We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have been coming here for the past six years!”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have been coming here for the past six years!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We love the informal atmosphere coupled with the great food. the Bryant family make you feel right at home. The trip by boat around the lake is always a highlight. We book each year for our girls' getaway in May and have not been disappointed for the last six years. If you like the old Muskoka cottage atmosphere but with comfortable, up-to-date accommodations then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
A big Thanks to you all. We love all our repeat Guests who come back year after year. It tells us as owners that we are doing something right. The nice thing about it too is that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Thanks you my friends. Cheer's, Timmy B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
20
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

It was the "Girls Weekend" 6th year staying at the Shamrock. We had an amazing time. It met our expectations in every way. This family run business has everything .... great food, accommodation and as always very attentive staff. We feel just like one of the family. A 5 out of 5 in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShamrockGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have been coming to this resort for years. It is a family run lodge in the style of days past. It is a few miles in off the main road and the tranquility is wonderful. No blowing horns . . . just song birds in the morning and loons at night. Lots of activities or just putting your feet up to read a book. The home cooking is great but the owners, staff and service are what keeps us coming back every year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oreally7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have been taking our kids for a number of years.Great kids programs.Very relaxed atomosphere.Great food.Loads of activites-if you want to-plenty of sunny or shady spots if you don't.
Even an indoor pool for cooler or rainy days.
The setting is beautiful and the Bryants go out of thier way to make sure that you are comfortable.
So relaxing -the one family vacation that everyone looks foward to year after year!

Room Tip: There is a variety different style rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thanks for the great review. We are always want people to feel at home here at the Shamrock Lodge, and it is always nice to here comments like this. We look forward to your return in a couple months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The beauty of Shamrock is that they have remained small enough to provide you with the cozy family cottage feeling, and yet they are large enough that they have all the amenities you need. It is perfect for all members of the family, regardless of age, there is always something to do, and it is all being done amidst the pristine beauty of Muskoka!~ The water is crystal clear and clean, the beach is hard packed sand bottom, and the staff are amazingly knowledgable, helpful and friendly! I ask my kids every year where they want to vacation, and no matter what options I present them with, they always choose to return to Shamrock Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DFallavollita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a fantastic resort for a relaxed family vacation. You can be as active or lazy as you want. The kids had a great time: made new friends and were busy the whole week. This year we offered them a choice of going back to Disney World or going back to Shamrock Lodge. Without hesitation, they picked Shamrock.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We enjoyed 4 nights at Shamrock. We have two sons ages 5 and 7. This is an amazing gem of a place. The surroundings and lake are beautiful. A great beach with plenty of sand toys for the kids. A water trampoline with a plunge that keeps the kids having a ball for hours. Kayaks, canoe's, peddle boats. Tubing and waterskiing every day included in your rate, (one run pp, $10 extra after). Pontoon boat rides. Tennis, little playgrounds. Kids club staff were fantastic with a visit to nearby Santa's Village to boot! Food was by far the best that we have had at a resort. Campfires with roasted marshmellows at night. This is a family run lodge and you feel it every day. Tim and Gary go out of their way to make sure that you are having a great time.
Thank you for the amazing getaway. We look forward to visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dancersmomToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, and we see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.3 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing