We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Coming Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coming Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from The Sherwood Inn. We know it well; we were fortunate to spend many summers at our family cottage on Lake Joseph . Our stay at The Sherwood was only a couple of days, but the experience will last much longer. We were pleased to stay in one of the many accommodations right on Lake Joseph. It just dosen't get any better than this! A longed for swim in pristine Lake "Joe"; the spectacular view of the lake from the main dock; a delightful BBQ lunch on the lawn: …and romantic dinner in the beautifully appointed lakeside dining room all made our stay memorable. I must add that the staff truly made us feel as if we were "coming home" to a place our hearts never left. Thanks to all…Esa and my new friend Dan…you made our year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 293Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear 293Maureen,

Thank you for your review on July 23rd following your stay at our resort.
I was pleased to read that your "home coming" to Lake Joseph was a pleasant one, and that you had chosen our resort as your stay destination.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back "home" to Sherwood Inn when you travels bring you back to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    95
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
43
184
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I escaped Toronto to this lovely, rustic resort for a golf long weekend. Upon registration, we knew that this was the place going to be perfect for us.

Service - extra special services. All staff was pleasant, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had every we desired. Our personal favourite experience, was as we dined one evening and the server was a local resident, Sarah (way find:) and the French service was delivered like a seasoned pro. After dinner, evening s'mores by the bonfire = yummy and unexpected.

Room - so close to luxury, but the small plastic enclosed shower fails that claim. Tub is too die for! The bed is very comfortable. Balcony (even under construction) was lovely with great view, however better outdoor entertain furniture would extend the experience. There are two patio chairs, but a table would have been the extra.

Grounds - lovely and perfect. make sure you borrow the kayaks and say hello to the resident loons. The grounds and staff are constantly maintaining this resort, and it seems that they are making many updates at this time. Upon returning from golf one afternoon, I was looking forward to a nap before dinner. Our building was having some nailing and construction, and I went downstairs and politely asked if they could find something quiet to do for the next 30 minutes. Not surprisingly, they smiled and quickly switched tasks.

I'd highly recommend this resort for any couple looking to escape to nature and while there, have excellent service with yummy food experiences.

Room Tip: Premium Maplewood room #534 is the best location for end suite and top level view. Wood burning fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeriCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TeriCanada,

Thank you for selecting our resort for your and your husband's escape from the city.
I was delighted to learn that most aspects of your stay were exceptional. Nice to see that Sarah's service in the dining room met your expectations.

We are indeed working tirelessly to enhance our amenities on a continual basis, and the Maplewood building renovations are almost complete with the last four balconies scheduled to be finished this week. Thank you for understanding our work crew's schedules and glad to see that we were able to accommodate your requests to try to keep any disputations to our guests stay to the absolute minimum.

Nice to see that our staffs attention to detail is appreciated and we really value your feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka again in the near future.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
350 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place is great, I loved the fire out front and we got room 208 which i highly recommend. The staff is great and the location is excellent as well. We did a Muskoka steam ship cruise and then over night here it was fantastic

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanTravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive comments following your visit to our resort.
I was pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your overnight cruise on the Wenonah, the Muskoka fleet ship, to our resort last Wednesday. Its only fitting that since we are celebrating our 75th anniversary this year that we have been able to resurrect the old fashion way of traveling to Muskoka resorts by steam ships, which used to be the only way to reach the grand resorts on the lakes until roads were built. So glad you had an opportunity to join us.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Sherwood Inn is an older Muskoka Resort with a fabulous chef, Everett Bell! He will always
surprise you with an assortment of unique mouthwatering delicacies at every course. My sister
and I had two dinners and two breakfasts. The dinner were superb and wonderful tasting. My
first night was Rainbow trout done to perfection melted in my mouth and I even ate the skin it
was tasty!! My next dinner was Venison. This was a special night for we had a personal
demonstration of our meals being prepared & cooked by Evert in his kitchen. My sister had
Pickeral. Both meals we will remember fondly and will bring us back next year to enjoy again.
The triple chocolate dessert was decadent which we shared and loved. He really is a wonderful
chef ; friendly & knowledgeable. Our stay was one to remember!!! Mary-Lou & Sister

Room Tip: The cottages on the shoreline are great! With beautiful views and easy access to lake & beach &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mary-Lou D,

Thank you for your splendid and detailed review following your and your sister gourmet getaway to our resort and Chef Bell's Kitchen.
Everett is truly one of a kind culinarian and I was very pleased to read that you had an opportunity to interact with him on a very hands on and personal; basis.
we look forward to welcoming you both back to the resort when you want to engage on your next "northern culinary adventure".

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was such a gorgeous day on July 4th so my boyfriend and I decided to get out of the city. We booked a Premium Maplewood Room. We had the last room at the end of the hall on the top floor with a view of the lake. We got there at around 5pm and we were checked in right away. The sunset by the lake was simply stunning. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to return again.

I do have a few suggestions for the possible improvement of the property: Our room AC was VERY loud and rattled to the point where it had to be turned off so we could sleep. Luckily it was a cool evening so we had the sliding door to our balcony open all night. It has a screen so no issues there. Second: The tennis court seems dated and personally a waste of space on the property. A nice sitting area with a garden would be a much better use of this space.

Overall the rest of the property is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in a premium Maplewood Room.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting some nice pictures about our recently renovated balconies and the room in general.

I have followed up on your comment on the AC units and it is operating in a normal fashion. Those P-tac AC units unfortunately are somewhat noisy due to their design and the proximity of the compressor of the unit right outside of the balcony.

Your comment on the tennis court is also valid. However we have recently painted the fence posts around the enclosure that now looks brand new .The winters in Muskoka with the constant freeze thaw cycles are not kind to the rubberized finish on the tennis court surface and we have scheduled the resurfacing of the court for next spring 2015. We do have ample garden areas as well as natural areas close to the lake for lounging a seating on our 12.5 acres.

I appreciate your feedback and we value your business and hope to see you return to our resort when your travels next spring you to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Inn is beautifully tucked away against the shore of Lake Joseph. Its Celebrating 75 years this year and the property is very mature. We had a small and cozy room in the Inn that has been updated to include flat screen TV, Nicely appointed and modern en suite, linens and bedding are luxurious and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very nice and we did enjoy a very relaxed evening in the dining room. Service was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ideal for couples and adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sceezicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room at the inn along with the bedding and en suite bathroom as well as the dining room our cuisine and service by our fabulous staff.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka again very soon.

Best EJP
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My sister and I stayed in a lovely cottage, Pinewood West overlooking the main dock with a nice front balcony and Muskoka chairs to lounge in and watch the sun set.
We had a quiet canoe paddle on beautiful Lake Joseph our first night.
Our dinners in the Inn's Restaurant were amazing! Chef Everett Bell has put together a varied and flavourful menu. I ate the Blackened Catfish which was wonderfully spiced and flakey. The Lake Trout was so tasty my sister ate every morsel of the fish and all the skin, too. The sides of crisp veggies and mashed potatoes with wild leeks were perfect.
The second night, Chef Everett Bell gave us a cooking demonstration in his immaculate and well-organized kitchen. Everett clearly explained how to prepare his venison with blackberry & Bourbon sauce. Plus he gave us tips on how to cook Lake Erie pickerel without the skin shrinking. Everett's easy instruction and friendly manner made the entire demo delightful. The best part was my sister and I were able to eat the scrumptious entrees Everett showed us how to prepare. Believe me there was not a morsel left on our plates! Try Everett's Chocolate Trio or Poached Pear for dessert, they are to die for! I would enthusiastically recommend a visit to Sherwood Inn. Beautiful setting and fantastic food!

Room Tip: Our cottage was great with a small jacuzzi tub and a very comfortable king size bed. The view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Terry R,

Thank you for writing a review following your and your sisters stay with us this past week.
I was delighted to read about your great dining experiences at the resort as well as your interaction with chef Everett and his kitchen.
He is truly a fantastic Epicurean and really enjoys engaging our guests in his kitchen environment.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Pinewood West cottage and that you had an overall pleasant stay with us.

We hope to see you return back soon to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#2 of 3 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
24.2 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#16 of 54 in Muskoka District
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a year round retreat unlike any other. •Located on Lake Joseph •Resort wedding destination •In house wedding & group catering services •Muskoka resort vacation packages •Onsite health spa •Conference, meeting, retreat & reunion facilities •Option to golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect from a Muskoka hotel. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round, Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns, the Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph in beautiful Muskoka, Ontario! Visit us once. Love us forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing