We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
Review of Mex & Co

Mex & Co
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After spending an afternoon browsing the shops in Perth, we decided to grab a bite to eat at Mex & Co. We chose this spot mainly because we could sit on the outdoor patio beside the river. The atmosphere on a nice sunny day was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the nachos and salsa while waiting for our food. We have been to Mex & Co several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    49
    34
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
“Rushed”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was nice food but would have preferred if our mains didn't arrive 2 minutes after we were served our entrees. Could not believe it. Felt like we were being pushed out & we were the only patrons. Not like they were run off their feet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We moved to Perth 3 years ago and have been wanting to try Mex & Co. We did last night and what a disappointment it was! We made a reservation as it can get very busy and mentioned it was our anniversary. They did not go out of there way to make it special at all. The food was absolutely terrible! The stale nachos and salsa from a bottle were disgusting! The fajatias were less than appetizing, they forgot have the ingredients in the taco salad and the cocktails were horrible! If you're looking for Mexican, this is not the place! Extremely overpriced!
First time and last time at Mex & Co!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ottawagirl4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only thing open after 9 on a Tuesday”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Meal was nice, patio was nice as well. At night the mousquitos can be pests but the water view is very nice. The service was great, warm welcome and lots of follow up on everything. Enchiladas were good, guest had the teriyaki burger and looked it too. Not many choices in perth on week nights, everything closes at 9 pm or heir kitchens are closed...what's up with that?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ddc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst restaurant experiences in years..”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We decided to pop by for a snack and a drink. The setting is absolutely beautiful located along the canal, we had high hopes.
Waited almost 10 minutes to be seated and another for a waitress to come by.
While taking the order the waitress decided that whatever was going on at the front of the restaurant was more important than our table and zoned out. We stopped talking, wanted to see if she'd noticed and finally she turned back around to us to say, "huh? Oh sorry...".
Seriously......
So we ordered a few drinks (margarita was awful, we didn't even drink it, tasted like it was made out of a powder which for a mexican restaurant is unacceptable).
We also ordered nachos. For $10 we received a plate with what we thought was tomato sauce and a bit of cheese, nothing else. Even our 3 year old daughter said she wanted to leave.
The waitress never came back, finally a different waitress approached us and delivered our bill, our waitress was never seen from again.
We later discovered that there were crayons and colouring sheets for children, would have been nice to have been given one for our toddler instead of me having to go hunt one down.
This place could be SO good, was such a let down and complete waste of money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orli55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mex & Co also viewed

 

Been to Mex & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing