We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a lovely night away with a girlfriend on a cold March night! The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD (seriously - go there!) and spent the night tucked away in a cabin right on the water. It's just so relaxing and peaceful there, it was a shame we couldn't stay longer. Everyone we encountered was so lovely, we felt right at home.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LilTravelBug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read about your recent stay with us and how much you enjoyed the tranquility of the resort, your room setting in one of our cottages, your meals and all the positive encounters you had with all the resort staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka again soon and to our resort.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Sherwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a Groupon so we had a great rate. The room was clean and very modern. We were in 220 which has a nice view of the lake (probably even better in the summer). We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were excellent. It was very quiet which was exactly what we needed. We found the staff courteous and attentive. They just added wi-fi which was a nice addition. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelWithBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your March visit to our resort.
I was pleased to read that you were able to have a relaxing stay with us complimented by great room accommodations and our fabulous cuisine.

Sherwood is a special place with that abundance of true quiet tranquility on the shores of Lake Joseph.

Looking forward to serving you again when you travels next bring you back home to Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our daughter bought us the weekend at Sherwood Inn for a Christmas gift, the whole experience was wonderful, from our accommodation to dining. The staff were so friendly, Keegan and Jeff are amazing and the rest of the staff too..sorry we don't know all your names. Our compliments to the chef, everything was lovely. The scenery was just breath taking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

firstly I wanted to thank your daughter for buying you a " great " Christmas Gift to stay with us in Muskoka.

I was happy to read that you had an overall fabulous time at our resort and that Jeff and Keegan in particular were able make that personal connection with you to enhance your overall experience at our resort.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I cannot rave enough about the Sherwood Inn. This was our first visit but will definitely not be our last. From the moment we walked into the inn, we felt welcome and at "home" The front desk staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Our room was fantastic and spacious. The inn definitely pays attention to detail. The dining room was exceptional. Our meals were cooked to perfection and we really enjoyed the added touch of amuse bouche . The dining room and kitchen staff could not have been more friendly. We cannot wait to go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want the cottage feel, but not a cottage, the Cedarwood fits the bill. All rooms have a lake...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your March Stay with us.

I was happy to read that you felt at " home" with us and that our attention to detail, the staffs' personal touches and the food and cuisine met with your approval.

Thank you for choosing us for your getaway and we look forward to welcoming you back to Muskoka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my third visit to the Delta Sherwood, and we could not have been more pleased. Our room with our cozy wood burning fireplace was great! We were lucky enough to attend a special Muskoka beer tasting/ lake fire/ ice fishing event both days. The fresh lake trout cooked on the icefire in Muskoka cream ale and maple syrup? mmmmmmmm. We were happy to meet some Sherwood inn staff helped to make our visit phenomenal! They are so warm and welcoming. Our meal there was exquisite- we had the duck l'orange and the smoked chicken risotto. It was really special that we had ice fished(and had a snowmobile ride) with the chef and server earlier in the day! Before we left- a beautiful solitatary cross country ski on the trails in the woods.
Fabulous vacation. A much needed winter getaway. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for your review following your family weekend stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had an all around great stay, and that you were able to enjoy some motorized winter fun, icefishing as well as a great Cross country ski on our trails.

My chef will be really happy to read that you enjoyed your meal in the Dining room.
It was great to have met you and we thank you for your feedback and patrionage.

Until Next time.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This inn is lovely; the facilities are more than fine, the staff are super friendly and helpful. But the food is such a drawback that I would not return unless the kitchen changes.
We were there on a week-end winter package, in a nice lakeview room with jacuzzi. We wanted to cross-country ski and go snow-shoeing. There was plenty of good quality equipment available at no charge and good trails.

Someone else wrote that the hotel restaurant had city prices but not city quality.
That is the understatement of the year!
Mains in the dining-room ranged from $28 to $33, and although they were well presented they just didn't taste very good, to the point that neither of us finished our plates, agreeing that we make tastier food pretty well every week-end of the year.
The following night we opted to eat in the Lounge, cutting our losses with pub-style food. This proved complicated, as we were told we couldn't really book a spot in the Lounge until the main dining room had been booked.
This is not the way to drive traffic to the dining-room: good food is!!

Breakfast was equally disheartening: a flat-rate $15 buffet that looked and tasted like something that would have been served at a Ramada Inn for one of those small business networking seminars 10 years ago.

Such a pity: the wine list was varied and interesting, the front of the room staff were absolutely great, but the poor execution in the kitchen killed it.

So I would whole-heartedly recommend the resort, but only if you can avoid eating there, which is challenging given the location. I really hope it changes, because I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Erika W,

Thank You for your review on our resort following your March winter weekend stay with us.

I was happy to read that your overall stay was a positive one and that you think the Sherwood Inn is a great place and that our amenities as well as accommodations and service met with your approval.
Naturally I was not happy to read about your dining experience, and have had a discussion with Everett Bell my chef de cuisine who will contact you directly to get your feedback.

We would have certainly loved to have had the opportunity to make amends to your meals, or perhaps the way they were prepared that would have better suited your pallette, and I am puzzled why your server was not able to communicate this with you and relay the information to the kitchen.

I was pleased to see you liked the wine list and its varied selection.
We pride ourselves with our cuisine and are known as a dining destination, and I can assure you that what you may have experienced is not indicative of the high standard of ' fare" that we are known for in our kitchen, as you can see from many positive comments from other guests that have dined with us at the reort.

I thank you for your recommendations of the overall resort experience to others on this site and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by meeting your dining expectation and have you return home to Sherwood Inn.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent one night in this small resort. It turned out to be a wonder. It was snowing and with nothing much to do, it was a slow paced relaxing stay. Dinner was perfect with great service and very good lamb chops. Nice views along the lake's edge.

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view by the lake. There is a corsage with balconies facing the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear FL 23, Toronto

Thank you for spending a tranquil weekend overnight with us in Snowy Muskoka.
I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our great lamb chops.
Hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka Soon.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
259 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
189 reviews
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $146 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing