We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Fall Retreat”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a few days at the Inn in October to play golf at some of the surrounding golf courses.
The Inn is rustic, with a great woodsy feel. Our room was large comfortable and clean. The bed was perfect for snuggling into after a hard day on the golf course for a good night's sleep.
The food was first class and we ended up being there for all of our meals because of the quality.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Very good value.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel so we could hear people out at the fire in front of the hotel...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Dave T8,

Thank you for your recent review of our resort following your October golf getaway to Muskoka.
I was pleased to read that our resort, the cuisine and the amenities we offer met with your approval.

Sorry about the noise in front of the Inn but many of our guests congregate at the fire pit in front of the Inn following their dining experience as it's a very popular spot, one that highlights the "woodsy Muskoka feeling" for sure.

Hope to see you back in Muskoka in the winter months.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Sherwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 327 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Recently myself and my wife were married and had all of our festivities at the Sherwood Inn, in Port Carling. I just wanted to say that absolutely everything was stupendous! From the food, to the staff. Top Notch all around. Very personable, and extremely professional. I grew up 5 minutes away from this lovely spot on Lake Joesph, and knew as soon as we saw it was the place for us. Beautiful honeymoon suite located over the boathouse looking out over the lake. Gorgeous dining hall and lounge. Great for both winter and summer weddings. A lovely setting on the point over looking the lake for a summer wedding, or like us, for a winter wedding; A stunning lounge with fireplace and mantle for a very intimate and romantic setting. The rooms were amazing. Huge beds. Flat screens with cable tv. Massive bathrooms built for royalty. wifi. mini fridge. microwave. fresh coffee and coffee maker. Just fantastic all around. I have never felt more at home. And when booking with the Sherwood, you will receive a complimentary nights stay and menu tasting. I definitely recommend to anyone planning an event in the area to book with them. They are most definitely in for a special treat. 5 stars from myself and everyone of our guests.

Room Tip: Intimate couples traveling without children should try the large cabins by the lake. Definitely the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Ryan M,

Thank you for your glowing accolades and positive review of the Sherwood Inn following your wedding weekend with us in November.

It was a pleasure for me and my entire team to be part of your Muskoka nuptials and we want to wish you and your bride a wonderful life journey together.

Thank you again for choosing the Sherwood Inn for your special day.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I got a free night stay with our wedding package and decided to go for a romantic getaway - Our room was great, but we opted to upgrade to a cottage on the water instead - it was so nice, with a wood burning fireplace, wrap around deck - just beautiful! Our dinner at the resort was amazing - everything from the bread to our steaks and the dessert..mmm The service at sherwood was top of the line: 2 people worth mentioning is Jeff our waiter (super friendly) and Keagan...jack of all trades - His hospitality was incrediable, so professional, well mannered and even took pictures of us..there's nothing this guy wouldn't do ...(we travel a lot and don't see a lot of keagans out there let me tell ya!)
All in all, it was a great getaway and I highly recommend -

Room Tip: stay in one of the cottages on the water...so worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of our resort following your recent visit with us.
I was pleased to read that you had a great time and that you enjoyed the cottage by the water with the wood burning fireplace.
I have shared your accolades about the two staff members Keegan and Jeff that you mentioned by their names with all of my staff. They are truly genuine hospitality professionals and passionate about their craft.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our first visit to Sherwood Inn will not be our last. The property is so open and picturesque...we even watched an otter peacefully swim up to and under the dock we were admiring the lake from. The service and cuisine was first class and helped to make our 30th anniversary all the more special. We toured other Muskoka sites that were within easy driving range...and yet relaxed and then wished we didn't have to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guests,

We are delighted that you spent your special 30th anniversary getaway with us in Muskoka and that you made a connection with both the nature as well as our staff during your visit.

It was great to read that you enjoyed our cuisine and our hospitality along with the picturesque beauty of our property.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you "home" to the Sherwood Inn when you travels bring you back to the cottage country.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recently brought a mid-sized group to the Sherwood Inn for a Symposium. Had a number of delegates comment to me on the property that it was a hidden jewel in the Muskokas. A friendly staff and unique acccommodations will ensure that I consider the Sherwood Inn for future programs.

Great job Sherwood Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandguy1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thanak you for choosing the Sherwood Inn for your group retreat and for your great feedback and review in making our resort a "less hidden treasure" in Muskoka.

We look forward to welcoming your groupback for your next meeting in Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Sherwood this summer on beautiful Lake Joe. Redeemed a gift certificate I purchased at a charity function.
Beautiful grounds and old fashioned feel to the place. Was able to launch my 20' boat nearby and dock overnight.
Did not dine there other than a good breakfast.
Accomodations were nice, not opulent.

Overall, a beautiful traditional type spot BUT it is pricey and a bit out of my snack bracket. Would not rate it high on the "value" scale although most Muskoka resorts, in season, are just as pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your 2 night stay at our resort in September.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the setting and our hospitality.

Value perception is very important to us and we will try our utmost to continuously improve our facility and services provided to offer a great experience to all of our guests.

A number of resorts such as ours are open year round in Muskoka and offer fabulous value in the shoulder season with the same cheerful service and hospitality that our summer guests have come to enjoy.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Fantastic experience from check in to check out . Staff really made this stay exceptional , service was great , very friendly and the food was awesome. Front desk , Keegan went out of his way to help us , actually drove us into town when we could not get taxi service. Dining room service was great , Janine was flat out fantastic , great service and fabulous personality. After our meal Tiffany the Sous-Chef came out and talked to us about our meal and she took great pride in her job as well as great concern as to how we enjoyed our meal. Already planning our next visit. My wife absolutely loved it. One night we sat outside of the lobby by a beautiful camp fire and enjoy the sounds and smell of the fire.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage , great to be able to sit on the dock and just plain relax.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 155002Kevin_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guests,

I was delighted to read about your great experience staying at our resort. It was nice to see that you enjoyed staying in one of our cottages with a private dock.
Seems like my team of Keegan, Jeanine and Tiffany in particular were able to make an emotional connection with you to enhance your resort experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Muskoka and the Sherwood Inn for your next visit.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
259 reviews
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
189 reviews
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $130 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing