We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back - aging fast....rundown” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Won't be back - aging fast....rundown”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

One would think that being surrounded by million dollar cottages on Lake Joseph, the Sherwood Inn in Port Carling would be a 5 star resort. Absolutely not. It is rundown, room looked old with stains on rug, bathroom walls, etc. The workout room TV remote was broken with missing cover to batteries on remote, half the equipment was mulfunctioning. The rooms are paper thin - I could hear everymove of my next door neighbor like he was next to me. When we went for dinner / breakfast, the cappuciono maker was broken. The entire resort looks old, aging and needs a complete gutting and reno. There is absolutely no appeal to this resort - Stay at the JW Marriott down the road, much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank therake1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your assessment of the property. We appreciate the opinion of all our guests. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us however we do hope to have you return and give you the true Muskoka experience that we intend all our guests to have.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    101
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
46
195
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages. It had a great view of the lake. Air Conditioning worked well. the water pressure was not the greatest but we got by.

The food at the Sherwood was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good and dinner is fine dining and very good.

I had a problem with the internet connection in my room but was able to use the wireless service when I was at the fire pit in front of the main building and in the main building.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalldeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Delta Sherwood Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We again had a great time at the Sherwood. The room was nice, bedding was comfortable, view from our porch was peaceful. The food was great (fantastic veal loin, smoked salmon, etc) as always. The staff is exceptional. Everyone is friendly and helpful. They are always ready to do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We will return, which we have been doing for the last 8 years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I am so pleased that you enjoyed another fantastic Muskoka experience with us yet again. We look forward to having you back for a 9th year!

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

For the prices you would think you would at least receive an updated bathroom. The rooms are very dated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pbshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. As with all feedback we receive we will utilize your constructive criticism in a positive manner to continue to improve our service and facility.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Delta Sherwood overnight with another couple. What a wonderful, relaxing, experience. Our rooms in the main hotel were newly decorated, with king beds and views of the water. The grounds and beach are true Muskoka, with paths through the trees and multiple docks to enjoy glorious swimming. We did not stay for dinner but the breakfast buffet was first class.....we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzyq65-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We look forward to having you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Delta Sherwood Inn is such a beautiful property! My boyfriend and I have been there numerous times for either a wine tasting weekend, the Taste of Sherwood event or a romantic getaway. Both the food (and wine) and service is outstanding and the view of Lake Joseph is breathtaking!
I've travelled to many places around the world and stayed in many hotels (Delta's included) but I've never been anywhere and gotten the personalized service that I received at Sherwood! Both cottages and the rooms in the Inn have been very clean!
All in all, If you're looking at a relaxing/romantic weekend in the wilderness where you can enjoy a cozy campfire, your morning coffee by the water and wonderful food, drink and staff...this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julietremblayottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Here is the skinny.... 4 of us at the Sherwood Inn lounge area delighting on beers and considering dinner options. Asked if we could look at the menu and was given dinner menu which had the big dinners and big prices. Asked how the other group had different items (like snadwiches etc. which would have been nice too) but advised that menu no longer available.? (yea... right)

Go into large dining room only us and one very old couple there with funeral parlor music going. Ok...3 of us ordered rack of lamb at $41.00 a plate. We each get served one piece of lamb on a bone (that you would eat at a cocktail party) and two small 1/2 pieces beside it. No more than 4oz of meat. Then a cris cross of overcooked onion leading to a disgusting cone of overbaked potato...not just one plate here...but ALL 3.

So we called in the chef to account for this mess. No chef to be found??? He was not working that night...His 18 year old assistant comes in and said thats their rack of lamb at Sherwood Inn and they cut the other bones off? Wow...never will eat there again. Biggest rip off north of Barrie...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Reid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockyCrestGM, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for your unsatisfactory meal with us. We review all feedback we receive at our management meetings as a means of continuing to improve our service and facilities. We are re-evaluating that specific menu item and making some changes based on your feedback. I do hope that you will join us once again in the near future so that you can have the exceptional culinary experience we intend every guest to have here.

Regards,

Jerry Feltis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
18.0 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
21.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
21.0 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing