We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, outdated, not inviting, not impressed”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed 1 week after thanksgiving Oct 15th and checked in to horrible weather. The front counter ladies were pleasant but not informative. Nobody offered us information on what there was to do in the area so we ventured out on our own...cranberry festival in Bala. We returned after 5pm and made dinner reservations for 7pm. Power went out at 6pm and their backup plan (generator) is completely inadequate for their needs. No power, water, or heat in our unit. Power was out all night and morning. Dinner was both cold, small portions (steak dinner, portion of steak was fist size and small at that, steak was cold, potatoes were 5 tots on my plate...really 5? beans were good but the beef rib was just fat on a bone). Power out or not invest in generators to run the facility properly. NOBODY ever asked if we needed anything to make our stay more enjoyable. NOBODY checked on us in our unit to see if a flashlight would be useful with NO emergency lights in the hallways or rooms...that's a serious violation of safety standards here in Canada. They offered a free night stay at another time...we suggested they write off our stay then and there...but they refused. No offer of a lousy free breakfast...heated by bunsen burners. Breakfast was very few choices (bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs which are tasteless, soggy french toast, and granola that was harder than concrete).

they offered $50 off the over $400 bill. Wrote a scathing review to Delta about this horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us. Unfortunately, we had an unexpectedly severe storm and we were not as prepared as we should have been. I hear that you have spoken with our Director of Rooms and we are happy to be offering you a complimentary return stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Once again, I apologize for the issues that you faced while staying with us.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just off the main road the full beauty of Muskoka envelops the traveller. Unlike some resort places where there are miles of winding roads this hotel is an easy find. The property has a good amount of rugged shoreline, several great spots to sit and watch the water action, a great little sandy beach safe for children, wonderful food and a very helpful and friendly staff. While not secluded, as there is a lot of boat traffic offshore in the channel, it is one of my favorite spots to watch the sun set in summer. I've also been in winter and it was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear Marilyn,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our mission to provide our guests with that true Muskoka experience that you found here. We are looking forward to a beautiful winter and hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jerry Feltis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was a bit unsure after reading some luke-warm reviews. We stayed here for a night and 2 days after dropping our kids off at summer camp. We stayed at the main inn. Our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great. Service was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank infrequenttraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Delta Sherwood for 2 nights over the weekend and what a wonderful resort.The lake views are outstanding from the dining room. A fantastic dock with muskoka chairs to lounge in.Chef was a knockout, excellent presentation, delicious food.Each meal was better than the last. Fantastic menu.Staff were warm friendly,felt like part of the family.The cosy bar with a fireplace was so relaxing.Outside each evening a small bonfire was lit so guests could relax and watch the fire light. Personal,warm attentive staff.Can't wait to return
PS they use "Serenity" mattress......it is some kind of fantastic so comfortable you are sleeping on pillows of comfort..you don't wan't to leave..

Room Tip: We stayed at the main inn and loved the ease of going to the dining room,rest of main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad that you had such a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Loved the cottage feel of this resort. Not commercialized like bigger resorts. The dining room was very pretty overlooking the grounds and water in the distance. The buffet breakfast was good ($15).
Our room (Maplewood) was a good size, but I think all their rooms are as such. The one negative was the size of the shower in our room. It was as small or smaller than the shower on a cruise ship.
Beautiful wooded 6KM hiking path on the property. It would be great for cross country skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for our 5th anniversary, and had a wonderful time. The rooms are very cozy and are more like a nice bedroom instead of a typical hotel setting. The inside is fairly modern and updated. The outside shows it's age and could use some maintenance on the siding and docks, but overall a very enjoyable stay. The Food was excellent. We had the Salmon and the Pickerel. Presentation and service was great at the meal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

One would think that being surrounded by million dollar cottages on Lake Joseph, the Sherwood Inn in Port Carling would be a 5 star resort. Absolutely not. It is rundown, room looked old with stains on rug, bathroom walls, etc. The workout room TV remote was broken with missing cover to batteries on remote, half the equipment was mulfunctioning. The rooms are paper thin - I could hear everymove of my next door neighbor like he was next to me. When we went for dinner / breakfast, the cappuciono maker was broken. The entire resort looks old, aging and needs a complete gutting and reno. There is absolutely no appeal to this resort - Stay at the JW Marriott down the road, much better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank therake1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your assessment of the property. We appreciate the opinion of all our guests. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us however we do hope to have you return and give you the true Muskoka experience that we intend all our guests to have.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
266 reviews
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
21.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range: $114 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing