We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed: Poor Service & Value”

Loondocks Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fresh and local fine dining in the heart of Muskoka.
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Disappointed: Poor Service & Value”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We chose Loondocks for our anniversary dinner because of the great reviews & outdoor seating. We reserved a table on the patio 2 weeks prior & were pleased when the chef/owner replied to our request thanking us for choosing his restaurant for our special occasion.

When we arrived, we told the hostess of our reservation & were seated inside in a dark, cramped corner despite the restaurant being empty. We asked to sit outside as we had reserved. We were told that there was only room outside in the uncovered section & we would lose our inside table if it rained. We were then seated on the lower tier of the patio which has a beautiful view of the locks & comfortable plush seating.

The menu had a good selection of food to suit any taste. We ordered the fresh spring rolls to share. They were tasty but extremely small! We were given three 1"x4" rolls for $12! I ordered the maple trout which was fresh but bland. However, I enjoyed the butternut puree, carrots, & maple merlot reduction that accompanied it. My spouse was underwhelmed by the duck. We then ordered dessert; the creme brulee was basic & very small for $7. I wasn't told what the flavor of the day was & couldn't taste it either. My husband enjoyed his cheesecake.

Our bill was over $100 not including drinks. The food was good but not great. The portions were small & we felt that the value was poor. We were not impressed by how we were greeted. We won't be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKevin99, Owner at Loondocks Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your comments and I am very sorry you were dissapointed on your anniversary. We strive to provide excellent service and value to every guest on every night. Unfourtunatly we have a small dining room, with only 8 tables inside, and are therefor at the mercy of the weather. We cannot reserve two tables for our guests "in case" it rains (one inside and one outside). That would be like asking an airline to hold both the aisle and window seat depending on the view. We try our best to make sure your experience is not ruined by the weather, that is why you were initially sat inside on that day. I am glad you enjoyed most of your meal. Our spring rolls are $11 and are hand rolled every day with fresh cut vegetables and garnishes, accompanied by a hand made peanut sauce with peanut butter made from scratch. Unfourtanlty I would be losing money if I were to charge less. In any event we are here to serve you, had you made your server aware of your impressions we would have taken steps to make you happy. I am truly sorry your anniversary experience was not a positive one. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future for a 5 star dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    40
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect Muskoka evenings.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

An evening at Loondocks is a essential Muskoka experience. The setting (overlooking the locks in Port Carling) sets a perfect atmosphere for relaxing with friends on the patio with a drink and a great meal. It is clear that everyone who works there really cares about the restaurant and it's patrons. Our server paid close attention to detail, even remembering us the second time we visited and was efficient and friendly.

The food itself is very unique. The Chef clearly pays close attention to detail and brings together winning combinations using fresh and local ingredients. DEFINITELY try the Muskoka salad to start (got it both times...amazing). Make a reservation before you go, the patio especially fills up fast every night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over rated,”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was just okay. Over rated over prised small portions. We had appetisers and main coarses and we both left hungry. We had reservations for 6:30 pm arrived around 6:00 on Saturday the place was practically empty. We asked for patio and we were told that there was no room, I asked if they had reservations for 8:00 that we would be done in an hour. We left 7:00 to 7:15 the place was not even half full including the patio. Staff was not accommodating, would never go back or recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKevin99, Owner at Loondocks Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry you did not get to sit outside. Our patio in one of the best dining vistas in Muskoka, and does fill up, often several weeks in advance. We recomend calling well before and not waiting until the day of, especially on a Saturday in August. We do not "flip tables" here as often our guests like to relax and enjoy the experience for several hours; therefor a reserved table is held for the entire night, regardless of the time. In response to your comments regarding value: I am confident you will not find comparable fine dining at a better price. Our prices are very low considering the quality of the ingredients and preperation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So Nice”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Location, view, food, service.
They were all excellent.
Nice find in Port Carling.
Innovative and tasty food preparation.
Sit on the Patio if you get the chance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot. Great for gluten free diners”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Been there four times. Never disappointed. Great ambience. Lovely food. Ignore the people that say the food portions are too small. They are just right. Great spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loondocks Restaurant also viewed

Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Rosseau, Northeastern Ontario
Minett, Muskoka District
 

Been to Loondocks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing