We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very happy with Sherwood Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very happy with Sherwood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

My adult daughter, myself and her small/medium sized dog stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014. The location was awesome, we walked the trail, swam in beautiful Lake Joseph, jumped off the raft and took our dog to an out of the way spot to swim to her heart's delight. The room was fabulous, the food was exceptional, the staff was superior and the locale couldn't be beat. We loved our stay! Thank you Sherwood Inn!

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was fabulous, very clean, close to the water. Limited rooms for small to medium si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskokaHoliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear MuskokaVcacation1

I was delighted to read about your all-round positive stay with us with your adult daughter and your dog.
So great to see that everything worked out for your Muskoka getaway with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities as well as the nature.

Hope we get to see you return to Muskoka in the near future.


Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    99
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
188
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the August 2014 long weekend, and we thought the Inn was beautiful. Overall, we would stay here again, but here are some thoughts:

**ROOM**
We stayed as part of the Inn rooms (not the cottages), and although the room was small, it was functional and was kept nicely. Rooms in the Inn can get loud though (as our particular room was on top of the dining room area and facing the deck/outdoor patio area).

**AMENITIES**
Steps away, you can enjoy the nice clean beach. There are many beach chairs, and plenty of water activities to do including canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddling, etc. Close by was a tennis court and bonfire pit. The bonfire requires reservations, so if you plan on going, then book this early. The grounds are absolutely stunning and well-kept, however they're not extensive grounds, so you can walk the grounds in a matter of 15 minutes. If you do not know Lake Joseph, it's a very beautiful lake in the Muskoka region. Just be advised that it's a busy lake with lots of cottages around with much water traffic (including (speed) boats, jetskis, etc).

**RESTAURANT**
We ate at the Inn restaurant for dinner and it was satisfactory. I wasn't impressed with the service, as it took 15 minutes for our waitress to greet us after we sat down. The food was also good but not amazing. My husband had the fish, while I had the steak. Both items were cooked well, but the items themselves did not have much flavouring. The next day, we had the buffet lunch, and we thought the same! The chicken, fish and hamburgers were cooked well but not much flavour. Based on the price, we did expect better, though overall it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Inn rooms, request a room that is not on top of the dining area or the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear buyzz,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us in August.
I was delighted to read about your overall positive stay with us.
I was sorry to learn that you weren't " blown away" by our food and service and found the flavors lacking at both lunch buffet and the dinner dishes.

We have two bonfire pits at the resort, the one in the front of the inn that is always going is open for all guests and the one by the water is by reservations only for groups, weddings and larger family gatherings by appointment only. Given its more remote location and proximity to the water it is governed by local fire and noise bylaws, unlike the one in front of the inn that has a daytime burn permit.

We appreciate your business and candid feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon in Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had seen the Sherwood Inn well revised and stopped by for lunch.

We sat outside with a view of Lake Joseph and shared a charcuterie appetizer, followed by a shared fish and chips.

Both were excellent and we were impressed with the generosity of the portion sizes.

We lingered in the grounds and sat on Muskoka chairs by the waters edge, shaded by trees. A good way to digest!

We were so taken both with the charm of the location and the equally charming servers, that we are very seriously thinking about staying in the Inn for a few days next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angl0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Angl0canadian,

Thank you for writing a review following your positive lunch experience at our resort this summer.

We hope that you will return for that overnight stay that you are contemplating next year as we would love to have you back at the resort as a guest.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My friends and I stayed over for one night before participating in a triathlon in Bala. We were charged $394.37 for one night without breakfast. Realizing the cost I expected an exceptional Maplewood room and although it has been renovated the building is still very dated. The air condidioner is terribly noisy to the point where we turned it off. There was some construction being done in other units and materials were left lying around making it unsightly and potentially dangerous for children. I did point this out to the desk staff who duly noted our concerns. The setting is beautiful but the hotel portion of the facility could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Joanne M,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found the overall setting of our resort beautiful , and sound like you didn't have enough time to enjoy everything the resort has to offer due to your participation in the event in Bala.

Our Maplewood Building has gone through three years of renovations from bathroom renovation with granite counters, to lighting, drapery and soft goods as well as all new furniture.
The last leg of this renovation was the 12 balconies overlooking the lake and they are being re-decked with a Duradeck membrane and new railings and we simply ran out of time and good weather to get the balconies completed before the summer high occupancy levels at the resort.
I apologize for the look of the construction debris on the lower entrance deck and this has been cleaned and rectified.
Thank you for pointing out the noisy AC unit to us; it indeed had a malfunctioning drain assembly unit that has been corrected and it is now operating correctly with much less noise.

We appreciate your feedback and comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka so you can experience the true resort experience that we are accustomed to deliver to all of our guests.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked the inn for a peaceful break whilst in Canada and to celebrate my birthday. We had very little peace especially at night due to there being conferences at the hotel. We had a great room but it was above the lounge and over the entrance. The fire pit outside the entrance was supposed to finish by 11:30 pm but it didn’t. One night my wife went to reception at 1:30am to complain by which time she had had too much of it. Amazingly I had fallen asleep. Too tied from being kept awake the previous night. We had complained before. The noise below in the lounge was also disturbing in the evenings. We had planned to celebrate my birthday with a good meal in the restaurant but with all the disturbances drove ½ hour or so to find somewhere else. We celebrated with coke instead of a good wine.
Staff were platitudinous with their glib apologies but did not seem really concerned.
I wrote to their corporate headquarters a month ago but have not even received an acknowledgement of my letter.
If you want a quiet place to stay make sure there are no group events here. Otherwise find somewhere else. It could be an excellent facility but is spoilt for the holiday makers by corporate functions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in late June.
I am sorry your stay was spoiled by rowdy conference groups and late night fire pit activity.

In retrospect we should have re-located you to another part of the resort for some peace and quit that you were looking for in the first place.
We have received your letter that you sent to our office and have responded to you under a separate cover.

Once gain we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the two corporate groups on site and I can assure we have taken measures to guide our night staff to be more vigilant to guest noise concerns and to react better to remedy the situation before the guests leave our property.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and my sincere apologies for not being able to deliver the dream vacation that you were looking to spend at our resort.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We boarded the Wenonah II at Gravenhurst and sailed to the Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph and stayed overnight, having dinner, breakfast and lunch for one price. Great Experience. I had this trip bookmarked for several years and finally was successful this summer - 2014. I hoped to sail on the steamship, Royal Mail Ship Segwun, North America’s oldest operating steamship, but will have to wait until the next trip. The overnight stay was super! Excellent meals!! I had the East Indian Spiced & grilled Lamb Sirloin with Port Poached Pears for dessert. My wife had the Manitoulin Island Rainbow Trout and the Muskoka Maple Creme Brulee for dessert. Presentation was excellent and taste was superb! The staff was very helpful!!

Room Tip: We had room 615 - right next to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wagsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Wagsix,

Thank you for writing a glorious review following your overnight stay with us as part of the Wenonah Cruise to our resort.
I was delighted to read about your all around positive experience with your room, meals and the service of the Sherwood team.
Perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Inn aboard the Segwun next summer.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from The Sherwood Inn. We know it well; we were fortunate to spend many summers at our family cottage on Lake Joseph . Our stay at The Sherwood was only a couple of days, but the experience will last much longer. We were pleased to stay in one of the many accommodations right on Lake Joseph. It just dosen't get any better than this! A longed for swim in pristine Lake "Joe"; the spectacular view of the lake from the main dock; a delightful BBQ lunch on the lawn: …and romantic dinner in the beautifully appointed lakeside dining room all made our stay memorable. I must add that the staff truly made us feel as if we were "coming home" to a place our hearts never left. Thanks to all…Esa and my new friend Dan…you made our year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 293Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear 293Maureen,

Thank you for your review on July 23rd following your stay at our resort.
I was pleased to read that your "home coming" to Lake Joseph was a pleasant one, and that you had chosen our resort as your stay destination.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back "home" to Sherwood Inn when you travels bring you back to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
17.9 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
16.8 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
21.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing