We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian cuisine, not the best service”
Review of Zeera By The Bay

Zeera By The Bay
Ranked #7 of 209 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Pickering, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Indian cuisine, not the best service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I love the food here! The restaurant is about a 5 minute drive from my house and is definitely something different in the endless sea of generic pub/north American style restaurants in the Durham Region overall. My husband and I usually split the aloo tiki as an app, and I almost always get the Zeera's special chicken and plain naan bread and the rice with saffron in it. My husband usually goes for the tandoori wings, or the (super spicy!!) beef vindaloo. Again, we've never had any complaints about the food, but unfortunately the service is a little on the lacking side. Everyone is super friendly and when they DO come to your table all is well, it's just most times you have to wait to place your order once you have been seated. The food is so good though, that we just make sure we aren't starving before we go there ;) Mind you, there have been times where the service was exactly what you would hope for, but perhaps one in three visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to eat here since we wanted to leave Toronto for a change having gone almost on every major downtown area street filled with cafe's and restaurants most which we have not been in either for drinks, food, or walked by etc. I decided to look up on tripadvisor what the number one ranked place is for Pickering (a nearby not too distant city) to visit for food and check out for a different feel. We proceeded to Zeera by the Bay. The place was very small - but I remained neutral on this. Parking was easily accessible here and plenty of it. The place seemed packed as a result on this friday evening due to its space. However I should add, the place is a banquet (apparently) as well even though that place seemed small for a banquet space. Nonetheless - there where numerous people eating here (us being two of them) and a few Indian people walked in and got VIP treatment by being seated in the banquet area (less crammed area). The door that leads to the banquet area was right in our face as we where seated there (wiser to have it open the other way maybe?). The staff was alright, going to remain neutral on this one. The food - nothing special or interesting here - and to add a kick to that - it came undercooked (raw chicken meat) which was sent back and arrived (15minutes later) since they did fix the issue. Water was replenished throughout. Summary - prices and food not worth the trip, the VIP treatment of some over others unprofessional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shahid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Horrible Service”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Absolutely AMAZING Indian Food!!!!! The server was an elderly gentleman when I went with a group of 6 people and he was slow, didn't come around much and forgot when we asked for stuff, he also sat down at a table and enjoyed a beer with a buddy while working (probably the owner?) But this did not dampen our visit, we laughed it off quickly as soon as he brought out the amazing food, everything was delicious, hot in temperature, spicy, authentic and beautiful!!! That old guy can be as slow as he wants if its his wife in the back cooking up a yummy storm. The inside of the restaurant is out of date but we had a blast regardless, looks like they have a patio but it was cold when we went so I don't know if it is nice or not.

Things to order:
veggie samosas
butter chicken!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You haven't had butter chicken like this before
onion and/or garlic naan
chicken tandoori

Do no Order:
Chicken wings.... what are you doing ordering chicken wings at an Indian place anyway? lol

Beware:
I am super Canadian, and as much as I love to try new foods, my stomach can't always handle them, go straight home after this meal.... if you aren't used to it, it might not stay in ya long.

Recommendation:
With a renovation and a younger staff, this place would be the best thing in Durham

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Pickering.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Family run this place has some if not THE best indian food in pickering... or maybe the GTA.

Its a small place, so you may prefer take out, but the food is worth it. Prices are great.

they are friendly and accommodating.

ENJOY!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cdpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food in Pickering ON.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were visitors from B.C. and used the Trip Advisor reviews to guide us to Zeera By the Bay. It turned out to be good choice! Our party of 5 were greeted by the host Avitar who welcomed us warmly. We followed Avitar's suggestions and tried several dishes which our party shared, they were all excellent. The accompanying rice and garlic nan were also much appreciated.
Our favourite dish however was the starter, the Tandoori Sea Bass, which again Avitar recommended.

The prices were very reasonable and we enjoyed the the attentive, friendly service. We will return to this restaurant on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeera By The Bay also viewed

 
Pickering, Ontario
 

Been to Zeera By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing