We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Trip to Sherwood”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We will defiantly be back!
I couldn’t get over the service I received! I have worked in the hotel industry for the last 10 years and just wanted to say I was extremely impressed with everything you guys offered! The fine attention to detail was unbelievable, for example after we returned from a walk we came back to find our toothbrushes being wrapped up in a little towel blanket with toothpaste in the middle. This is just one small example of many things they did and is something I have never seen in any of the luxury branded properties I have worked in so kudos to team Sherwood!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karyn3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your recent review following your stay with us this spring.
It was nice to see that our attention to detail and service quality met with your expectation and that you had an overall positive and pleasant stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka in the near future.

Esa Paltanen
GM, Sherwood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was great! Staff was wonderful! My only negative thing was our cottage wasn't what I expected. It smelled like it had been closed up all winter ( which it probably was) I would have thought that knowing it would be occupied it would have been aired out. We started a fire just to get the smell out. Also no matches supplied in rooms for the fireplace. Other than that, which was minor, it didn't ruin our stay, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innisfilwinterhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest from Innisfil,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in April.
I was pleased to hear that you had an excellent overall stay with us, and that your found our staff wonderful.

Sorry for the oversight with not having matches in your cottage.
Our rooms are occupied only in the weekends and due to the rain and recent floods that we experienced in Muskoka we certainly had issues with dampness in all the cottages by the lake in the spring which contibuted to the musty smell you encountered at your cottage.
Two immediate remedies to the condition that you noted are the air circulation in the room which can easily be received through the use of the AC unit or the fireplace use which you had already discovered. We will make sure that we pay special attention to this part of our guests' stay moving forward.
we value your feedback and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort this summer.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed for business in February 2013 and was blown away by the food. The meals were excellent. And the staff are so friendly and helpful. Would love to come back with my family. We did a team building exercise (that I was not looking forward to) but it was lots of fun and made some great memories. The staff did a wonderful job organizing the exercise.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms at the back of the inn (facing the lake)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your group retreat stay with us in April.
I was happy to read that my staff was engaging, courteous and friendly, particularly during your groups team building exercise.
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our excellent cuisine and we welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the near future if we have the opportunity to have you back to Muskoka with your family this spring / summer.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really enjoyed the friendliness of all of the staff, they work very well together. We felt at home the whole time we were at Sherwood. The walk on the trail was especially enjoyable because it was so quiet and relaxing. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guests,
I was pleased to read your postive comments and review following your recent stay at our resort.
We have a great family of staff members at the Sherwood Inn and I am happy to see that their interaction with you made you feel at home.

We look forward to your return "home" to Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a lovely night away with a girlfriend on a cold March night! The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD (seriously - go there!) and spent the night tucked away in a cabin right on the water. It's just so relaxing and peaceful there, it was a shame we couldn't stay longer. Everyone we encountered was so lovely, we felt right at home.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LilTravelBug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read about your recent stay with us and how much you enjoyed the tranquility of the resort, your room setting in one of our cottages, your meals and all the positive encounters you had with all the resort staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka again soon and to our resort.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a Groupon so we had a great rate. The room was clean and very modern. We were in 220 which has a nice view of the lake (probably even better in the summer). We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were excellent. It was very quiet which was exactly what we needed. We found the staff courteous and attentive. They just added wi-fi which was a nice addition. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelWithBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your March visit to our resort.
I was pleased to read that you were able to have a relaxing stay with us complimented by great room accommodations and our fabulous cuisine.

Sherwood is a special place with that abundance of true quiet tranquility on the shores of Lake Joseph.

Looking forward to serving you again when you travels next bring you back home to Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our daughter bought us the weekend at Sherwood Inn for a Christmas gift, the whole experience was wonderful, from our accommodation to dining. The staff were so friendly, Keegan and Jeff are amazing and the rest of the staff too..sorry we don't know all your names. Our compliments to the chef, everything was lovely. The scenery was just breath taking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

firstly I wanted to thank your daughter for buying you a " great " Christmas Gift to stay with us in Muskoka.

I was happy to read that you had an overall fabulous time at our resort and that Jeff and Keegan in particular were able make that personal connection with you to enhance your overall experience at our resort.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
267 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Muskoka Lakes, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Muskoka Lakes > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $117 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing