We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Evening with Friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 22 Church Steakhouse - CLOSED

22 Church Steakhouse
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Makham, ON
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Evening with Friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Little bit tight on parking space. Nice homey atmosphere indoors. Very friendly wait staff. Food.
Well the food we ordered was good. Steak was nice and tender (New Yorker cut). I was disappointed that I was not able to change roasted potatoes to french fries. Side dish was OK. Coffee was very "weak".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WealthProsperity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    5
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made us welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had tried a new pub across the street from this restaurant and were totally disappointed. We left that place and decided to try this one. We thought it was a pub/bar from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered to find that it was a restaurant, quite nicely outfitted. Very homey, small, local restaurant. We stayed for a drink and some appys and they were really good. We will be going back for dinner quite soon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good But Could Be Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Being from out of town is a disadvantage as we had been told this is a great place to have dinner. If we lived closer we would try it agian to see if we agreed. As it is we think it is quite good with a posibility of being super. There were 4 of us and we had reservations for 7 PM on a Friday night. Until we were ready to order we were not informed that there were no 'specials', as listed on the board in the hall, left which meant 2 of us had to scramble to choose another item. The bread was delicious and the wine was served well and at a good (coolish) temperature even though it was a warm evening. The only waitress was efficient and pleasant but certainly somewhat overwhlemed. There were 2 people in the small bar room, some upstairs I believe and 3 at another table in the same room as we were seated. The food, when it arrived, was hot, as it should be, and delicious. The space is quite cramped as it is an old house which has been converted to a restaurant - it gives a nice ambiance though and is softly lit. There is easy access parking. This place would be a good place for couples or several women who wanted to enjoy a quiet dinner. This would not be a good place for noisy or disruptive children as the tables are close together and the atmosphere is very adult. I'd like to go again next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocodrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Condos. Holetown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Took VIP foreign guests and was embarrassed food was awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Food was awful - we were embarrassed by poor service - lack of "specials" offered - noisy - for examples were: nasty tasting mussels,no bread served with mussels - dreary crab cakes, only 2 "specials" of red snapper available (we were party of 4) - red snapper was stale served with soggy french fries no vegetables or salad - veal Parmesan was tough - served with even tougher pasta - requested bread over and over before it appeared. Dessert of apple crisp was acidic, sour, - only good thing was coffee. - no non-alchoholic beer - Perrier in small bottles at $5 each - We won't be back !!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank anothersadowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Much better than The Keg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Last night was our fifth visit to the Steakhouse. We have been with family and friends who all loved it and last night we were on our own. The food was absolutely delicious. My husband had the Prime Rib and I had the Filet Mignon. Wow, the food was to die for. The meat was delicious and mouth watering and the side roast potatoe and veggy was delicious too and not just there for garnish. Our service was great and we were so glad we didn't go to our original destination of The Keg were it is always so crowded, impersonal and overpriced. Try 22 Church Steakhouse in pickering next time, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Church Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing