We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Skye Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 62 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great Chinese food! Authentic unless you like chicken balls deep fried, round shaped, with a sweet red sauce. Otherwise, the black bean sauce is made in house, and the soups we have tried, both wonton and hot and sour are always delicious. They are a busy location so the food is always hot and fresh.
Their combination plates are so large, two can share, perhaps with an extra delicious egg roll, or some soup, to start.
The atmosphere is somewhat dreary, but with new tablecloths, and a bit of paint just done, it is improving. The lighting is poor, but the food and service are good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ont.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent food, great service. They have been there forever for a reason. Go. Eat. Chinese food, Canadian food, what more could you want?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food here is great and the new serving staff is very good. We found the previous blonde waitress extremely rude, arrogant and should not be working in the customer service industry. She was definitely not an asset for the restaurant. We will continue to patronize this restaurant as long as the blonde stays away!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilikechineesefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
1 review
“Frustrating at times”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place has good food, considering it is a small town. However, it's the slip-ups that annoy us.

Saturday, March 2nd we called for a take-out order at 6:30 p.m. The place closes at 9:00.p.m. After about ten unanswered calls, my husband went to the restaurant at 7:00 p.m.only to be told that no further orders would be taken. Sure the place was busy but they could have at least answered the phone or put in a phone message. If there had been some explanation given, we could have understood.

Eight times of out ten, when you order chow mein, you don't get the crunchy noodles with it, unless you check the order when you pick it up and ask for them. The noodles are good and appear to be home-made so it's a shame when you don't get them.

Tonight, was the last episode. We ordered our usual food which generally amounts to $50.00.

Our order includes PORK and chinese greens plus chow mein. Not only did we not get the noodles with the chow mein but the chinese greens came with beef. I don't eat beef. It was not a mistake in our order because the bill clearly said we ordered pork.

So, what's my beef? The owner has been through a lot this past summer with the fire and renos but needs to get on track with the service. I want the owners to do well but for now, no more Sky Dragon for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

They had a fire over the summer and have been doing renos until just recently. I can't wait to check out the new restaurant and have some great Chinese food again soon!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chantel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skye Dragon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Skye Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing