We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Carling B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My first time staying at a bed and breakfast and if they are all like this I will be choosing B&Bs more often. I had to book last minute and Linda and Bill were very accommodating. My stay was due to work so I was out early and arriving late but very quiet, beautiful, clean--just a wonderful experience. I'd love to go back when I can take time to enjoy the area! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristilinDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for The Manse Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I spent the best two nights and three days ever and I wish I could return to Linda and Bill's B&B right now! They were amazingly welcoming and made their home our home. The rooms were exceptionally lovely with antique touches and decor.
The extras were wonderful: super good home made chocolate chip cookies and refreshments supplied in the small pantry just outside our room door, DVD's and CD's to use inside our "Hill Suite" room. A wonderful jacuzzi tub in the spacious bathroom. The back deck had a hot tub available, and there was a lovely porch to relax on overlooking a large front yard, and a sitting room to watch satellite TV if you wished.
Linda's breakfasts were delicious and she was great at accomodating our dietary requests. She had the best Greek yogurt I've ever tasted! Everything is fresh and home made.
This B & B is complete with some furry friends: Lilly cat who kept the guest book cozy, and their two Yorkshire terriers - the shy Bella and more outgoing Duke. We became good buddies.

The location of The Manse is also excellent. At one end of the street you'll find Hanna Park with a lovely beach for swimming. The water was a very pleasant temperature. The other end of the street leads on the the main road through Port Carling and it's many quaint shops and restaurants. A lovely walk is the path around the Museum island. Of course this being Muskoka, prices at restaurants and shops tend to be on the expensive side, however the Manse offered very reasonable prices per night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoa3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our stay with Linda and Bill was wonderful. Great conversation, wonderful meals, I strongly recommend you visit them soon! The place is located walking distance from everything you'll need in Port Carling and the rooms are well-appointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Bill and Erin made us feel very welcome indeed. Breakfast was a treat. We stayed in the Moyes room, which had very interesting decor. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at The Manse with my girlfriend for 4 nights and was blown away by this bed and breakfast. You can tell that the owners just love meeting new people and entertaining because they were some of the most welcoming and accommodating folks I've ever met. For example, my girlfriend is gluten and dairy free and they had no problem making special arrangements just for her at breakfast. She and I kept saying that we felt like we were staying with family because they were so friendly and we felt so comfortable and relaxed.

The room was fantastic, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the breakfast was honestly something you would expect at a high end restaurant, but the best part was meeting Bill and Linda who made us feel right at home.

I would stay at the Manse again in a second and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Port Carling.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Linda and her husband made us feel like a part of their family. The room was wonderful and the bed very comfortable. As for the breakfast it was superb. My wife and i look forward in returning sometime in the future. As for the town of Port Carling it is a very quaint community with lots of wonderful stores. And the best was the Christmas store.

Room Tip: There all great !
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We came from Scotland to visit family and were more than welcomed at The Manse. Had a fantastic stay and we were very well looked after, nothing was too much trouble. Linda was the perfect hostess and all her home baking was most welcome. Hopefully we will plan another trip to Canada and we will definately stay at The Manse.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
3.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
327 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
13.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 Bailey Street, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Carling
Price Range: $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse was built in 1912 as a home for the Methodist ministers of Port Carling. Today, it provides tranquil bed and breakfast accommodation. Carefully rendered mahogany and maple woodwork, the fireplace, period collectibles and vintage books are some of the details that maintain the residence’s heritage charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manse Bed And Breakfast Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing