well as the other guests made this holiday a great experience. Lots of activities for everyone and a beautiful location (lake with a sandy beach).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
264 reviews
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $119 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing