We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service and great people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great service and great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have stayed at Sherwood numerous times, no longer a Delta but service standards still high. The food was good and made better by the staff, especially Jeff. You can't beat the location for a true Muskoka experience. Rooms were clean. Unlike Taboo and the Marroitt, not corporate.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmmuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much your nice comments following your visit with us in August.
It was a pleasure to read that Jeff's service as well as the food in the restaurant and the cleanliness of room were to your liking.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Muskoka and the Sherwood Inn when your travels bring you back to the cottage country.

Best Regards
Esa Paltanen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    101
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
46
195
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My sister and I just spent that past weekend at Sherwood Inn to celebrate our birthdays (yes, we are twins).

The lounge and dining room both offerred and served delicious meals and we had the pleasure of being taken care of by 2 fine young gentlemen servers (Sam and Nicholas).
All staff from check-in to check-out (Keegan) were professional and friendly.

However, the room (Maplewoods) was outdated and in dire need of renovating. The balcony did face the lake but we could hardly see it for mature trees blocking our view. Also, stepping onto the balcony, it felt like it was not entirely stable as there was a "give" to it. Definitely not what we expected for $300+ per night.

Our biggest disappointment was with the AMBA Spa!! We'd looked forward to some nice pampering in the "oasis" as per their website. Far from it. The rooms and towels were not clean, the staff seemed disorganized (3 different people to start and finish a manicure?), the hot tub was out of order, a facial where the person left the room 3 times during the treatment and on.

We'll not go back....live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback as well as your constructive Criticism during your stay with us this July.

I was pleased to read about your postive comments about your dining experiences in the dining room and our lounge and the service provided by Nick, Sam and Keegan.

I was disapponted however, to learn about your negative experience at the Amba Spa.
I have spoken to the spa director in person and measures have been taken to make improvements in theoverall delivery of service as well as clenliness of the facility.
The hot tub belongs to the resort and based on the hot summer temperatures we made a consicous decisision to close it during the summer months, but endeavor to open it up again in late fall.
We are also building a wall separating the hot tub area from the spa area to offer better privacy for both operations.
The Maplewood building has had a lot of renovations in carpeting in the common areas. The decks you can rest assured are sound but the decking sits on top of a rubber mebrane that does have some give under foot traffic.
You are absolutely right about the blocked view of the lake from the balcony and we will be addressing this with our arborist this fall once we get a few slower days when the buzz of chainsaws will not disturn too many guests.

We value your business and and feedback and hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves with the type of hospitality experience that we are known for.

Best Regards

Esa Paltanen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our trip to Sherwood Inn was the perfect weekend away. The staff was incredibly attentive and the service and food were exceptional. Sherwood Inn provided us with some well needed R and R.
The beach and waterfront activities were certainly well received on a hot summer weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L0rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
I was pleased to read that you had a perfect weekend stay with us and that the food , service and the beach front met your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sherwood Inn in the near future.

Best regrads

Esa Paltanen
General Manager
Sherwood inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We attended a wedding in June and really enjoyed our weekend. The location is great and the rooms along the waterfront looked like they were recently updated. While we didn't swim, the beach looked inviting and we appreciated the use of the canoes for a paddle on the lake. The inn staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. A great traditional Muskoka-style stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear ConnieEB,

Thank you for your comments following your June weekend stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay during the wedding weekend, that your renovated room met your expectations and that our friendly staff was able to make an emotional connection with you during your stay.

It was nice to see that you had an opportunity to use some of the canoes and Kayaks for a paddle and we hope that you will have an opportunity to return to Muskoka soon , so you will be able to enjoy that swim off our beach in the pristine waters of Lake Joseph, that you missed on this occasion.
Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Beautiful room overlooking the lake. Our dinner was amazing and our server, Jeff was an absolute Gem!! He shared many things about the property and had great suggestions for the dinner menu. The people at the front desk were helpful and greeted us warmly upon our arrival. Another thank you to Keegan for our change in check-out time. We have shared our experience with many already. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanci h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJPMuskoka, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Hello nanci h,

Thank you for your recent review following your visit with us in Muskoka and that you enjoyed your stay and your meals with us..
I was pleased to read about the the warm and welcoming service that you received from Keegan, Jeff and the front desk staff.
I was happy to see that you enjoyed your room and thank you for spreading the word about our special Muskoka resort among all your friends.
We wish to welcome you back to Muskoka in the near future so that we can "spoil you" even more.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were looking for place to spend our anniversary weekend and decided on the Sherwood Inn because we had heard so much about it. And we were blown away by the service and attention to detail. It made for a perfect weekend (including the weather). Special thanks to Chef Everett for going the extra mile to make our meals special, our server Michael for his advice on San Francisco and to Daniele (hope we spelled that right) for making us feel at home. (Oh, and sorry about breaking the coffee maker). We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeganTrekFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJPMuskoka, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear TrekFan 1969,

Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor following your anniversary getaway with us in Muskoka.
It was great to read that everything was "perfect", that we exceeded our expectations for your stay and that Chef Everett and your server Michael were able to make such a nice personal connection with you during your stay.
No worries about the coffee maker, I believe it could have broken before you and we have cheerfully replaced it with a new one.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back 'home" to Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend at this old style Muskoka resort . Saw a nicely renovated suite in the main building but decided to stay in a very comfortable room in a newer building with a balcony overlooking Lake Joseph and a fireplace. Very friendly and accomodating staff especially the G.M. Esa. Had an excellent Sunday brunch with Prime Rib at a table on the deck specially set up for us. Close to Port Carling and lots of golf courses.

Room Tip: In warm weather get a room with a balcony and a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hello Earl T

Thank you for Spending the mother's day weekend with us at the Sherwood Inn.
I was pleased to read your feedback and learn that the staff friendliness, your room in the Maplewood building and the Sunday brunch were to your liking.

Our recently spruced up verandah deck is definitely a great place for a meal or just as a setting to watch the spectacular sunsets on Lake Joseph.

The Maplewood building continues to see renovations as the weeks progress into the summer season. Last week we re-carpeted all the corridors and lobbies in that building as well as added DVD players to all rooms. The balconies all received two new chaise lounges and we are ready to welcome you back when your travels next bring you back to Muskoka.

Best Regards EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
18.0 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
21.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing