We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent In Every Way!”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not too big, and not too small, Sherwood Inn is just right for a break in the Muskoka Lakes area. Alongside Lake Joseph, with stunning views, the Inn is comfortable and homely. The staff are pleasant and helpful, and the dining room provides first-class cuisine from a clearly dedicated chef. The inhouse Spa is worth a visit. The Inn is just a two-hours drive from Toronto. Bracebridge and Gravenhurst are 20-30 minutes drive away and offer old-world charm with great lake views.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter10012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your visit to the Sherwood Inn and your accolades of "Excellent in every aspect".
Very pleased to read that we were the right spot for your getaway.

Great to hear about your approval of our cuisine; Everett Bell our Chef de Cuisine is definitely a dedicated culinarian and we are privileged to have him at the helm of our kitchen.

Hope to see you return back soon to our resort on Muskoka's Lake Joseph.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

SHERWOOD INN, MUSKOKA, CANADA ....REVIEW. September 2013

Sherwood inn is an older tradition resort with cottage like buildings spread over several acres with a small beach, watercraft and docks with muskoka chairs

Many of the rooms have been updated with a fireplace, premium linens and a whirlpool bath. Our third floor room overlooked the lake. There is no elevator.

Food is above average with a vast selection of items on the breakfast buffet including premium coffee, eggs Benedict and many pastries or they will cook to order. We never had lunch. Dinner was more limited with one soup of the day, salads and regular items with no special of the day. All items seemed to be we'll accepted. If you crave more variety the town of Port Carling is close with several dining options.

Three people are very memorable, KEEGAN is the go to guy for most Issues, JEFFREY is great food and beverage guy and MEREDITH is a great morning waitress. Everyone else was pleasant and accommodating

In summation, would recommend this property for a relaxed vacation, on a lake, in a beautiful part of the country

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RONANSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Ronanski,

Thank you for visiting us at the Sherwood Inn and writing about your experience on TripAdvisor.
I was pleased to read that our recently renovated Maplewood Rooms were to your liking and that your overall stay with us was a positive experience.

I will be sure to personally share your great comments with Keegan, Jeff and Meredith; all three great hospitality ambassadors for our resort as well as all of Muskoka.

I was surprised to read about your comment about the dinner menu variety, we have a soup of the day as well as a clam chowder, and our kitchen will cheerfully prepare anything our guests request as long as we have it available. Perhaps you dined from our lounge menu that has more limited option!?

We value your feedback and business and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The overall experience at Sherwood Inn was excellent. It is clear that the inn is undergoing renovations to provide an updated, clean and tasteful Muskoka experience. The setting is superb with a view right down Lake Joseph complimented by a spectacular sunset view from several vantage points. Because the buildings are spread apart, the sense of being at a cottage or smaller community is reinforced. The inn goes out of its way to make the natural environment part of the resort experience. The outdoor spaces are designed so that they integrate with the surroundings; the huge wrap around deck and the alcoves of sitting areas near the water provide privacy as well as shared spaces. Our room was very pleasant (Cedarwood Premium) and provided the space and amenities we needed. The service was excellent. Of note, were Keegan and Meredith who clearly love their roles at the inn and interacting with the guests. Overall, the staff are professional, friendly and welcoming... including the chefs and kitchen staff who we encountered after breakfast or while walking the grounds. We ate most of our meals at the inn and we were happy with the quality. We particularly enjoyed the Rainbow Trout dinner especially as the vegetables were plentiful and grilled to perfection as was the fish. Our favourite dessert was the Maple Creme Brulee'. (The strawberries with tea biscuit dessert was dry and the apple crisp was a bit of a disappointment.) The option to eat in the Lounge provided a bit of variety as well. It was also a pleasant place to play cards/board games (provided) when the weather took a turn for the worst. Canoeing on the lake was certainly a highlight and the equipment provided was of good quality. Although it was too cold to go swimming, the water looked inviting. Once the resort has finished upgrading all of the rooms/amenities it would be worthy of a 5 star. Our renovated room had a few items that need correcting and we were assured they are 'on the list' to be completed in the near future. They did not impact our stay. Furthermore, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens of high quality; we loved the comfy bathrobes too! We expect to return again some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiniVaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear MiniVayCay Waterloo,

Firstly I wanted to thank you for choosing Sherwood Inn for your September getaway destination.
I was pleased to read that you had noticed our continuous efforts to upgrade our property and its amenities. This Grand old lady on Lake Joseph will turn 75 years old next year and it is a constant challenge to keep her "rejuvenated" to be able to compete with the new resorts and hotels opening in Muskoka. As you said it in your review, our locations is like no other and I am pleased to read that the layout of our resort and our buildings met with your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback on the Cedarwood rooms and yes indeed they are scheduled for some moderate facelifts in the next few years.

I will be sure to share your accolades with Keegan and Meredith and its comforting to know that they made a good personal connection with you.

Clearly we need to work on and fine tune our dessert offerings, but glad to see the Creme Brule was a hit.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka very soon.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The rooms at Sherwood Inn are a tad small. The view of our room was good looking at the water.
The staff was excellent and receptive to anything we asked of them. The restaurant had good service and food was above average.
I would go back to this place in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Peter M,
Thank you for submitting a review following your recent stay with us.
I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our cuisine met with your expectation and that you found our service and staff excellent.
Our Inn rooms are definitely not our largest rooms as the Inn was built in 1939.
Some of the inn room furniture is also bulkier and we are in the process of reconfiguring those room layouts to make them appear roomier.
We do offer a variety of accommodation types with varying size for our guests' convenience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in a lakeview room with buffet breakfast. Definitely not my best Muskoka stay and not gonna go back.

Pros:
- very friendly staff at spa
- plenty of onsite parking
- nice fireplace in room

Cons:
- we had a Lakeview room on the 3rd floor which is totally blocked by trees, only a small glimpse of the lake
- bathroom looks really dated; shower is super small you can't even fit yourself, I am only 105 lbs so I am NOT big at all,, jacuzzi has stains
- we have a balcony but totally unappealing - the lounge chairs are dirty, balcony wooden floor looks damp and dirty
- you are required to pay $9 resort fee but the canoe and kayak provided are really old and have pieces missing
- while Lake Joseph is nice once you venture out in your canoe, the beach on site is small and sad

For $450 a night, I could have gone to Taboo for a better stay

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bambooscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Mimikaamu,

Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive feedback following your stay.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed the friendly spa staff and some of the amenities of your room.
I was sorry to read that the bathroom set up was not to your liking and I will definitely follow up on the cleanliness of the jacuzzi tub as well as the chaise lounges on the balcony.
The balconies in the Maplewood building face lake Joseph, and we spend time each spring and fall through a certified arborist to prune our trees to ensure we provide ample views of the lake while maintaining the delicate balance of view and privacy.
The balconies have a floating wooden deck that sits on top of a rubber membrane that both protects the room below and that allows drainage from rain water as the balconies are in the open air and not covered.
I was sad to read your comment about beach area; we have a 400 foot natural beach on lake Joseph that gradually slopes toward the lake for safe swimming and water activities.
Our Kayaks and Canoes are less than 5 years old and we replace them based on wear and tear and at the end of their usable life accordingly. My personal inspection of the equipment did not reveal any missing parts.
Our $ 9 resort fee covers many aspects above and beyond the use of Kayaks and canoes, to complimentary Wifi at the entire resort indoor and outdoor, the ample free parking that you mentioned and tennis, bicycles and other seasonal recreational equipment.

I am sorry that your experience did not provide you with the value that you expected and hope that this experience did not totally taint your image of our resort.

Should you decide to give us another try I would personally welcome your call to ensure we place you in a room that will meet with your expectations.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I took my wife up for a one night "surprise" stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The Inn is "Picture Perfect" in every way. Our room was large, clean and modern, with a large balcony and partially obstructed view of Lake Joseph. The meals were incredible. Food was absolutely delicious, generous portions and served hot. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, the staff were friendly, efficient, attentive and professional. Everything was perfect...except the weather. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear marti G,

Thank you for your raving review of our resort ; we are so glad that you selected to stay with us for your "surprise" wedding anniversary.

I was delighted to read that all aspects of your stay from food and service to the amenities we offer were excellent.

Here's hoping that the weather cooperates when your travels next bring you back to the Muskoka region.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the main inn , it was clean, service was great and the food was also good. Sam gave us excellent service at dinner and hats off to the woman looking after all the gardens !! Beautiful, the beach and swimming area was also pretty, grounds to walk around and enjoy a beautiful sunset

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious_Canuck203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Curious_Canuck2,

It was wonderful to read your review following your positive stay with us.
Glad to see that the grounds, gardens, beach and swimming area all made a great impact for your stay.
I have personally shared your accolades with Sam for his service to you and the kitchen for their excellent food quality.

Nice to know that you enjoyed our historic Inn rooms.

Thank you for your feedback and business.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
267 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Muskoka Lakes > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $117 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing