We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful visit but too short” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit but too short”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were part of an overnight cruise to Sherwood Inn on the Muskoka Lake steamer. On the final leg of our cruise to Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn staff came aboard to greet us, and give us our room assignment plus book our dinner reservations. We arrived at 6:00 sharp (as scheduled), and just as we docked the skies opened. We were warmly greeted by resort staff handing out umbrellas. Our luggage arrived via two friendly hotel staff, who hauled it up the wet shore all the way to our warm dry room. After freshening up in our room we headed for the diningroom, to a wonderfully served meal, with a taste to match. Our morning started with a tasty buffet breakfast, and a hot stone massage for my better half. The pampering continued. Lunch was served in the wine cellar, and it too was superb. After a leisurely stroll around the property, it was back to the Winonah II for our return to Gravenhurst. It was a misty send off but the entire staff of Sherwood Inn stood on the dock and waved a fond farewell as we left. To sum up our brief stay at the Sherwood....it was too brief to enjoy everything the resort had to offer. We will definitely return again, soon, perhaps by land, and definitely for a longer stay. This is a very relaxing place nestled in the trees, and it would be exactly what the doctor would order if he or she had ever been there.

Room Tip: The beach is not a huge sandy lounging beach but a small sandy lakeside place to relax and take a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelBUG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Travelbug1953,

Thank you for your raving review following your overnight cruise to our resort aboard the Wenonah 2.
I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy everything that our resort had to offer.

It is nice to see that the efforts of my staff get recognized as they are all very passionate of our resort and all are eager to welcome and offer farewell to the ship and its passengers every time it sails to our dock.
It really epitomizes our motto " come as guests ; leave as family".
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you home by "land, Lake or air" for that extended stay with us in the near future.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    95
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
42
184
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a two week stay in Ontario, aiming to relax after a busy time in Toronto. We certainly managed that, staying in a lovely part of Muskoka. The hotel is perhaps 6 or 8 minutes drive from Port Carling and ideally suited to exploring Lakes Joseph, Rousseu and Muskoka. We couldn't fault the lake side location with access to a nice beach area with canoes etc to use. Our room in the main Inn was a good size and was nicely decorated. Our only complaint was noise late at night - it was almost as if the restaurant staff turned up the music there once all the guests had gone to bed and they were tidying up.

Some of the reception staff seemed a bit curt but everyone else was very friendly and cheery.

We ate dinner in the lounge once and in the restaurant twice. The food was very nice although the menu didn't change during our time there - if you were there for more than a couple of nights you'll probably want to eat out (although there aren't many alternatives close by). Serving staff were very helpful but things seemed to grind to a halt when they were busy, it did sometimes take a long time to get food.

The lounge was very nice with a small bar and TVs showing the Blue Jays losing... :-( but it was surprising quiet - everyone seemed to eat and head off to bed early. The fire pit outside the front door was a nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Mostly Edinburg,

Tnank you for completing a detailed review following your 5 night stay with us in an inn room at the resort.

I was pleased to read about your overall pleasant experience during your stay.
Thank you for bringing your noise concern to our attention as well as the curtness of some of our reception staff. We have indeed rectified the loud music concern with some new procedures as well as coached the reception staff. I apologize for these shortcomings.

Our menu does not change on a weekly basis other than the daily soup. We do offer variety through the combination of the main dinner menu as well as a more casual lounge menu and both are available to all diners in both lounge and the dining room.

We appreciate your feedback and long stay business with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My adult daughter, myself and her small/medium sized dog stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014. The location was awesome, we walked the trail, swam in beautiful Lake Joseph, jumped off the raft and took our dog to an out of the way spot to swim to her heart's delight. The room was fabulous, the food was exceptional, the staff was superior and the locale couldn't be beat. We loved our stay! Thank you Sherwood Inn!

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was fabulous, very clean, close to the water. Limited rooms for small to medium si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskokaHoliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear MuskokaVcacation1

I was delighted to read about your all-round positive stay with us with your adult daughter and your dog.
So great to see that everything worked out for your Muskoka getaway with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities as well as the nature.

Hope we get to see you return to Muskoka in the near future.


Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the August 2014 long weekend, and we thought the Inn was beautiful. Overall, we would stay here again, but here are some thoughts:

**ROOM**
We stayed as part of the Inn rooms (not the cottages), and although the room was small, it was functional and was kept nicely. Rooms in the Inn can get loud though (as our particular room was on top of the dining room area and facing the deck/outdoor patio area).

**AMENITIES**
Steps away, you can enjoy the nice clean beach. There are many beach chairs, and plenty of water activities to do including canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddling, etc. Close by was a tennis court and bonfire pit. The bonfire requires reservations, so if you plan on going, then book this early. The grounds are absolutely stunning and well-kept, however they're not extensive grounds, so you can walk the grounds in a matter of 15 minutes. If you do not know Lake Joseph, it's a very beautiful lake in the Muskoka region. Just be advised that it's a busy lake with lots of cottages around with much water traffic (including (speed) boats, jetskis, etc).

**RESTAURANT**
We ate at the Inn restaurant for dinner and it was satisfactory. I wasn't impressed with the service, as it took 15 minutes for our waitress to greet us after we sat down. The food was also good but not amazing. My husband had the fish, while I had the steak. Both items were cooked well, but the items themselves did not have much flavouring. The next day, we had the buffet lunch, and we thought the same! The chicken, fish and hamburgers were cooked well but not much flavour. Based on the price, we did expect better, though overall it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Inn rooms, request a room that is not on top of the dining area or the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear buyzz,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us in August.
I was delighted to read about your overall positive stay with us.
I was sorry to learn that you weren't " blown away" by our food and service and found the flavors lacking at both lunch buffet and the dinner dishes.

We have two bonfire pits at the resort, the one in the front of the inn that is always going is open for all guests and the one by the water is by reservations only for groups, weddings and larger family gatherings by appointment only. Given its more remote location and proximity to the water it is governed by local fire and noise bylaws, unlike the one in front of the inn that has a daytime burn permit.

We appreciate your business and candid feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon in Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had seen the Sherwood Inn well revised and stopped by for lunch.

We sat outside with a view of Lake Joseph and shared a charcuterie appetizer, followed by a shared fish and chips.

Both were excellent and we were impressed with the generosity of the portion sizes.

We lingered in the grounds and sat on Muskoka chairs by the waters edge, shaded by trees. A good way to digest!

We were so taken both with the charm of the location and the equally charming servers, that we are very seriously thinking about staying in the Inn for a few days next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angl0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Angl0canadian,

Thank you for writing a review following your positive lunch experience at our resort this summer.

We hope that you will return for that overnight stay that you are contemplating next year as we would love to have you back at the resort as a guest.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My friends and I stayed over for one night before participating in a triathlon in Bala. We were charged $394.37 for one night without breakfast. Realizing the cost I expected an exceptional Maplewood room and although it has been renovated the building is still very dated. The air condidioner is terribly noisy to the point where we turned it off. There was some construction being done in other units and materials were left lying around making it unsightly and potentially dangerous for children. I did point this out to the desk staff who duly noted our concerns. The setting is beautiful but the hotel portion of the facility could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Joanne M,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found the overall setting of our resort beautiful , and sound like you didn't have enough time to enjoy everything the resort has to offer due to your participation in the event in Bala.

Our Maplewood Building has gone through three years of renovations from bathroom renovation with granite counters, to lighting, drapery and soft goods as well as all new furniture.
The last leg of this renovation was the 12 balconies overlooking the lake and they are being re-decked with a Duradeck membrane and new railings and we simply ran out of time and good weather to get the balconies completed before the summer high occupancy levels at the resort.
I apologize for the look of the construction debris on the lower entrance deck and this has been cleaned and rectified.
Thank you for pointing out the noisy AC unit to us; it indeed had a malfunctioning drain assembly unit that has been corrected and it is now operating correctly with much less noise.

We appreciate your feedback and comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka so you can experience the true resort experience that we are accustomed to deliver to all of our guests.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked the inn for a peaceful break whilst in Canada and to celebrate my birthday. We had very little peace especially at night due to there being conferences at the hotel. We had a great room but it was above the lounge and over the entrance. The fire pit outside the entrance was supposed to finish by 11:30 pm but it didn’t. One night my wife went to reception at 1:30am to complain by which time she had had too much of it. Amazingly I had fallen asleep. Too tied from being kept awake the previous night. We had complained before. The noise below in the lounge was also disturbing in the evenings. We had planned to celebrate my birthday with a good meal in the restaurant but with all the disturbances drove ½ hour or so to find somewhere else. We celebrated with coke instead of a good wine.
Staff were platitudinous with their glib apologies but did not seem really concerned.
I wrote to their corporate headquarters a month ago but have not even received an acknowledgement of my letter.
If you want a quiet place to stay make sure there are no group events here. Otherwise find somewhere else. It could be an excellent facility but is spoilt for the holiday makers by corporate functions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in late June.
I am sorry your stay was spoiled by rowdy conference groups and late night fire pit activity.

In retrospect we should have re-located you to another part of the resort for some peace and quit that you were looking for in the first place.
We have received your letter that you sent to our office and have responded to you under a separate cover.

Once gain we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the two corporate groups on site and I can assure we have taken measures to guide our night staff to be more vigilant to guest noise concerns and to react better to remedy the situation before the guests leave our property.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and my sincere apologies for not being able to deliver the dream vacation that you were looking to spend at our resort.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#2 of 3 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
24.2 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#17 of 54 in Muskoka District
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a year round retreat unlike any other. •Located on Lake Joseph •Resort wedding destination •In house wedding & group catering services •Muskoka resort vacation packages •Onsite health spa •Conference, meeting, retreat & reunion facilities •Option to golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect from a Muskoka hotel. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round, Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns, the Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph in beautiful Muskoka, Ontario! Visit us once. Love us forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing